We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always impresses”

Tamarind Restaurant
Ranked #36 of 766 Restaurants in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: AU$30 - AU$200
Cuisines: Australian, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The pinnacle of dining at The Reef Hotel Casino is the world renowned Tamarind Restaurant. With a coveted Chef Hat award and a recipient of the World Luxury Restaurant Awards continent winner for Fusion Cuisine in Australia and Oceania, Tamarind is celebrated as Cairns’ most awarded restaurant. Treasured by locals for special occasions, Tamarind is elegant and exceptional with its exquisite dishes handcrafted from the freshest local produce. The setting, a low-lit dining room with crisp white linen tablecloths, the gentle glow of light reflecting on the timber walls, creates a sophisticated, enchanting ambience for any evening celebration. Tamarind offer a delectable menu of ‘Australian Freestyle’ cuisine. The chefs embrace cooking styles and techniques from an array of cultures. This brigade de cuisine, with their passion for food, creates a culinary experience to savour. Changing seasonally to align with the season’s harvest, the menu at Tamarind boasts only the finest in local
Reviewed 27 August 2018 via mobile

My go to fine dining restaurant in Cairns
Great fast service. Very friendly staff especially the manager and Ben the team leader.
Amazing food as always.
Highly recommended.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank danielt25
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Akshay S, Manager at Tamarind Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2018

Dear Danielt25,
Thank you for taking time and shaing your feedback about your recent dining experience in Tamarind restaurant. Im glad to know that your enjoyed our food and customer service as we take pride in what we do.
Ben is one of our most talented and experienced staff members who makes sure every guest experience is memorable
Looking forward to serving you soon .
kind Regards
Akshay Sawant
Restaurant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (1,124)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

237 - 241 of 1,124 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2018

While we did not recall the dishes we had they were very tasty and without complaint.
Definitely worth dining there!
Service was excellent as well and the waiter suggested a Pinot Noir to accompany my wife's main and even provided a sample!

Date of visit: August 2018
1  Thank POBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Akshay S, Manager at Tamarind Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2018

Dear POBob,
Thank you for taking time and shaing your feedback about your recent dining experience in Tamarind restaurant. Im glad to know that you enjoyed our food and customer service as we take pride in what we do.
Many thanks again for taking time for sharing your feedback as it serves as motivation to me and my team to provide excellent quality food and customer service to all our guests. Looking forward to seeing you soon.

kind Regards
Akshay Sawant
Restaurant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2018

The food was absolutely beautiful, the staff were attentive and professional
The food looked and tasted great, I'm a bit fussy when it comes to food and it looking good is important to me.
Not cheap but definitely worth the price - I'd eat here again next time I visit Cairns

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank m1ndimoo369
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Akshay S, Manager at Tamarind Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2018

Dear m1ndimoo369,
Thank you for taking time to write about your recent dining exprience in Tamarind. I am really glad that you enjoyed the food and service that we offer.
looking forward to serving you next time when you come to Cairns

regards
Akshay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2018

It was the first time that I had eaten here for a few years but will try to get back on my next visit. I had a tuna starter followed by the reef fish main with a side of wok-tossed greens - both of which were excellent. My sister-in-law also enjoyed her zucchini flowers and beef cheeks. Being an Accor Plus member had the added advantage of a $60 discount on the meal, which was an added bonus.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank MikeDav
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Akshay S, Manager at Tamarind Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2018

Dear Mike Dav
Thank you for taking time and shaing your feedback about your recent dining experience in Tamarind restaurant. Im glad to know that your enjoyed our food and customer service as we take pride in what we do.
Many thanks again for taking time for sharing your feedback as it serves as motivation to me and my team to provide excellent quality food and customer service to all our guests.
Looking forward to seeing you soon.

kind Regards
Akshay Sawant
Restaurant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2018

The food here was beautifully presented and had had great flavour combinations. The Penang duck curry was amazing and had the most delicious candied pumpkin I have ever tasted.

Service was friendly and professional. Good selection of wine, cocktails and mocktails. Refined but comfortable decor and ambience. I will definitely come back here next time I am in Cairns.

Date of visit: August 2018
1  Thank sr3221
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Akshay S, Manager at Tamarind Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2018

Dear Mr Stephen R,
Thank you for taking time and shaing your feedback about your recent dining experience in Tamarind restaurant. Im glad to know that your enjoyed our food and customer service as we take pride in what we do.
Many thanks again for taking time for sharing your feedback as it serves as motivation to me and my team to provide excellent quality food and customer service to all our guests.
Looking forward to seeing you soon.
kind Regards
Akshay Sawant
Restaurant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tamarind Restaurant also viewed

 
Cairns, Cairns Region
Cairns, Cairns Region
 

Been to Tamarind Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.