We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Legend!”

iyara by Sakare Thai cuisine
Ranked #51 of 766 Restaurants in Cairns
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 29 February 2020 via mobile

Best place I’ve been so far in Cairns! Excellent service, meal and whine menu. Would 100% recommend it for any occasion, we had a wonderful night

Date of visit: February 2020
Thank MaxDucn
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (434)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

78 - 82 of 434 reviews

Reviewed 17 January 2020

Unfortunately all three dishes we ordered were too sweet. The view above the esplanade is nice and it is recommended to get away from all the foot traffic below on the street level. Decor was untidy, with linens piled up to the side of the entrance and ambience was off with Christmas music being played in January.

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ShawnM1711
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 January 2020

We were first time visitors to this restaurant and once seated on the deck upstairs we ordered our drinks - I had a Pina Colada which was presented in a pineapple jar and hubby settled for a reisling. The menu was extensive, and after careful consideration we chose seared sea scallops and sate chicken sticks for entree, followed by a whole deep fried barramundi and a chicken dish for mains (both accompanied with coconut rice and a roti). The food really was delicious and with a second round of drinks came to $170 (not cheap by a long shot but worth it for the quality). The restaurant entry is up a flight of stairs so it may deter people with a mobility impediment. Definitely worth a visit when in Cairns.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank Mrs A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 January 2020

Came with my family in a group of 8 on a Saturday night.

Starting with the positives the food was great - very tasty and not too spicy. The restaurant itself had a nice ambience and the outdoor deck was large enough to accomodate our large group. The staff were friendly. It's located on the esplanade and has a nice view of same and the people below.

In terms of the negatives - service was terrible. Despite the restaurant being full on a typical busy Saturday night there seemed to only be 2 waiters and one didn't speak English and so was unable to take food/drink orders. We waited about 1.5 hours for our mains. We had to flag down the waiter 2x for cutlery. Drink orders not taken at the same time and took a while to come out. When the food came out it was clear a mistake was made and the pad see ews ended up being pad Thai's - so they returned to the kitchen and those 2 that had ordered it had to watch awkwardly as everyone else ate their meals. They forgot the rotti bread as well so it came out after everyone had finished their meals, which was pointless as there was no sauce anymore to mop it up. The pricing here is also a bit high, but that can be expected for all restaurants along the esplanade.

Overall a mixed experience.

Date of visit: December 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank RowanH336
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 January 2020 via mobile

We booked a table for New Year’s Eve which overlooked the esplanade. There was a set menu which provided heaps of choice and there was a modified menu for our kids. The food was amazing! Unfortunately, we’re we’re asked to leave sooner than expected which put a dint on our experience. We paid $240, so not so happy that we’re we’re asked to move things along.

Date of visit: January 2020
1  Thank Ovens3738
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed iyara by Sakare Thai cuisine also viewed

Cairns, Cairns Region
Cairns, Cairns Region
 
Cairns, Cairns Region
 

Been to iyara by Sakare Thai cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.