We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrid fittings and finishes and dirty”
Review of Mantra Trilogy

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mantra Trilogy
Ranked #25 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Horrid fittings and finishes and dirty”
Reviewed 4 June 2012

Location is ok we were very dissapointed with the paper thin walls. You could hear surrounding apartments flush toilets, shower and tv sets blaring. Everytime someone opened a door the room practically shuddered. Carpet worn and stained dishwasher dirty and we found at least 10 hairs stuck to bathroom floor YUK. The pool area is nice but you can do better than choosing the mantra trilogy

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank chilifan m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Mantra Trilogy, responded to this review, 10 July 2012
Dear chilifan m,

thank you for your review.
It is disappointing to read that your stay failed to meet both your expectations of the Resort
and our goal of achieving a level of excellence in accommodation and service.

Your observations about the overall presentation and the cleanliness of the rooms have been brought to the attention of the Executive Housekeeper. I would be interested if you have approached our Reception Desk at any time during you stay and advise of your findings. We would have been more that happy to move rooms or send Housekeeping into the unit again to rectify if a move was not possible.

Please don't hesitate to contact me directly if you wish to discuss your feedback further.

Kind regards,
Mantra Trilogy – Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,620 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    340
    597
    338
    201
    144
See reviews for
463
557
78
308
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Carnarvon, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

I book this holiday on a package deal....hope that the hotel in Cairns would be nice well it exceeded all my hopes it was fantastic..close to every thing with meals provided on the water front a different one most nights and Breaky was great... all provided the room was fantastic well not really a room but a self contained appartment. The staff were great.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janCarnarvonwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012 via mobile

Ideal location.
Wonderful views.
Pleasant staff.
My wife and I stayed at the Mantra Trilogy for 2 nights during May 2012. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, having good walking access to the city and the view of the esplanade was wonderful.

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JohnDurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Polokwane, South Africa
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2012

We LOVED the Mantra Trilogy! We stayed in the newly renovated Tower II (on this main photo of the place). We had rooms 1/2 on the 7th floor. HUGE rooms and lots of space, SMEG appliances (which I think is crazy for a let out place but I sure wasn't complaining!), washer, dryer which was so convenient and a TV in each room, so we didn't have to be subjected to SpongeBob Squarepants. When you walk out the front door, you have a convenient store and bottle store, an icecream parlour and restaurants literally centimetres away.

They store your luggage for you and also booked our taxi to the airport. I was absolutely impressed with this place and I do think it's worth the money.

Room Tip: We stayed in rooms 1/2 on Floor 7 in Tower II. SUPERB!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeannettemarais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2012

The best feature of the Mantra Trilogy Resort is the location alone. When a property is marketed as a 'resort' this suggests extra features on site such as a Beauty Spa, inhouse bar/resturant, room service, pool side catering to name a few - these facilities do not exist at the Mantra Trilogy. However, there are a wide range of resturants & bars avaliable nearby.

On arrival the front desk staff are polite and helpful, the foyer clean and well presented which is representative of the advertised website.

We were allocated, as requested an ocean view, 2 bedroom unit.

The furnishings throughout were very poorly appointed and presented. The lounge was at best 3 star standard - 1 VERY uncomfortable 2 seater lounge & 2 armchairs. Minimal crockery, cutlery and utensiles supplied for what is advertised as a 'self contained' unit. The metal stands of the floor lamps in the lounge area were pitted and rusted. NOT a good impression!! No attention to style or quality throughout this particular unit (Unit 1, 8th floor, Tower 2).

The main bedroom was also VERY poor quality; the bed actually collapsed and had to be temporarily fixed by onsite maintenance. On inspection of the bed, it was found that the bed had had a previous temporary fix as it had obviosly collapsed before! The bedhead had a padded vinyl roll style and has deteriorated with the weather and was flaking of onto our head while in bed! YUCK!

The second bedroom shower leaked across the bathroom floor; the bed, being on a tile floor scooted around the room with minimal movement on the bed!

Better quality towels would be a bonus - no one likes thin towels!

I'm aware that a number of the units are privately owend and only managed by Mantra, however, you would expect more value from a Mantra property for the cost of a 9 night stay @ $2,590. Given the images on the website depicting the overall quality, it was disappointing to have had this experiance.

Location on Esplanade can be very noisy from passing revellers and resturants below!

Ocean view is not really 'ocean view' if like me you consider the ocean to be rolling waves and enjoy the sounds of the ocean in the evening, you'll be terribly dissappointed - it's really just a tidal open Bay.

I would not recomend the Mantra Trilogy at Cairns, and as I intend to return to Cairns in October this year I will be choosing alternative accomodation such as Rydges or Novotel - AFTER I double check Trip Advisor for reviews!!

Room Tip: Enquire if unit is privately owned and if able view prior. Request to be situated overlooking the p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Elizabeth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cairns hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.2 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.5 km away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#10 of 64 in Cairns
1,080 reviews
0.2 km away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Pacific Hotel Cairns
Pacific Hotel Cairns
#7 of 64 in Cairns
491 reviews
0.1 km away
Cairns Aquarius
Cairns Aquarius
#27 of 64 in Cairns
218 reviews
0.8 km away
Park Regis City Quays
Park Regis City Quays
#16 of 64 in Cairns
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Trilogy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Trilogy

Property: Mantra Trilogy
Address: 101 - 105 The Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Cairns
#17 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
Price range (per night): $135 - $313
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra Trilogy 4.5*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra Trilogy is ideally located above the Cairns Esplanade within walking distance to some of Cairns best restaurants, the Reef Casino, Cairns Central Shopping Mall and the newly developed Cairns Lagoon. Offering open plan designed hotel rooms to spacious self-contained one, two and three-bedroom apartments all have cable TV, private balconies with views over the pool, surrounding mountains or ocean. Apartments offer the added convenience of fully-equipped kitchens and laundry facilities. Onsite guests can spend a lazy afternoon on the pool deck overlooking the ocean, cook up a barbeque on the resort lawns or enjoy an invigorating workout in the gymnasium. From the property you can stroll the length of the Esplanade, an area which has recently undergone a major re-development to include al fresco dining, parklands, BBQ areas and the Cairns Lagoon, a massive patrolled water-park that attracts both tourists and locals alike. Overlooking Trinity Bay and the parkland of Cairns Esplanade, Mantra Trilogy's premier location provides the perfect base to explore the markets, shopping, night life and restaurants of Cairns. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Odigeo, lastminute.com.au, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotelopia so you can book your Mantra Trilogy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Trilogy Hotel Cairns
Mantra Trilogy Cairns, Queensland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing