We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine dining and service let down by the food.”

Tamarind Restaurant
Ranked #36 of 766 Restaurants in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: AU$30 - AU$200
Cuisines: Australian, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The pinnacle of dining at The Reef Hotel Casino is the world renowned Tamarind Restaurant. With a coveted Chef Hat award and a recipient of the World Luxury Restaurant Awards continent winner for Fusion Cuisine in Australia and Oceania, Tamarind is celebrated as Cairns’ most awarded restaurant. Treasured by locals for special occasions, Tamarind is elegant and exceptional with its exquisite dishes handcrafted from the freshest local produce. The setting, a low-lit dining room with crisp white linen tablecloths, the gentle glow of light reflecting on the timber walls, creates a sophisticated, enchanting ambience for any evening celebration. Tamarind offer a delectable menu of ‘Australian Freestyle’ cuisine. The chefs embrace cooking styles and techniques from an array of cultures. This brigade de cuisine, with their passion for food, creates a culinary experience to savour. Changing seasonally to align with the season’s harvest, the menu at Tamarind boasts only the finest in local
Reviewed 4 November 2023 via mobile

One of the few fine dining choices in Cairns. The service and the decor is in keeping with a fine dining restaurant. So it is a pleasant experience.
The menu is interesting, however the food itself is good but not great… I felt the menu and the food was confused and seemed to be trying to be interesting and different but didn’t really hit the mark. There are other restaurants in Cairns who have simpler menus but they stay in their lane and hit the mark everytime, I just didn’t feel Tamarind did this (was my second visit as I thought maybe the first time was a one off).
Great wine list is a plus.
Overpriced in my mind based on the eating experience, however in terms of a fine dining experience and the service it is ticking some boxes there. I won’t be going back as their is much tastier and nicer food available for less money.

Date of visit: November 2023
Thank jasonmitchell108
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Wayne Reynolds, General Manager at Tamarind Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2023

Dear Jason,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, at Tamarind we pride ourselves with good food, service and atmosphere and I apologize for having missed the mark on the occasion.

I would love to learn more about your experience if you would like to share more, in order to review and improve on our offerings.

Sincerely
Miki Cugini
Food and Beverage Manager
miki.cugini@reefcasino.com.au
PULLMAN REEF HOTEL CASINO

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (1,124)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

16 - 20 of 1,124 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2023

We went to Tamarind as it was recommended by a friend. Great food, service, location and value. I would definitely go back.

Date of visit: September 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Z3777XJdonnac
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Wayne Reynolds, General Manager at Tamarind Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2023

Dear Jdonnac,

Thank you for taking the time to review Tamarind, we are thankful you choose to spend your occasion with us, and proud that it was a memorable one and that the team took such good care of you.
I will pass your comments to the team, they will be glad to hear. Looking forward serving you again soon.

Kind Regards,

Miki Cugini
Food and Beverage Manager
PULLMAN REEF HOTEL & CASINO

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2023

Delicious food served by friendly staff that went out their way to make sure everything was perfect. The decor was tasteful and the restaurant was comfortable and immaculate. The menu had lots of options and everything we tried was great including the extensive wine list.

Date of visit: September 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Roz1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Wayne Reynolds, General Manager at Tamarind Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2023

Dear Roz,

Thank you for taking the time to review Tamarind, we are thankful you choose to spend your occasion with us, and proud that it was a memorable one and that the team took such good care of you.
I will pass your comments to the team, they will be glad to hear. Looking forward serving you again soon.

Kind Regards,

Miki Cugini
Food and Beverage Manager
PULLMAN REEF HOTEL & CASINO

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2023 via mobile

This restaurant is worthy of the hype. Service is A+. Menu delightful incredible value for money with a 2 course or 3 course option. We opted for a 2 course and wow the pork belly was spectacular and the duck fat potatoes soooo good. We had the signature dessert and cheese platter again flavour plus. Thanks for a wonderful experience.

Date of visit: October 2023
Thank Julia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Wayne Reynolds, General Manager at Tamarind Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2023

Dear Julia,

Thank you for taking the time to review Tamarind, we are thankful you choose to spend your occasion with us, and proud that it was a memorable one and that the team took such good care of you.
I will pass your comments to the kitchen in regards to the food, as we have only recently launched our new menu, they will be glad to hear.

Kind Regards,

Miki Cugini
Food and Beverage Manager
PULLMAN REEF HOTEL & CASINO

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2023 via mobile

Nicolas was amazing. We asked him to pair our wine dinner and it was flawless! Thank you so much and a wonderful special treat to myself and fiancè, who’s birthday it was. Very special. Thank you Nicolas and team

Date of visit: October 2023
1  Thank sarahdebono
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Wayne Reynolds, General Manager at Tamarind Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2023

Dear Sarah,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience, we could not be happier and will pass the lovely note to Nicolas and the team.

Looking forward serving you again.

Kind Regards
Miki Cugini
Food and Beverage Manager
PULLMAN REEF HOTEL & CASINO

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tamarind Restaurant also viewed

 
Cairns, Cairns Region
Cairns, Cairns Region
 

Been to Tamarind Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.