We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
  
Ways to Experience St Monica's Cathedral
from USD 58.10
More Info
from USD 64.00
More Info
from USD 58.10
More Info
Reviews (269)
Filter reviews
239 results
Traveller rating
164
66
7
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
164
66
7
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews stained glass beautiful windows both sides sunday mass coral sea war memorial worth a visit half day tour religious depicting scenes depicted architecture bookshop monicas parishioners vigil
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 239 reviews
Reviewed 5 days ago

You wouldn't realise from the outside what is revealed inside. 24 amazing creation stain glass windows and two peace windows. A must see !

Thank Marilyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

I attended the Saturday evening Vigil Mass, presided over by the Bishop of Cairns who spoke about the difference between eros and agape, and also showed parishioners two recently acquired artworks from a Netherlands auction house including one of the Good Samaritan. The emphasis is on acquiring 1960s artworks in line with when this Cathedral was built.

It is aircon. I am mire used to attending Mass at Filipino chuches that do nit have windows.

While I would prefer that older Churches be retained, I did not have time to inspect the former Cathedral in Minnie Street.

If you visit, please donate to further the many good works of the Catholic Church and its key role in bringing us closer to Our Lord Jesus Christ.

Thank Victorianlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The glass is why most visitors come here-they are well worth a visit. Mass here is early which is great when you are travelling, the parishioners were friendly

1  Thank Mary Ann W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2018

We visited St Monica's for Sunday morning mass and were lucky enough to meet the bishop. The church is beautiful with its amazing sunglass windows. Something to see when in town

1  Thank Kathryn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2018

A lovely, tranquil place to visit. Stain glass windows were beautiful. Refreshing to experience the contemporary alongside the more traditional church features.

1  Thank zhena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2018

I was somewhat disappointed to find a modernised church with beautiful stained windows and décor rather than an old Gothic styled cathedral. t has interesting history and worth visiting during your stay in Cairns.

1  Thank papcar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2018

Definitely worth visiting for any visitor to Cairns. The building doesn't look like much from the exterior, but the interior has beautiful stained glass windows across three walls telling the story of creation. Well with a visit and photography is allowed.

1  Thank Ray J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2018

We attended church service and stayed for the audio concerning their large church windows. The history and thought around the creation of the windows is great. The Peace Window was my favorite. Plus this is free!

1  Thank ABF67002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2018

I always insist on attending mass on Sundays even on holidays.
People in St Monica was very welcoming to us tourist even though we were not familiar with their procedures. The church was very accessible on foot.

1  Thank thlkenneth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2018

We only found out about this place because our tour guide for the Kuranda trip informed us. We went the next day to see the beautiful memorial and creation windows. The Baptistry is also amazing. The pamphlet was handy to inform us of the making of the windows and what each represented.

1  Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews