We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great French food in a comfortable environment.”

C'est Bon Restaurant Francais
Ranked #16 of 778 Restaurants in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: AU$10 - AU$97
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Your Local French restaurant in far North Queensland. Established in 2003, C'est Bon is Cairns locals' favorite spot for business lunch, birthday party, romantic dinner and many more. Our cuisine relies on the French cuisine using classic techniques to put out a modern twist on most dishes allowing us to adjust to our tropical climate & international customers. From the kitchen, Nicolas the chef/owner and his team will prepare your order with care and dedication while our Fantastic Maitre D'hotel Camille Cercleron, from Brittany France, will make sure your experience is faultless. We look forward to having your name on our reservation sheet. Bon Appetit
Reviewed 15 February 2024 via mobile

My wife and I love French food. The restaurant did not disappoint. We shared a dozen escargot as an appetizer which was excellent. My wife had the duck which was cooked to perfection, I had 8 hour cooked Beef Cheeks!!! I’ve been in the restaurant business in the USA for over 50 years and have never seen Beef Cheeks offered from any of my suppliers. I had to try it and it was excellent. The beef was cooked to the consistency of a lamb shank but the owner said the meet requires the longer cook times to make it perfect…. And it was!. There wasn’t a drop left on my plate. The young couple next to us ordered the Crème Brûlée which was presented in a foot long dish about an inch wide. It looked fantastic. We didn’t have any dessert but they all sounded great. I would recommend it whole heartedly if you enjoy French food.

Date of visit: February 2024
Thank Whit M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (1,136)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4 - 8 of 1,136 reviews

Reviewed 8 February 2024 via mobile

The dining experience was marred by exceptionally unfriendly and almost aggressive service. While attempting to clarify our dessert order, the waitress seemed visibly irritated, responding with a curt 'I repeated that already!' Her approach to serving plates and pouring wine conveyed a sense of unwillingness to be there, overshadowing any potential enjoyment of the food. Regrettably, I won't be returning, as the overall atmosphere greatly detracted from what might have been a decent meal.

It's unfortunate that the negative experience with one waitress overshadowed the efforts of the other staff and potentially skilled chefs. A single negative encounter can indeed impact the overall perception of a dining establishment.

It's understandable that you typically prefer to share positive experiences, but given the unsatisfactory service at this establishment, it's fair not to recommend it to others. Sometimes, honest feedback can guide others in making informed choices.

Date of visit: February 2024
1  Thank Miki S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 December 2023 via mobile

Beautiful meal amazing service very enjoyable dining experience. French baguette, snails entree, main course beef eye fillet my wife had the braised beef check and lemon meringue as a dessert, highly recommended

Date of visit: December 2023
Thank Craig J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 December 2023

I was very confused the food was bland and tasteless I have no idea why people want to eat there. When we left there was over the half food left, the staff came and asked what was wrong with the food and we just said that we weren’t hungry enough but that wasn’t true it was so bland

Date of visit: March 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Merle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 November 2023

Have been coming to this restaurant for years unfortunately the standard has declined dramatically. Owner and staff attitude are poor meals were bland cold and overpriced. Menu has changed not for the better

Date of visit: November 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Adam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed C'est Bon Restaurant Francais also viewed

Cairns, Cairns Region
Cairns, Cairns Region
 

Been to C'est Bon Restaurant Francais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.