We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Kuranda including Skyrail and Kuranda Scenic Railway
390

Book in advance
from
AU$309.00
per adult
Check availabilityView full product details
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Ways to Experience Kuranda Scenic Railway
from AU$309.00
More Info
from AU$814.97
More Info
from AU$1,331.97
More Info
from AU$214.15
More Info
Reviews (4,898)
Filter reviews
4,898 results
Traveller rating
2,830
1,456
428
127
57
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
2,830
1,456
428
127
57
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sky rail barron falls cable car freshwater station train trip great train ride window seat caught the train cairns station photo opportunities beautiful scenery take photos butterfly sanctuary informative commentary great trip day trip visiting cairns
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2,405 - 2,410 of 4,898 reviews
Reviewed 7 September 2016 via mobile

Forget the cost, you have to travel up to Kuranda on the scenic railway and back on the Skyrail.

The train is slow but the scenery is great and the view of the Barron Falls is great.

Water was not flowing very quickly when we were there, but can imagine it would be good after rains.

Plenty to do in Kuranda when you get there.

Date of experience: September 2016
Thank Richo12
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 September 2016 via mobile

Day well spend. Scenic travel on Skyrail and return by train. Good value for money.
Old man selling ice cream from his caravan. Homemade awesome creamy. Give it a try

Date of experience: September 2016
Thank Irene K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 September 2016

We travelled by train up to Kuranda, and by Skyrail on the way back down. The train trip was great - spectacular scenery and a beautiful train. We upgraded to Gold Class, and would recommend doing so if your budget allows. As soon as we sat in our seats, we knew it was money very well spent. The seats were very comfortable and ensured everyone had an excellent view, and service, food and drinks were great. We heard people in the standard carriages complain that they were unable to see the view and were uncomfortable on the wooden benches.

The Skyrail back was great too, although there was a long queue to board. Coming back to Cairns via the Skyrail gives you a great sense of just how big the rainforest area is, and also gives you spectacular views of the coast.

The worst part of the day was Kuranda itself. We did not like the town at all - full of tacky souvenirs. We found the time there best spent doing the boat trip and walking through the rainforest rather than being in the town itself.

Date of experience: August 2016
1  Thank Sarah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 September 2016 via mobile

A really pleasant way to spend a day - travelling to Kuranda on the railway and back on the cable car. We tried to upgrade to Gold Class on the train but were told it needed to be done at the time of booking (which is contrary to what the agent told us) but did upgrade to Diamond View on the cable car which was well worth it.

Date of experience: September 2016
Thank misslinda-t
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 September 2016

OMG>>> What should I start with, the complete train ride is sooooo boring not worth a penny, literally half the guys on board were dozing off to sleep. And its pretty expensive on the pocket. Not worth at all. Waste of time and money.
The train is in a good condition but the route is so long and so boring. Not Scenic at all.
If your from India dont board this train we have many many more Scenic places that we have seen,
Well the skyrail ride is okay i.e if you havent sat in any before..
Dont take this as an adventure tour or a family tour too its just boring.

Date of experience: May 2016
1  Thank Farhad B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews