We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
AU$275
Fully refundable before Wed, 28 Feb
Hotels.com
Vio.com
AU$262
Fully refundable before Thu, 29 Feb
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (203)
Filter reviews
203 results
Traveller rating
90
73
23
7
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
90
73
23
7
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lap lane washing machine appointed apartment lovely pool area dvd player single bed comfy bed ceiling fan self contained full kitchen after hours family holiday visiting cairns would stay again bedroom balcony louvres
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 203 reviews
Reviewed 11 September 2023 via mobile

Stay away!!! Overall, it’s the two worst things for any accommodation: 1) an old and terrible mattress where you wake up with a sore back, and 2) a dirty environment where you can find cockroaches and ants, and loud noises! We stayed in apartment 4 for three nights. Never again. The bed is extremely uncomfortable and I woke up with a sore back for the first time in my life. We didn’t notice this at first, but the queen bed is actually two twin beds joined together. One of the two mattresses is indented and sinks in as soon as you law down, so it’s very hard and uncomfortable.
The pillows are also old and flattened out, with a huge indentation. There’s screaming kids in the pool, when we’re trying to go to bed. I had to step outside and ask the parents to please keep it down and i understand the pool closes at 10, but the room is not soundproof and we can hear everything in the hallway, including the activity in the pool, the recycling bins being used, and suitcases rolling on the floor. Also, the internet is terribly slow and I’m not even able to post a picture or have a proper call with my family. But all that is very small compared to what happened this morning. When we woke up to catch our tour, we were brushing our teeth in the bathroom and we saw a *big cockroach* on the bathroom floor. It was so horrible and absolutely not what we expected for a $500 stay. We’re now having to look at every single part of the floor where we step, where we put our bags, our toiletries, our food, our pillows, our faces, everywhere. It’s so so unpleasant. When I brought it up to Suzi, she apologized but said it’s common to see them in the tropics. While that might be true, I lived in the tropics for 16 years and not once did I see a cockroach inside. They live outside and only come inside when there’s filth and opportunity. A consistent fumigation schedule with synthetic chemicals or with organic deterrents would prevent them from coming into the apartments. And even simpler, how about getting a plastic strip for beneath the front door? It would deter pests and also control the noise. Now, inside the shower there’s black mold everywhere: black mold on the walls, mold on the floor, mold on the caulking, mold near the shower drain, and mold on the grout. Mold doesn’t just appear overnight. It takes weeks or even months to create an environment. So it shows that the shower hasn’t been properly cleaned in who knows how much time. A simple scrub with Zep or lemon with sodium bicarbonate would get rid of this and prevent it through regular cleaning. The hair dryer was full of yuck, grime, and dirty. We decided not to use it, not only because of the filth, but also because it stunk whenever you turned it on. On our second morning, we found lots ants crawling on the kitchen table, the kitchen counters, and the coffee table in front of the couch. The lobby also had a very bizarre smell, at first I thought it was vinegar and that they used organic products for cleaning, but after seeing the chemicals in the office and under the sink for the big killers, the unpleasant lobby smell must be from something else. The cutlery was also filthy and the cutlery covered covered with filth and rust.

At first glance, the place looked nice. When we first walked in, Suzi was very nice, friendly, and polite. The apartment had every single light ON so it looked nice, bright, and clean. We had a little basket with toiletries which was nice. However, as mentioned above, this is far from what we expected for our three night stay. Never again.

Date of stay: September 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Esteban N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dreamtime Resorts, General Manager at 201 Lake Street, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2023

Hi Esteban,
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay with us. We are disappointed to read that your stay did not meet your expectations. The bedding in this apartment is a king sized European zip bed, we are disappointed to read that you did not find it comfortable. We are currently working with the owner to update this apartment as required.
If you would like to discuss this further, please reach out directly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2023 via mobile

This was our second visit. Can’t wait till next year.
Our room was lovely, the facilities in it were spot on and the king size bed bed was super comfortable.
The bathroom is huge with a shower and separate bath, if that’s your thing.
The pool is huge and very well maintained.
Free parking and the location was perfect.
Suzi and her staff are very friendly and accommodating.
This is a quiet and pleasant family style hotel.
Thanks again
Ted & Corinne

Date of stay: July 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank zigzagMandurah
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dreamtime Resorts, General Manager at 201 Lake Street, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2023

Hi Ted & Corinne,

Thank you for your great review! We're so glad to hear you love staying with us and enjoy our atmosphere.

We appreciate your comments and hope to see you again soon!

Kind regards,
201 Lake Street

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2023

I arrive to find the owner meeting me at the door with a welcoming smile. After a little bit a saw to my horror that I was in a "twin" code for single bed. He then explained he called the travel agent three times to find out if this was a mistake. With no response he just went a single male traveller would want a king bed and promptly changed the booking prior to my arrival. Service like that will mean this is my hotel of choice when working in Cairns

Date of stay: February 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank robrR5120TK
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dreamtime Resorts, General Manager at 201 Lake Street, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2023

Hi Rob,
Thank you for taking the time to post a positive review for 201 Lake Street. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and the service was to a high standard.
We look forward to seeing you again soon
201 Lake Street

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2022

Nice little apartment complex set A couple of blocks back from the start of the esplanade. If you don’t mind walking to the esplanade and restaurants and are looking for something that suits a family and budget, then this is the place. About 15-20 minutes from the strip of restaurants and pubs, add on another 5-10 for the marina where all the tours depart from.
Service was great and very friendly. We had a 2 BR interconnecting apartment, which suited our family of 4 really well. The kids utilised the pool most days, although the design of it, with only one lap lane of any depth made it difficult for them to play in. On arrival the apartment had been cleaned, but we still found an old pair of bathers and empty beer can inside…we saw the amusement in this, but probably stops me giving it a 5 rating. Location is on a roundabout, which was okay most of the time, but can get a little busy some mornings at peak hour.
Overall we enjoyed our stay here and would recommend it to other families too.

Date of stay: September 2022
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank burkey23
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dreamtime Resorts, General Manager at 201 Lake Street, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2022

Hi,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. It's so pleasing that you enjoyed your stay with us. We apologies for the bathers and beer can found within your apartment on arrival. We will ensure cleaners are more vigilant. Thank you, we hope to accommodate you again.

Kind Regards,
201 Lake Street

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2022

Just spent a week staying at 201 Lake St. We were 2 couples (4 adults) and stayed in a 2-bedroom apartment on the 4th level. The check-in process was straightforward and the staff were lovely/helpful/polite. The 2-bedroom apartment was basically a dual key apartment, which was essentially a full 1-bedroom apartment (with laundry/full kitchen), and an inter-connecting hotel-style room with a mini bar fridge/kitchenette. This actually suited us perfectly, as it allowed us some separation, but we were able to wedge the interconnecting door open so that we could move freely throughout. I wouldn't say it was immaculately clean, but I've definitely seen worse. The apartment had everything we needed. Shower pressure was adequate, beds were comfortable. I will note the bed was 2 mattresses pushed together, which we were initially unimpressed with, but to be honest we couldn't even notice when we went to bed, and found the mattress to be really comfortable. We absolutely loved the big balcony with the sliding louvres. It was lovely being able to sit out there and have breakfast of a morning. The unit was air conditioned, however the main section/first bedroom was ducted, and the adjoining apartment was a split system. The split system was EXTREMELY loud, even on the lowest setting, so we couldn't use it at night. We also found the location to be quite noisy (the apartment is above a busy intersection/roundabout) so we also couldn't leave the glass door open at night to allow airflow. Luckily there was a ceiling fan. The location is good, but it is about a 20 minute walk to the terminal were all the day trips/boats depart from. Overall we had a wonderful stay and would happily stay there again.

Date of stay: September 2022
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julesmcm
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dreamtime Resorts, General Manager at 201 Lake Street, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2022

Hi,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. It's so pleasing that you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate your feedback & will be taken into consideration. We hope to accommodate you again in the near future. Thank you.

Kind Regards,
201 Lake Street

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews