We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean and Friendly”
Review of Hides Hotel Cairns

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hides Hotel Cairns
Ranked #58 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Clean and Friendly”
Reviewed 16 May 2012

We had a great stay at the Hides hotel. It was nothing fancy but the bedroom and bathrooms were very clean. I was surprised on how comfortable the bed was. I had a lot of questions and the receptionists were very friendly and helpful. The hallways of the hotel were dim and hot but I wasn't planning on sleeping in the hallways. The hotel is located in the middle of a shopping center so there was a lot of places to eat and visit. Overall, I'm not sure why others wrote a bad review because it was an excellent value for a budget hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angeline K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    115
    111
    51
    33
See reviews for
47
128
73
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 6 May 2012

She's been around for a while but has real vintage Cairns character.
Must've been a beauty in her younger days.
Worth staying for the night just too get a feel for the old times
I recommend the Eggs Benedict at the Hotel's cafe - best I've ever had with the salmon

Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Stan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2012

Very convinient location...perfect for beach, tours, shopping, bars and eateries. Dont expect fancy frills for this price. Clean spacious rooms. Decent bath rooms. Basic breakfast of toast, cereals and spreads. I would surely stay there again if i went there

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jayanthiJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Big Falls
Level Contributor
45 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2012

Do your research. Knowing nothing about the area, we paid too much. If you don't like your assigned room, ask for a different one. I think they have quite an assortment. It is a huge old building with very long hallways. The staff was friendly enough. You can eat free breakfast (very basic) on the large verandah. Located in the center of town, walk to most anything. I would not classify it as being "close to the airport". I prefer a nicer motel and would not chose this one again.

Room Tip: Small rooms off the veranda could be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank caperata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cairns hotels

Adelaide
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

GET ME OUT OF HERE!!!!!!! I think I have diseases. Have had literally zero sleep. My girlfriend and I are itchy, restless and for some reason frightened.

Do not stay here.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.4 km away
Koala Beach Resort
Koala Beach Resort
#62 of 64 in Cairns
3.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
0.7 km away
Coral Tree Inn
Coral Tree Inn
#19 of 64 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
1.2 km away
Cairns Queens Court
Cairns Queens Court
#25 of 64 in Cairns
3.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Balinese Motel
Balinese Motel
#36 of 64 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
0.5 km away
Ibis Styles Cairns
Ibis Styles Cairns
#16 of 64 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 745 reviews
0.4 km away
Park Regis City Quays
Park Regis City Quays
#15 of 64 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hides Hotel Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hides Hotel Cairns

Property: Hides Hotel Cairns
Address: 87 Lake St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Price range (per night): $69 - $130
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hides Hotel Cairns 3.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hides Hotel Cairns offers affordable accommodation right in the heart of Cairns. It is surrounded by restaurants, pubs and shops and is only a short walk to the Casino, Reef Fleet Terminal, Esplanade Lagoon Pool, Cairns Central Shopping Centre and Kuranda Railway Station. With the convenience of public transport 100 metres from reception and a tour desk to book all your tours that will collect you from our Hotel, you will be able to enjoy the Great Barrier Reef, Daintree Rainforest, Kuranda Village and all of what Tropical North Queensland has to offer. Hides Hotel Cairns is a preferred and recommended leisure property for the tourist, corporate, family and large groups visiting Tropical North Queensland. It offers both the comfort and convenience of a modern, large and comfortable hotel or the nostalgic charm and grace of budget heritage rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Agoda, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Hides Hotel Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Crocodile Hides
Hides Hotel Cairns Queensland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing