We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Over Priced” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Piccolo Cucina

Piccolo Cucina
Ranked #119 of 569 Restaurants in Cairns
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
australia
Level Contributor
150 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Over Priced”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2011

I am amazed that this restaurant has so many positive reviews. Yes the the food is quite good, the pasta lovely and fresh. We found the service from the family members fine, BUT, the portions were very small [maybe they were running out of fresh pasta] very overpriced, and because we had spent over $100 on 3 entrée size meals, 1 main and 2 glasses of house wine, we had forgone the luxury of the $10+ desserts. As we were still hungry when we left the restaurant we headed for one of our usual stand by cafe's, for dessert and coffee at half the price.
As we have holidayed in Italy, and eaten at many italian restaurants around the world, and italian homes, we were surprised at the very small portions served to us.
Atmosphere is non existent.
Will not be back.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank aussienomadAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    62
    30
    13
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tauranga
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Its OK but not brilliant”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2011

We dined here on a weekday evening when they were fairly busy. It is a family run restaurant and has an authentic atmosphere with the family calling out the orders in Italian.
The food is OK but we placed it fourth out of the four restaurants we dined at in Cairns. The cost was AUD104 for one entree, two mains and a bittle of wine.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kiwitony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Yummy food - funny entertainment...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2011

Went there for a lovely dinner and really enjoyed the attentative service and the delicious food. I felt sorry for them though that their free entertainment included a female patron of a club nearby throwing up on the grass lawn only a few metres away from where we were sitting.
This would not put me off going again as the food and service made me realise why this is a locals favourite.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Olyv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good food, way overpriced.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2011

We had lunch at Piccolo's during our recent stay in Cairns. The service was friendly but I wouldn't call it exceptional. The food was very good & you could taste the difference in that these pastas were fresh & handmade. We tried 4 dishes: bruschetta with olives & tomatoes, lasagna filled with crab in a lobster bisque sauce, lightly fried eggplant stack with parmesan & tomatoes, and spinach tortellini filled with a cheese blend & covered with a marinara sauce. The portions were very filling but not too heavy. The flavors were fresh and distinct, but not too over powering like some restaurants that leave you tasting your meal for the rest of the day. We ate out on the patio so that we could people watch as we enjoyed our meal. All in all, it was a good experience but then the bill came and were shocked to see the total. $75 USD for 4 lunch dishes!! We only had water to drink and with the exception of the lasagna, these dishes did not have expensive components!!! The food was very good, but not good enough to warrant a return visit if the prices remain the same.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank aalejTA2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Just ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2011

Had dinner there once. We found it overpriced. The wine list expensive. $10 for a glass of NZ wine, come on!!! I would happily pay those prices for a 5star or on the Pier on the waterfront, but not the location where this restaurant is. Seems a popular restaurant, but would not go back if back in Cairns.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kanga60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Piccolo Cucina also viewed

Cairns, Cairns Region
Cairns, Cairns Region
 
Cairns, Cairns Region
Cairns, Cairns Region
 
Cairns, Cairns Region
Cairns, Cairns Region
 

Been to Piccolo Cucina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing