We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Kuranda including Skyrail and Kuranda Scenic Railway
393

Book in advance
from
AU$309.00
per adult
Check availabilityView full product details
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Ways to Experience Kuranda Scenic Railway
from AU$309.00
More Info
from AU$814.97
More Info
from AU$1,331.97
More Info
from AU$214.15
More Info
Reviews (4,898)
Filter reviews
4,898 results
Traveller rating
2,830
1,456
428
127
57
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
2,830
1,456
428
127
57
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sky rail barron falls cable car freshwater station train trip great train ride window seat caught the train cairns station photo opportunities beautiful scenery take photos butterfly sanctuary informative commentary great trip day trip visiting cairns
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2,396 - 2,401 of 4,898 reviews
Reviewed 11 September 2016 via mobile

We thoroughly enjoyed our trip on the Kuranda Scenic Railway. We boarded Gold Class in Cairns, and enjoyed beverages and light snacks as we made our way to Kuranda (~2 hours). En route, you pass waterfalls and deep gorges while the train staff narrate how difficult it was to build this railway in the late 1800s on the side of a forested mountain. Gold Class was especially nice as it was not at all crowded (regular class looked crowded) which meant more room to stretch out, and easy to go from one side of the train to the other to see the sights and take pictures.

Date of experience: September 2016
Thank ohCda99
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 September 2016

A great ride from Cairns or Freshwater station - taking in some great views of the harbour and out to Green Island as well as the mountains waterfalls and the gorge.

There a is a good commentary in the train - that doesn't go on too much and the trip gives you reasonable time to take photos.

Date of experience: August 2016
Thank Laurie2904
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 September 2016 via mobile

We took the Gold Class cabin to Kuranda. It was a very quiet and scenic ride. I don't think the extra money to ride in Gold Class was worth it for the tea, coffee and snacks. The experience wasn't there for us.

Date of experience: September 2016
Thank lahlahC77
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 September 2016 via mobile

Nice relaxing trip, very informative with the in train commentary, some spectacular views and a good rest stop at a station on the way up

Date of experience: September 2016
Thank Stephen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 September 2016 via mobile

Very enjoyable day. Lovely scenery - rainforest, waterfalls, gorges all from above. We did the late start so it was the skyrail up and scenic train back. There are lots of touristy type markets up top in Kuranda - we didn't spend much time there. We did go to the butterfly farm and that was interesting.

Date of experience: September 2016
Thank marayongboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews