We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No thanks”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bay Village Tropical Retreat
Ranked #27 of 63 Hotels in Cairns
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Booked a family apartment, but the pictures on the web were completely different. It was a small room cramped with 3 beds, no sink or hot plate or even a toaster.
Tiny bathroom, standing room for 1 only.
When we questioned the room we were told they were full so there was nothing they could do.
Fire escape (signed on the back of the doors) was padlocked shut, I raised this to the staff and was told it’s ok, we’ll come and get you in an emergency! No thanks!
Some of the rooms looked better toward the front of the hotel, but good luck getting one!

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank 74Logan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (536)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 536 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Great place. Relaxed atmosphere. Tropical gardens, some in fruit Balinese style even the resturant is Balinese crusine. Rooms are very well priced. Close to the city and beach. Plus the staff are very professional and nice. Highly recommend.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled solo
Thank Damien S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2017

Recently spent 5 nights at the Bay Village room 113. We were greeted by a welcoming
Member of staff who was very informative, nothing was not too much trouble. We witnessed him conversing in a few languages and he was very patient with quests checking in.
We had one of the rooms by the small pool which was lovely and warm. I can’t comment on the accommodation that was housed in another building. Our room had a large double and a single bed which was very comfortable with soft cotton sheets. There was a kitchen area with a microwave and fridge. The shower was powerful and there was a hairdryer fitted on the wall. We upgraded our breakfast, which was cooked to your preference with plenty of choice. The breakfast was delicious and plentiful, a must to start the day.
Between 5.30 and 6.30 there was a “Happy Hour” which was good value.
Our room was cleaned to a high standard every morning with fresh towels if required.
The promenade was five minutes away and was very pleasant, the Australians certainly cater for families and Children in a big way. We took advantage of the man made lagoon for a swim as the sea unfortunately has a lot of Jelly Fish this time of the year. Cairns was very hot and humid for our five day break before we flew to Brisbane for the First test of the Cricket.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 113 right by the pool/small bar and restaurant. Internet was a little bit Tempera...
See more room tips
Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Mermaids211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2017

Room was average. Swimming pool was very good with sufficient timing. Restaurant was used only for breakfast. It is excellent. Service was average but front desk was co-operative. Equipment provided in the room were working.

Room Tip: Try to get rooms on front side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank limayeji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2017 via mobile

Stayed a week in an one-bedroom suite and enjoyed the convenience of the location opposite the hospital and within walking distance to the waterfront and downtown. The suite was self-contained and on site was a guest laundry (coin-operated drier and washer, free use of iron/ironing board) as well as a nice award-winning restaurant.

Kitchen/dining/lounge was small but adequate for a solo traveller or a couple. There was housekeeping daily and so was tidy and clean.

The surrounds were mostly quiet even when my room was near the after-hour gate and carpark. Unfortunately there was a constant humming noise from the air-con split system out the window of my en suite bathroom. There were aircon and ceiling fan in both the bedroom and the living/dining areas.

All in all this is an economical place to stay for work and if not staying here, the restaurant is still worth a visit.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
Thank jkl615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.8 km away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 63 in Cairns
627 reviews
0.4 km away
Cairns Queenslander Hotel and Apartments
0.6 km away
Cascade Gardens
Cascade Gardens
#19 of 63 in Cairns
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Cairns Sheridan Hotel
Cairns Sheridan Hotel
#20 of 63 in Cairns
359 reviews
0.5 km away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#12 of 63 in Cairns
1,163 reviews
0.3 km away
Cairns Queens Court
Cairns Queens Court
#26 of 63 in Cairns
522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Village Tropical Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Village Tropical Retreat

Address: Cnr Lake & Gatton Sts, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 63 Hotels in Cairns
Price Range: $109 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bay Village Tropical Retreat 3.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A boutique style hotel with a Balinese theme, nestled amongst lush tropical gardens. Centrally located with a short stroll to the Cairns esplanade. Guests will experience warm hospitality, with personal, friendly and attentive service. An onsite award winning licensed Balinese restaurant offering authentic Balinese cuisine with a tropical ambience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Agoda, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, lastminute.com.au and Cancelon so you can book your Bay Village Tropical Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Village Tropical Retreat Hotel Cairns
Bay Village Tropical Retreat Cairns, Queensland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing