We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Did not live up to their rating”

Yaya's Hellenic Kitchen & Bar
Ranked #11 of 778 Restaurants in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Dinner from 5pm - Yaya’s is family & locally owned, wih traditional Greek & Mediterranean food & a beautiful balcony overlooking the Esplanade with great views. Private functions with no charge for the space, are available for Lunch & Dinner celebrations/meetings etc, please check conditions/menus with Manager.
Reviewed 4 February 2024

This restaurant was highly rated but we were disappointed. Food and menu seemed geared towards small plates. Service was slow.

Date of visit: February 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank V6228XAjamesl
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (1,062)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

24 - 28 of 1,062 reviews

Reviewed 3 February 2024

As a Cairns local I frequent many restaurants. My third time to yayas and was excellent once again. Attentive waiters,good atmosphere and beautiful food. Costa is an excellent host and as we were there late we had a bit of a chat with him about the gumtree liquor made in Greece which he recommended after our meal. He also gave us a taste of a Greek wine which my lady friend really enjoyed. It really made our night. As someone who works in the tour industry I'll definitely recommend this restaurant to my customers.

Date of visit: January 2024
1  Thank 30cassw
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 January 2024 via mobile

I love my Mediterranean cuisine and dinner at Yia Yias was delicious, superb value (greek banquet ) 6 of us + wine...Service was great but the dessert (Bougatsa) superb.. Highly recommended...

Date of visit: January 2024
Thank thomasthetank
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 January 2024

Wow Wow Wow, the best meal I’ve had in a long time! Yaya’s is one of those rare places where you don’t care what the food costs because the experience is so good.

We were greeted by the Friendly Costa at the door and were extremely well looked after by the staff throughout the night.

I had the Special slow cooked lamb and my god it fell off the bone and was perfectly balanced with a zingy sauce. My parter had the lamb kebabs which was paired with a delicious fresh salad and tziki dip.

It was so refreshing to have a meal at a restaurant where the staff were clearly passionate and that was clearly reflected in the quality of the food.

YAYA’s is a Cairns must!

Date of visit: January 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Beau F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 January 2024 via mobile

Had dinner here on a busy & Wet Monday night. Fabulous service by friendly, attentive staff. We all had the $55 11 course meal. Everything was delicious. Highly recommend

Date of visit: January 2024
Thank LeaRiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Yaya's Hellenic Kitchen & Bar also viewed

 
Cairns, Cairns Region
 

Been to Yaya's Hellenic Kitchen & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.