We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money compared to others”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bay Village Tropical Retreat
Ranked #27 of 63 Hotels in Cairns
Reviewed 12 July 2017

With Cairns accomodation being expensive this is a venue which offers value for money. Reasonably central. Staff are professional and courteous. Rooms although not flash are clean and spacious. Reasonably modern.

Room Tip: Top floor to rear
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (536)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 23 of 536 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for a cheap option, but didn't expect it to be so bad. The rooms were aged and poorly serviced, the mould through the bathroom was filthy and the shower was older than I was and broken. We had joined rooms and the other was no better, with a table that was broken and dangerous, and chairs that didn't fit under it. The pool was far too cold for any guest to swim and rarely sees natural sun light. My partner was bitten all over in bed, but we have no idea what from. The staff themselves were individually friendly, but a sense that they all disliked each other was just under the surface. Our fan was only just hanging from the ceiling, and when maintainance came they said they couldn't fix it this week. I suspect it has been in that state for some time. However, the restaurant is exceptional and our waitress was brilliant- tasty and vibrant food was worth the whole experience. Overall, the place has potential.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Chris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2017 via mobile

Reasonably priced and clean. Enjoyed our stay! The atmosphere is Balinese, as is the in house restaurant which is busy every night. Rooms are large and include kitchenette should you choose to prepare your own meals.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Corydon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights whilst we attended the ironman. The apartment is old and the furniture extremely worn and stained. The beds are sinking and uncomfortable. Certainly not like the photos on the website and not Balinese inspired. The restaurant side looked lovely and inviting but the appartments across the road where we were sent need much love. Ripped and stained lounges and our bed sheets had holes in them. Certainly not worth the money we paid to stay there. I would recommend asking where you'll be put when booking. On the plus side the staff were nice.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
2  Thank Brandi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2017 via mobile

We stayed at bay village as part of an organised tour, we had a 2 bed apartment which was in a block opposite the main hotel. Everything was ok but no better than that. If traveling independently I am sure you could do better. One shining light is the hotels own Balinese restaurant which is excellent.

Stayed: June 2017
Thank Stevep1450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.8 km away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 63 in Cairns
627 reviews
0.6 km away
Cascade Gardens
Cascade Gardens
#20 of 63 in Cairns
201 reviews
0.8 km away
Ibis Styles Cairns
Ibis Styles Cairns
#15 of 63 in Cairns
804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Cairns Queens Court
Cairns Queens Court
#26 of 63 in Cairns
522 reviews
1.1 km away
Cairns Sheridan Hotel
Cairns Sheridan Hotel
#19 of 63 in Cairns
359 reviews
0.4 km away
Cairns Queenslander Hotel and Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Village Tropical Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Village Tropical Retreat

Address: Cnr Lake & Gatton Sts, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 63 Hotels in Cairns
Price Range: $110 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bay Village Tropical Retreat 3.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A boutique style hotel with a Balinese theme, nestled amongst lush tropical gardens. Centrally located with a short stroll to the Cairns esplanade. Guests will experience warm hospitality, with personal, friendly and attentive service. An onsite award winning licensed Balinese restaurant offering authentic Balinese cuisine with a tropical ambience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, lastminute.com.au, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Bay Village Tropical Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Village Tropical Retreat Hotel Cairns
Bay Village Tropical Retreat Cairns, Queensland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing