We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful week!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Waters Edge Apartments
Ranked #18 of 83 Speciality Lodging in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 November 2011

We stayed in room 29 for one week with our relatives from Ireland and our three children. We absoutley loved our stay. The facilities were excellent and the staff friendly and helpful. The location is fabulous, with a miriad of options for dining and entertainment to suit all ages and tastes. The view from our balcony was to die for, so much so we enquired about apartments for sale! We will definately stay again. SM

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sonya862
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (140)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

104 - 108 of 140 reviews

Reviewed 15 November 2011

We stayed in Room 18 for 1 week with our 2 children aged 3 yrs & 2yrs. We loved everything about our apartment and found nothing to fault. the staff were friendly at every stage of our stay. the location is fabulous, especially for entertaining the kids. our apartment was clean and well decorated. the apartment was big enough to please everyone, especially when entertaining friends. we didn't want to leave and will absolutely stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank melinak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2011

We stayed in a three bedroom apartment at Waters Edge in late September 2011. In this time we experienced countless problems, including cleanliness issues which seem to be mentioned often (yet are not addressed by staff or management). These problems included:
- Cockroaches: this was the first thing we found upon entering the apartment was a couple of cockroaches on the walls.
- Cleanliness: the benches and floors were sticky when we arrived (meaning my mother mopped the floor on her holiday), the towels had stains on them, as did the couches, there was other peoples hair in the shower, the toilet was dirty and the corners of the bathroom had little piles of dust and dirt.
- Reception unmanned: reception was very rarely manned, we were told by reception that we MUST check out at 10am as cleaners were coming to our room. When we left our room at 10.30, there were no cleaners in sight and reception was unmanned meaning we waited an additional half hour to check out.
- Poor Cleaners: a cleaner knocked on our door the second day we were there and as we would be leaving in 15 minutes, we asked her to return later in the day which she said she would do. However when we returned that night our room had not been cleaned. It was 'cleaned' once over the whole 5 days, which really meant that the old towels had been removed.

If you want to get an overall impression of how management think about cleanliness and customer service, all you need do is read the responses to poor reviews made by management on this site. It is clear that this apartment complex is not customer-oriented.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank S F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vuemanager, Manager at Waters Edge Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2011

The management and staff at Waters Edge work hard to ensure our guests have an enjoyable holiday, and leave with great memories of Cairns and Waters Edge Apartments. We appreciate all feedback and have taken on board the concerns raised in this review. We have now implemented procedures to ensure that in future guests have a mechanism to voice their concerns direct to management during their stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2011

We stayed for a week at the Waters Edge Apartments in early October and booked a Swim out apartment. The apartment was excellent and the pool facilities great. The apartment was spacious and well equipped with most of the features you would expect in a "5 star" establishment. The location was also good, being in fairly easy walking distance to the centre of Cairns, restaurants etc.

The downside of our stay was the quality of the apartment housekeeping with beds and linen not being consistenly and well serviced. It was hit and miss which is something you shouldn't expect for the price you pay at a place like this. Disappointingly it did not get any better after we raised concerns with management which was disappointing.

Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
1  Thank Adel-Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vuemanager, Manager at Waters Edge Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2011

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay at Waters Edge Apartments Cairns and that the apartment and pool facilities were great. With regards to servicing of the apartment, we note that Waters Edge Apartments are self-contained apartments. At times this does cause confusion with the guests, as our daily service is not comparable to what is offered at a 5 star hotel. We do provide a daily service, and this entails replacing towels, making of beds and the rubbish is taken out. We are also committed to minimizing the impact we have on our environment. We have a policy in place with respect to replacing towels. If your towel is hanging up, the cleaners assume that you want to use it again, if a towel is left in the bathtub/shower it will be replaced. There are signs in both bathrooms which explain this procedure. The bed linen is not changed on a daily basis, but is changed mid-stay if the guest is staying for 8 days or longer.

I apologise that this was not made clear to the guest during their stay, and we have now implemented procedures to inform guests upon check-in of what the daily service entails. We have also provided guests with the opportunity to raise any housekeeping concerns directy to management during their stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2011

WOW-We stopped at the swim out apartments for five nights them went up to the apartment on the top floor and where extremely impressed with the cleanliness and facilities in these apartments. Definately a five star from us( 2 adults,16,15 and a 12 year old). The swim out pool was fantastic if you can manage to book that but in saying that the top floor views were magic. A fantastic location right opposite a playground/water park and cafe which is just ideal for a small children. A two street walk to the eateries but this is a lovely broadwalk stroll and we felt fantastic location. There was no external annoying noise like some of the ones down in cairns. Highly recommend these apartments!!!

Room Tip: if you like swimming the swim out apartments are just fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
1.1 km away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.3 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
1.3 km away
Pullman Cairns International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
1.4 km away
Jack & Newell Cairns Holiday Apartments
1.2 km away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#6 of 63 in Cairns
2,312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Cairns

Been to Waters Edge Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waters Edge Apartments

Address: 155 The Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 83 Speciality Lodging in Cairns
Price Range: $263 - $437 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Waters Edge Apartments 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Waters Edge Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waters Edge Apartments Cairns, Queensland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing