We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Five stars for the food”

iyara by Sakare Thai cuisine
Ranked #49 of 766 Restaurants in Cairns
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 10 February 2018 via mobile

We went there with our kids, but there were no options for children on the menu. However, they both absolutely loved the gai satay from the starters. We had the pad thai goong and the gai takrai and both dishes were wonderful - both with a modern twist. Best thaifood in a long time.

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank Dorte S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (429)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

163 - 167 of 429 reviews

Reviewed 27 January 2018

We went for dinner there and made a booking. Even though we turned up nearly an hour late they held us our spot at the front of their 1st floor veranda with view over the Esplanade which we didn't expected and was a nice surprise.
The service was efficient and very attentive. We also got asked if this is our first visit which it was so she explained us the dishes we ordered a bit more.
We ordered a mixed platter for entree. Presentation was a wow factor and the taste didn't disappoint either.
As main courses we had lamb cutlets and barramundi. Lamb cutlets were melting in our mouth, and the spices and sauce just complemented it perfectly. The barramundi fried pieces didn't disappoint either, especially the presentation with the battered and fried fish skeleton on the plate looked just amazing.
As you can see we are just in awe and definitely be back because we think we just found our favourite in Cairns!

Date of visit: January 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Carigy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 January 2018 via mobile

My initial impressions weren't good. The place is a little run down and the backpacker wait staff knew nothing of the menu. Speaking of the menu, it was dog-eared and crumpled.

There weren't many dishes that looked appealing to me but two stood out. That's OK, I only wanted one meal.

I chose a noodle curry. It was fantastic! Crispy noodles on the top with soft noodles in the sauce. Really enjoyed the food.

It was expensive for a Thai meal, so for the money the run down nature of the place isn't really good enough. But the food was so good it's still worth 4 stars to me.

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank FNQld
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 January 2018 via mobile

Has been long timw between visits. Food was great however service pretty average. Bottles hitting tops of glasses, no refilling of water, no followup for another beverage, reaching across me to collect empty glass. Bit disappointed after numerous visits previously (at least 1-2yrs ago) when service was amazing

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank slikky01
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 January 2018

They did a fixed price menu for NYE it was fabulous, everything was delicious. The curry puffs with peanut sauce, the soft shelled crab, the betel leaf with prawn.The mains and dessert I couldn't fault anything. This is the first time I have been and I will certainly go back. Really good Thai food.

Date of visit: December 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mollymoo_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed iyara by Sakare Thai cuisine also viewed

Cairns, Cairns Region
Cairns, Cairns Region
 
Cairns, Cairns Region
 

Been to iyara by Sakare Thai cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of in . If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.