We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“A Must Do in Cairns” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kuranda Scenic Railway

Kuranda Scenic Railway
Book In Advance
More Info
USD 136.75*
and up
Kuranda Day Trip from Cairns by Scenic Railway and Skyrail Including Army Duck...
Ranked #7 of 116 things to do in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Kuranda Scenic Railway is the original scenic rail journey to Kuranda. This spectacular experience travels over bridges and through tunnels hand-made by North Queensland's pioneers over 100 years ago. Traversing the World Heritage listed rainforest of the Barron Gorge National Park, this is one of the world's great railway journeys.
Caloundra, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A Must Do in Cairns”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Combined with Skyrail, its a perfect day's outing. A opportunity to appreciate lush rainforest in a different perspective. Even better if you go Gold class. Its a Cairns must-do.

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
Thank bungaseribu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QueenslandRailTravel, Customer Service - Queensland Rail Travel at Kuranda Scenic Railway, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. It's certainly a one of a kind experience - a vintage train travel experience through Heritage-listed forest. We hope you were able to take many photos to remember your trip.

Enjoy the rest of your journey!

Thank you,
Customer Service - Queensland Rail Travel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,589 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,439
    828
    227
    70
    25
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Greater Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing day trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a fantastic day trip to Kuranda with stops on the way, taking in the Barron falls and an overview of the scenery before arriving at Kuranda railway station. The station itself is worth the trip absolutely beautiful, the town shops, markets and zoo will occupy the time spent here.

Visited September 2016
Helpful?
Thank 708noelc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QueenslandRailTravel, Customer Service - Queensland Rail Travel at Kuranda Scenic Railway, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for sharing your experience - it certainly sounds as though you made the most of this one-of-a-kind day out!

We hope you're heading home with some great memories.

Thank you,
Customer Service - Queensland Rail Travel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
54 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Truly incredible ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

A slow and tranquil tide through an amazing environment! Very interesting commentary and a lot to see! A must do

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
Thank Roz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QueenslandRailTravel, Customer Service - Queensland Rail Travel at Kuranda Scenic Railway, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for sharing your feedback Ros, we're so glad you enjoyed your journey! There's certainly a lot to absorb on this charming historical trip and it sounds as though you made the most of it.

We hope your enjoy the rest of your time here!

Thank you,
Customer Service - Queensland Rail Travel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Great train ride, nice destination and super return on the sky rail.

We did the train up and sky rail back with transports back to our car at the train station by bus. The train ride is very comfortable with some great expansive and waterfall views along the way. We did the jungle walk which was good except for the river portion that was VERY muddy - SKIP that part!.

The town has lots of shops and restaurants - very touristy, but I knew that was coming and was in the right frame of mind to enjoy.

The cable car back is wonderful with great tree top views.

Two issues to be aware of:

1) The cable car and train are two different companies and if you book with a bus company, that's a third. They all know the schedule and routine for the day, but they Each play dumb about the others and in one case made a snide comment before answering a simple question.

2) The bus back to your car at the train station from the sky rail only runs infrequently. Know the times or you could spend up to an hour waiting to catch a ride back to your car once you reach the bottom. Also, they don't offer an option to leave your car at the sky rail and take bus in the morning so you can leave as soon as you get down.

All in all a great day, just do a little planning on the logistics and make sure the transportation to and from works well with your day.

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
Thank BethanyJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QueenslandRailTravel, Customer Service - Queensland Rail Travel at Kuranda Scenic Railway, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Hi Bethany,

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide such detailed feedback and tips for your fellow travellers. We're so glad you were able to enjoy the beautiful Heritage-listed scenery... despite the mud ;) We'll be sure to share your feedback with the Customer Feedback Team - we hope the comment didn't dampen your mood at all.

Here's hoping you went home with some one-of-a-kind memories and we'd love to see you back any time.

Thank you,
Customer Service - Queensland Rail Travel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
57 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Kuranda Scenic Railway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The Railway Trip is well worth it if you visit Cairns. I was picked up and driven to the station, driver was great. The station has a good shop and a small Museum which is nice to look around. The Trains and carriages were very nice, no aircon or fans so a little hot though. The Scenery on the trip is amazing start to Finish. You stop at a waterfall which is huge and an awesome thing to see. The Station is Kuranda is lovely, looks of flowers, very pretty to walk around.

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
Thank Graham W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QueenslandRailTravel, Customer Service - Queensland Rail Travel at Kuranda Scenic Railway, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Hi Graham,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. Thank you for bearing with the heat - it certainly is a unique vintage train experience! We hope you were able to enjoy the complimentary refresher towel!

It's absolutely a unique and lush part of the world - we're glad you loved it as much as we do! We hope you enjoy the rest of your trip!

Thank you,
Customer Service - Queensland Rail Travel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kuranda Scenic Railway also viewed

 

Been to Kuranda Scenic Railway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing