We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific place to stay”
Review of 201 Lake Street

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
201 Lake Street
Ranked #25 of 83 Speciality Lodging in Cairns
Reviewed 11 August 2011

My wife and I wanted a relaxing place to stay, which was going to be close to centre of town and comfortable surroundings. The standard of accommodation was very good and we had a balcony where you could sit out side and look towards the harbour and see all the cruise boats going out and coming back each day. The staff were very friendly and helpful without being over bearing. Cairns is a good base for travelling, and we hired a car and did a lot of getting around. The Sky Rail was a great experience as was the trip back on the train. Port Douglas should not be missed, especially if you like sea food. Buy some prawns off the trawler. Ten days was not long enough!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JeffGoldCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (157)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

112 - 116 of 157 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2011

Our one bedroom apartment was spotlessly clean including the bright and airy bathroom.
Great views from our own balcony, added to that we had our own kitchen and laundry.
The desk staff were very helpful allowing us to self check in at 4.30am, so we could
catch up on sleep from our early morning flight.
It is an easy walk into town, along the boardwalk.
We will definetly stay here again and I highly recommend thse apartments for a stay in Cairns. I particulary liked their pool area. always kept clean and tidy.
Plus our bed was huge and sooo comfortable, nice and firm.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jenthemother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2011

If you want to be kept awake by frequent fire alarms going off in the middle of the night, the sound of buses & other continuous traffic, chairs scraping on tiled floors by your neighbours, then this is the place for you!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 255060Wearytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2011

The location is awful! On a round about which is constantly busy! On the other side of the road is a hospital! There are also many residential homes around so u will b disturbed with lawn mowers ect

The bed which was advertised as a king size is two singles pushed together

The room key takes about 20 attempts before it will open

The lady at the desk is extremely rude and insensitive, although the gentleman is very friendly and helpful

Bathroom has been cheaply renovated!

Overall very disappointing

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Retie89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2011

Myself and my partner stayed here for 2 days. We were impressed and would definitely stay here again. The location was perfect, it was in walking distance to the hospital, esplanade, cafes, restaurants, shops, markets and casino. The staff were friendly and the room was modern, comfortable and very clean. The free secure car parking was also a bonus. We would recommend this place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Molly_Moo_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.6 km away
181 The Esplanade
181 The Esplanade
#30 of 63 in Cairns
145 reviews
1.3 km away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.3 km away
Cascade Gardens
Cascade Gardens
#20 of 63 in Cairns
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Cairns Luxury Apartments - Harbourlights complex
0.8 km away
Southern Cross Atrium Apartments
1.5 km away
Piermonde Apartments
Piermonde Apartments
#9 of 83 in Cairns
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 201 Lake Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 201 Lake Street

Address: 201 Lake St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 83 Speciality Lodging in Cairns
Price Range: $137 - $266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — 201 Lake Street 4.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
201 Lake Street is the perfect base to discover Cairns & Tropical North Queensland. Located just off The Esplanade and a casual stroll into Central Cairns. 201 Lake Street offers a mix of hotel rooms and fully self contained one and two bedroom apartments. The hotel rooms are perfect for corporate travellers and the apartments are ideal for holiday makers needing Cairns accommodation for a longer stay. When you're not exploring the surrounding tropical paradise, take advantage of the 20 metre resort pool with lap section and BBQ entertainment area. Free secure parking and free wireless internet access is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your 201 Lake Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
201 Lake Street Hotel Cairns
201 Lake Street Cairns, Queensland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing