We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
3-Day Best of Cairns Combo: The Daintree Rainforest, Great Barrier Reef, and Kuranda
25

Check availabilityView full product details
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Ways to Experience Kuranda Scenic Railway
Reviews (4,904)
Filter reviews
4,904 results
Traveller rating
2,835
1,457
428
127
57
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
2,835
1,457
428
127
57
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sky rail barron falls cable car freshwater station train trip great train ride window seat caught the train cairns station photo opportunities beautiful scenery take photos butterfly sanctuary informative commentary great trip day trip visiting cairns
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2,424 - 2,429 of 4,904 reviews
Reviewed 4 September 2016 via mobile

Take a Cable Car up to Kuranda stopping twice during the journey to walk around with a guide into the rain forest then arriving at Kuranda to explore the quaint village with many gift shops and cafes before travelling on the historic train back down again enjoying the magnificent falls and views to the sea. The train stops at Freshwater for those who wish to take the bus (included in the ticket) back to where the trip starts at the Cable Car entrance or for those wishes to go to Cairns the train continues on.

Date of experience: September 2016
Thank SydneyJedda
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 September 2016 via mobile

Kids really enjoyed it and lots to see on the way down, adults loved the history and information they tell you along the way.
They make one stop so you can get off and look at the waterfall and gorge.

Date of experience: September 2016
Thank courts4383
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 September 2016 via mobile

Well worth the money, staff super friendly, lovely experience, could not fault it. Fantastic time. The view is amazing and the history is very interesting. Highly recommend

Date of experience: September 2016
Thank Bellakeetah
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 September 2016 via mobile

Nicely paced journey....stops to view the magnificent valley. Little train station is beautiful. Especially the riverfront walk behind the railway station is a must do....spend some time there before boarding the train....sit by the lawns tithe benches looking at the serenity of the rainforest. Tickets bit expensive but that's expected....Ascend using the gondola n take the train back.

Date of experience: November 2015
Thank Sequestrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 September 2016 via mobile

Catch this train from Cairns to Kuranda and learn the history of the construction of the line. The scenery is just divine and the commentary lets you know of significant photo opportunities including waterfalls and capturing the train itself. The carriages are just gorgeous with pressed metal ceilings and timber features. Definitely a worthy trip whether you are a train buff or not.

Date of experience: August 2016
Thank Roslyn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews