We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Spirit of Freedom - Fabulous” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of TUSA Dive

TUSA Dive
Book In Advance
USD 148.05*
and up
Great Barrier Reef Eco Snorkel and Dive Cruise from Cairns Including Lunch
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Cairns based, TUSA Dive are the day tour scuba diving and snorkelling specialists to the Great Barrier Reef. With more than 25 years experience in taking visitors to the reef, TUSA Dive strive to make your Cairns reef tour as memorable, educational and exciting, as it is possible to be.The Great Barrier Reef is the largest coral reef system in the world, composed of over 2,900 individual reefs and 900 islands stretching for 2,600 km (1,600 mi) along the coast of Queensland, in Australia's Coral Sea. Labeled as one of the 7 natural wonders of the world, and a World Heritage listed region, visitors come from the all over the planet to visit this incredible icon... Our Great Barrier Reef.Experienced scuba divers and snorkellers alike can travel to the outer reefs in ultimate comfort on board Cairns' newest and best reef day boat, the TUSA 6. Launched in August 2011, the 24m TUSA 6 was custom designed for Great Barrier Reef cruising, cairns diving and snorkelling, and each day visits two unique reef locations from Tusa's choice of 16 spectacular dive and snorkel sites.Tusa Dive's professional and friendly dive crew are on hand throughout the day to assist you in ever way, and can provide education for snorkeling, first time "introductory scuba diving" (PADI Discover Scuba course), PADI & SSI Referral Courses, and PADI Open Water courses.For divers looking for more than a day trip, multi-day scuba packages are available for day touring and Tusa 6's big sister, the Spirit of Freedom provides 3 to 7 day liveaboard diving expeditions to the iconic dive destinations of the Cod Hole and Osprey Reef in the Coral Sea.TUSA Dive are proud to be accredited as an Advanced Ecotourism Operator, committed to providing a service that reflects our responsibility to contribute to the conservation of our Great Barrier Reef Marine Park and pass on this rich heritage to future generations.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children, Stairs / lift
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Spirit of Freedom - Fabulous”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2015

We recently went on a 7 day diving and snorkelling trip on the Spirit of Freedom run
by Tusa Dive. The luxury liveaboard boat has options of 3 and 4 day trips but we opted
for both. The three day trip took in the beautiful ribbon reefs and finished at Lizard
Island and then we carried on to Osprey Reef in the Coral Sea which was truly amazing.
My husband dived and I snorkelled. Both in our 60s we were extremely well looked after
by the crew who all had great personalities and provided lots of laughs, but at the same
time safety was paramount both in and out of the water. The food coming out of that
small galley was amazing and plentiful. The equipment was top knotch. We would
highly recommend a trip on this live aboard to see the beautiful reef. Our fellow
passengers from all over the world mixed well and we all enjoyed the crew. Thanks
everyone for a memorable holiday.

Visited March 2015
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,023 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    764
    158
    51
    30
    20
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northmead
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Magical”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2015

A great day diving the reef made all the better by the awesome Tusa 6 team. Friendly, approachable, well-organized - the day just ran smooth leaving us to only enjoy the fish and coral!
Highly recommended and would go again! The boat has everything you need and more (hot showers!)

Visited April 2015
Helpful?
Thank Bex_085
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coombabah, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Awesome Day Trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2015

I booked with Tusa Dive to do my first dive since getting my dive certificate in early 2014. The crew crew were extremely friendly, knowledgeable and assuring.
The dives were well organised, the equipment was set up, easy to use, and clean.
The whole day ran very smooth, the lunch, morning and afternoon teas were yummy and plentiful.
I will definately recommend them and definitely return to do more dives with them

Visited March 2015
Helpful?
Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canadá
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2015

We enjoyed A LOT. The crew, the weather, the reef.... it´s something everyone should do at least one time. Amazing!

Visited March 2015
Helpful?
Thank AsViagens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great dive experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2015

i went on a dive tour with the great adventures tour company and was unimpressed with the staff and the food provided. however, the beauty of the reef made me want to try and different company so i could snorkel at a new locations and see more of this wonderful natural phenomenon the great barrier reef. i went on a tusa dive tour and was extremely impressed with the tusa dive crew. they were all light hearted and created a marvellous atmosphere on the boat but at the same time gave you lots of information and help throughout the day and during our tour there was a miscommunication with some divers who were late and seeing the way the crew reacted so fast and efficiently to the chance of something having gone wrong was impressive. the locations which they took us on the tour were brilliant and they provided guided snorkel tours with instructors for people who were not confident at snorkelling and assisted everyone with their gear and all in all was one of the great trips of my life so glad the previous one didn't put me off!!!

Visited March 2015
Helpful?
Thank 522sam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed TUSA Dive also viewed

 

Been to TUSA Dive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing