We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not rely on their airport pickup/dropoff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Njoy Travellers Resort
Ranked #10 of 84 Speciality Lodging in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 May 2011

We booked this hostel in order to benefit from the free airport drop
off as there is no public transport going there. The truth is that
Njoy goes only a few times a day to the airport. Their fixed time table was
neither convenient for my girlfriend flying to Darwin, nor for myself
flying to Sydney. We had to pay for a private transfer $10 each.
In addition, the hostel doesn't provide any breakfast. Because of
these little things, it was not a really good deal to stay there.
Our dble room was large, with a fridge and a washing basin. The
mattress was not firm enough to sleep properly - even though we are far from
being overweight! By the way, they give free Spaghetti-dinner vouchers.
There are loads of hostels in Cairns, probably better than Njoy.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex-Camden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (358)
There are newer reviews for Njoy Travellers Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

308 - 312 of 358 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2011

Bed clean and linen clean, floor left a lot to be desired, humid conditions didnt help as nothing could get dry. Shower vile! you had to be desperate to go in, I had double on suite so paid a lot more than bunks. Had a fridge which worked, TV did not. Beetles and crawley things came up the large drain in the middle of the bathroom are, so covered it with waste paper bin. Bathroom are floor filthy. Manager, very professional, but you felt you had better not complain. Nearly died on barrier reef with a storm, saw no fish but she did not offer money back. Too scared to ask. Minibus service excellent and drivers were super, friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Minibus to town good, only stay 1 night
  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sidmothian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2010

My husband and I traveled to Cairns to do a Liveaboard diving trip in the Great Barrier Reef. The main reason why I picked this hostel was because they offer free luggage storage for those days you are away at the liveaboard. Since we were traveling for a month, our luggage would have exceeded the capacity of the boat. That was why we chose Njoy, and overall, we find it to be an average hostel with great inclusions.

We stayed in a double ensuite room. On the first night, our A/C did not work. Given how hot it gets in Cairns, that was unacceptable as we both couldn't sleep. When we returned from our liveaboard trip, we got moved to another ensuite room with functioning A/C and that made all the difference. The room is very basic: full size bed, small fridge, countertop, and A/C. The closet is a small nook inside the bathrooms and they did not supply hangers. Bathroom looks very aluminum and seemed clean for the most part. This was one of the best priced hostel at $60AUD so I am not going to complain.

The overall atmosphere of Njoy seemed quite pleasant. Its layout invited travelers to mingle and get to know each other. The large courtyard allowed for groups to eat, mingle, watch movies, and use the barbie (BBQ grill). Every night, they show a fairly new movie in the courtyard and they list it in advance for you to plan ahead. Inside the lobby area, there is a ping pong table, the kitchen, and many couches. There is also a computer terminal with 4 computers for you to use, as long as you purchase the internet cards. We didn't take advantage of the lagoon style pool but we did walk above it on our way to our room everyday. It is a nice pool and had we had more time to spend at the hostel, we would love to take a swim in it.

In terms of location, this hostel is about a 15 minute walk into the heart of Cairns. In some ways, I'm glad it's far from the craziness of the hostel crowds in downtown. That way I could count on a good night sleep! If you don't want to walk, NJoy offers drop off and pick up from town center almost once every hour during the day. We actually walked into town and then tried to look for the bus stop. Since they stop at a 4 way parking lot, it's hard to predict where they will be, and so we missed the bus on our first night. Another time there were so many people from NJoy that they had to make 2 runs, and we were the ones on the 2nd run. If you do plan on riding back with the van, you need to make sure you wait there at the actual pick up point at least 5 minutes prior. There is a gas station next door with basic foods so you can always stock up on essentials if needed.


Some other neat amenities that we took advantage of:
- free airport pick up and drop off for most part of the day (our flight left Cairns at 5am in the morning so they arranged for a shuttle)
- free luggage storage
- 1 free dinner at the Woolshed (but please keep in mind this is a bowl of spaghetti with either white or red sauce)

Please note that Zanzibar, the restaurant they feature on the Njoy website, is now closed.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2010

Big enough hostel, friendly staff, nice rooms, big pool and it was nice to have a few beers in the evening and meet other people.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oz2UK2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2010

I stayed at this hostel on a recommendation from an Oz Experience bus driver.

This hostel was a little further away from the centre than other hostels such as Gilligans, however, their free shuttle service to and from town that seems to run allllll day is fantastic!!!

The hostel is extremely cheap, infact the cheapest i found. They are a small run business, and they have 4 bed dorms which is a nice touch!

Bathrooms are clean and large with extras such as soap etc.

The reception team were extremely helpful, friendly, knowledgable & approachable. The kitchen was the right size for the amount of guests, and the ovens were a great extra that you dont normally get!!

Free tea & coffee and milk are provided which you dont get at bigger resports!

This really was a great place, and dont let the location put you off if you are thinking about booking......also if you think its going to be quiet and boring compared too somewhere such as Gilligans, dont let this put you off.....i went to visit friendly who stayed at Gilligans and they paid a fortune for an 8 bed dorm, and they were not able to sleep at parties went on every night in the club downstairs until 5am....they wished they had stayed at NJoy with us!!

Seriously, dont think twice about booking NJoy, you will like it!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
1.3 km away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
603 reviews
0.2 km away
Cairns Queens Court
Cairns Queens Court
#26 of 64 in Cairns
500 reviews
0.2 km away
Tropical Heritage Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Calypso Inn Backpackers Resort
1.0 km away
Gilligans Backpackers Hotel & Resort
1.5 km away
Tropic Days Backpackers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Cairns

Been to Njoy Travellers Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Njoy Travellers Resort

Address: 141 Sheridan St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia (Formerly Inn The Tropics)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 84 Speciality Lodging in Cairns
Price Range: $23 - $65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Njoy Travellers Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment you arrive in Cairns our smiling staff are here to make sure your Australian trip is the best it can be. From free WIFI, free airport pick up and drop-off to shouting you a free dinner in town, our Njoy! Crew are here for you!We also offer a free tour booking service so you can easily explore the worlds oldest rainforest, snorkel the famous Great Barrier Reef or take a bungy jump over cascading waterways. Complimentary tour pick-ups and drop-offs right from our front door make it all too easy.When you want to just chill, Njoy! Is your home-away-from-home. Lounge around our lush lagoon-style pool, refresh with a drink in our palm-fringed sunny outdoor area or take on fellow travelers at a game of pool. We also have a free movie every night!You'll never go hungry with us either, every night we shout you a free discount meal card at the Woolshed pub, a legendary backpacker bar. For do-it-yourself meals, our fully equipped kitchen or outdoor BBQ area are there for you to use.Check in at Njoy! And you'll sleep sound in air-conditioned dorm rooms with 24 hour WiFi, some equipped with your own fridge, sink, and ensuite. We even make your bed for you on your first night! Some of our private ensuite rooms also have their own television and tea and coffee making facilities.Come and Njoy! Cairns brightest backpackers!Live, laugh and relax! NJOY! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Njoy Travellers Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Njoy Travellers Resort Cairns, Queensland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing