We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Accomodation for Girls Week!”
Review of Mantra Trilogy

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mantra Trilogy
Ranked #24 of 63 Hotels in Cairns
Reviewed 21 July 2012

Girlfriends and I stayed here last week in a 2 bedroom apartment (we paid for city views - but had gorgeous views of the water). The location of this hotel is amazing! Everything is incredibly close. The downsides I have for this hotel are: I think they could provide more things such as we called up to see if they provided Ice, and we were told to buy our own. For a hotel with such a high rating I was expecting them to provide a few little extra things like that. No internet provided without paying extra even though on the website it does say there is wireless internet. Also for a apartment that said it could sleep 5/6 people it seemed to only have enough plates bowls and even chairs for 4 people. There is only a small table and two chairs on a balcony, so you have to take out dining chairs with you.
The reception service was amazing too. A lovely apartment, I would stay here again!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Danielle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CLMT, Manager at Mantra Trilogy, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2012

Dear DanielleB,

thank you so much for your posting. We really appreciate your comments and certainly will take your recommendations on board.

We are looking forward to your return.

Kind regards,

Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,955)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,722 - 1,726 of 1,955 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2012

Like other reviews of the hotel we found the apartments well located and central to Cairns. The rooms/apartmnet had a musty smell but if put the fans on you can't smell it. The fact that it was not serviced daily wanot a problem as you could as at reception for additional supplies if needed. The only uggestions for improvemnet are: more lounges and chairs in the pool area would be great, adviisng guests that pool towels are available from reception would be good. In relation to the apartmnets could you consider having crockery that accommodates 6 persons. Other than these suggestion I thought the hotel was fine.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rykony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CLMT, Manager at Mantra Trilogy, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2012

Dear rykony,

Thank you so much for your comments.

Investigations found that small build up of moisture in the towers ventilation system can be a cause for the musty smell. Some new products are being tested at present to combat this issue. This also includes a temperature standard for all our units as we have found moisture build up on the carpets due to the fact that the air conditioner in the unit below was set to a lower temperature.

Trilogy is in the process of replacing the pool furniture and is awaiting approval of the final quote.

I have also taken your feedback in regards to the advise staff is giving guests on check in and trust that all guests are now properly informed.

Thank you again for your review. It is pleasing to read that you found our service and facilities to be exceptional.
Our team works hard every day to present a clean and comfortable property for our guests.

Respectfully,

Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2012

We booked the Mantra Trilogy online, going mainly on it's position in the Cairns CBD. 

These apartments are very well positioned on The Esplanade in Cairns with easy walking access to all attractions in the CBD including the Esplanade pool, Casino, wharf area and a multitude of restaurants.

They have very good security, a good pool area and gym, underground parking and pleasant gardens and lawn areas.

However, our unit was a bit "tired". Stained and fraying carpet, a shower screen that wouldn't close, inconsistent hot water, a clothes dryer that was too noisy to use, two (good) TV's with one remote control, a safe that we couldn't open, and poor drainage that resulted in a floor covered in soap suds each time the washing machine was used were a few of our small problems.
In addition the kitchen cupboards had a mouldy smell that permeated the crockery, requiring rinsing of items before use.

We were promised one room clean during our 10 day stay, with an option of paying extra for more if required. Unfortunately we didn't have our room cleaned  once, but the staff on the front desk were more than happy to supply us with towels and toilet paper when requested.

The room was basically quiet, although there seemed to be a garbage truck reversing and loading outside just after 6.00am every morning.

All in all a great location, but our room needed a makeover, and I wouldn't recommend a friend to stay at the price charged-$1858.00 for 10 nights 

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank vicNtony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CLMT, Manager at Mantra Trilogy, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2012

Dear vicNtony,

Thank you for taking the time and reviewing our property.
I would have liked to search our records but your review provides too little detail to go by. As mentioned in a previous response I would have like the chance to discuss your experience personally whilst you were still staying with us and provided you with some solutions to your comments.
Most of our rooms in Tower 1 have been replaced with new and only a handful of rooms remain to be done. Any of the mentioned maintenance issues could have been rectified right there and then. I am however concerned about your comments in regards to the washing machine drainage. As with all washing machines the drainage flows out via a gray hose that is placed directly into the sinks drain. Having it flood the bathroom floor strongly suggests that the hose has been removed from its position or the washing machine has a leak.
Again it would have been helpful to receive such feedback during your stay and we could have addressed it right away. It is also very disappointing that you mention you have not received your midstay clean. My sincere apologies and trust that I will discuss this feedback with the Department Head immediately but without the room number or the correct name we won’t be able to find the cause on how it was missed in the first place.

You can see from my response that I really would appreciate more detail in regards to your comments and invite you to contact us directly to discuss it further.

Again I thank you for your comments and hope that we can welcome you back to Cairns in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Expect budget quality service and room.
Hot water scarce
Sofa broken
Minimal tea and coffee
Old bed
Bonus if the lifts work!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Actualeyez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 12 July 2012

Dear Actualeyez,

I really would have liked to have the chance to discuss your feedback during your stay. Most of our lounges and beds have been replaced with new and only a handful of rooms remain to be done. I would have gladly taken your comments during your time with us and possibly provided you with a solution rather than you leaving Mantra Trilogy disappointed. I have checked all our maintenance records and there were no hot water issues since beginning of June. We acknowledge that due to the number of floors in the complex the hot water can take longer than in the average house to arrive at the faucet. The lifts, as mentioned previously, are all fully back in operation.
Please also note that any amenities are available at Reception free of charge. A suitable supply of Tea and Coffee could have been provided from Reception at any time.
I invite you to contact me directly to discuss your comments in more detail.
Respectfully,
Mantra Trilogy – Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Stayed at the Mantra Trilogy for 7 nights in early July and it was awesome. Had a three bedroom ocean view apartment with everything we needed - most importantly ocean views from the balcony of each bedroom - staff were really helpful

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 10 July 2012

Dear Andrew,
Thank you so much for your encouraging review. Our staff is working tirelessly to provide all our guests with up to date information.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back some time.
Kind regards,
Mantra Trilogy – Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.2 km away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
0.2 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.8 km away
Park Regis City Quays
Park Regis City Quays
#17 of 63 in Cairns
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.5 km away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#11 of 63 in Cairns
1,152 reviews
1.5 km away
Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Trilogy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Trilogy

Address: 101 - 105 The Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Cairns
#17 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
Price Range: $120 - $292 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra Trilogy 4.5*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra Trilogy is ideally located above the Cairns Esplanade within walking distance to some of Cairns best restaurants, the Reef Casino, Cairns Central Shopping Mall and the newly developed Cairns Lagoon. Offering open plan designed hotel rooms to spacious self-contained one, two and three-bedroom apartments all have private balconies with views over the pool, surrounding mountains or ocean. Apartments offer the added convenience of fully-equipped kitchens and laundry facilities. Onsite guests can spend a lazy afternoon on the pool deck overlooking the ocean, cook up a barbeque on the resort lawns or enjoy an invigorating workout in the gymnasium. From the property you can stroll the length of the Esplanade, to include al fresco dining, parklands, BBQ areas and the Cairns Lagoon. Overlooking Trinity Bay and the parkland of Cairns Esplanade, Mantra Trilogy's premier location provides the perfect base to explore the markets, shopping, night life and restaurants of Cairns. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Mantra, Booking.com, Wotif.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Mantra Trilogy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Trilogy Hotel Cairns
Mantra Trilogy Cairns, Queensland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing