We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Lovely, clean & very central backpackers” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Northern Greenhouse

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Northern Greenhouse
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely, clean & very central backpackers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2011

Overall our experience at this backpackers was awesome - its clean, great facilities and rooms and its literally a two minute walk from the main street of cairns.

My sister and bro and I decided to stay here because my sister had stayed before and loved it. The backpackers lived up to its reputation - it was awesome and we all loved it! We stayed in one of the apartments that sleeps 4. It has two bunk beds and we had the double split into two singles. The room has a private en suite and kitchen which all came in handy and its own little balcony. We were over the bar and didn't have an issue with the noise as long as we kept the door closed.

Pro's of the room:
Own bathroom, nice and clean
Own balcony
TV
Wardrobe
Bedside tables
Light switch accessible from bottom bunk
Fridge
Cooking equipment, cutlery, crockery and cups provided
Detergent, garbage bags etc provided
Towels and linen provided - MASSIVE plus was the let us swap our towels in for clean ones whenever we needed them

Cons of the room (very small issues):
Couldn't get TV remote to work even after advice from reception
Bathroom light had delay of like 15 seconds coming on
Stove was a little old - knobs didn't accurately line up with temperature

Pro's of the backpackers:
Free Breaky (not that we made it most days)
Awesome pool
Wicked decking and comfy chairs for reading your book on, using free internet etc
Majority of staff lovely (softly spoken gentlemen with an accent was a gem, always helpful and so nice)

Cons
In my opinion Bar is in a ridiculous spot (its amongst the rooms over in a weird corner). Regardless of the hostel not being a party hostel the bar should be up on the deck, it would improve and relax the atmosphere in the evening greatly. Given its not a party hostel the bar being on the deck and some nice cruisy background blues & roots type music would complement the vibe of the hostel beautifully. On nights when a movie is run instead the bar could still serve without music. This is my personal opinion only.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Belinda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthernGreenhouse, Guest Relations Manager at The Northern Greenhouse, responded to this review, 14 October 2011
Hi Bel,
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I was thrilled to hear that you had a lovely time at our hostel. We pride ourselves on being able to provide a clean and central place for guests.
Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you and your firends and family back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    180
    91
    19
    7
    5
See reviews for
15
33
129
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2011

I stayed at the Northern Greenhouse over Christmas and New Year and ended up staying for 2 months!! The most fun and clean hostel I stayed in when I was travelling!
Breakfast was free, there was a great free BBQ on the Sunday and the best pancakes to wake up to on a saturday!
There where different trips arranged throughout the week but the most fun was always in the bar!! Great place to start for a good night out!! Cheaper than the clubs and the banter was always great!! Also got free passes for the woolshed so more money for drinking!! Northern Greenhouse is right in the centre of cairns so a short walk to any of the clubs and bars. Just ask the barman for the best places to go on what nights and your sure to have a good time!
The hostel has a pool, bar, pool table, internet, big kitchen, its sociable and has lots of freebies!
I had soo much fun and met lots of amazing people!! I stayed in 3 hostels in cairns before I found this gem! My fav hostel in oz.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank suzieMac_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthernGreenhouse, Guest Relations Manager at The Northern Greenhouse, responded to this review, 14 October 2011
Hi SuzieMac,
Thank you for writing your review. It was amazing to read about the great time you had at our hostel. I am glad our friendly staff were able to help you.
Thanks again and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

This hostel was very good for the price you pay for it. The rooms are large with storage under beds, even with sink and fridge in the room and wardrobe. The beds are also quite big and very comfortable! The rooms are also ensuite which is really nice. The main courtyard has a nice size pool and the deck for the kitchen was great (could do with more chairs though for the tables) with sofas and was a great place to meet people. The internet was free which was great, but sometimes very very slow! You could walk to the seafront and lagoon in 10 mins, with Coles not far away at all. Cairns is a pretty small so can walk most places and this place is pretty central from everywhere. The staff are helpful and friendly and has a travel desk to book tours. It seemed pretty clean too and all rooms are cleaned daily. Would stay again for sure.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teb87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthernGreenhouse, Guest Relations Manager at The Northern Greenhouse, responded to this review, 8 August 2011
Dear Teb87,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We pride ourselves on offering out guest a comfortable and convenient place to stay. Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2011

My stay in this hostel was ok. main positive points were free breakfast which was useful for a first night in a new hostel, and excellent location (5 mins from cairns lagoon). The hostel also had a pool but i did not use it. My main problems were considering how hot cairns was in February, the air conditioning in my room was not adequate, and i was only just cool enough in the bed right next to the air con vent. however i think this may have been a problem with my room as other people did not have this problem. There were also a lot of bugs around. However £17 for a 6 bed ensuite dorm with fridge (essential in cairns!), good location, breakfast and free airport transfer was excellent value.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank helena333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2011

Great hostel. The rooms are clean and tidy, the beds are huge and comfortable. The upper seating area is really good, it's great to have a massive seating area away from the benches that people eat at, it really helps the atmosphere.

Carl in the bar was a top bloke. The only slight downside was a the monosylabic girl who was on reception while I was there which made getting information slightly hard work.

It's not a massive party hostel like Gilligans, but it's not totally sleepy either, great place to meet people. The free wifi is patchy but good when you can get some!

Room Tip: Rooms 23-27 will keep you away from the bar noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kellypaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
2.0 km away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 68 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
0.3 km away
Gilligans Backpackers Hotel & Resort
0.5 km away
Dreamtime Travellers Rest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Gecko's Backpackers
Gecko's Backpackers
#8 of 88 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
1.5 km away
Tropic Days Backpackers
0.8 km away
Caravella Backpackers
Caravella Backpackers
#5 of 88 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Northern Greenhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Northern Greenhouse

Property: The Northern Greenhouse
Address: 117 Grafton St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia (Formerly Shooting Star Apartments)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 88 Speciality Lodging in Cairns
Price range (per night): $23 - $58
Hotel Class:4 star — The Northern Greenhouse 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Northern Greenhouse is centrally located in the middle of Cairns with tour pick up points, night life and attractions less than a five minute walk from the hostel. Every room includes a an ensuite bathroom and shower, air conditioning, private balcony or garden, powered lockers and kitchenette. Guests also receive Free Daily Breakfast, Free Unlimited Internet 24/7 as well as experiences such as a Free trip to a hidden rainforest swimming hole, sailing classes, trip to nearby Ellis Beach, the Botanical Gardens and more.If you are still looking for ideas of tours and day trips, see the experts at our in house Fully Licensed Travel Agency for the best deals on travel and experiences around Australia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your The Northern Greenhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Northern Greenhouse Hotel Cairns
The Northern Greenhouse Cairns, Queensland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing