We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pretty good!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns
Ranked #17 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
kent
Level Contributor
261 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Pretty good!”
Reviewed 15 February 2012

My wife and I stayed here and felt it was located close to the centre and everything was within walking distance. The hotel was good value for money and they even had a self service laundry which was useful! The food was good and something for everyone ! My wife loved it and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it ! :))

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnaynsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven_OakleyGM, General Manager at Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns, responded to this review, 16 February 2012
Dear Johnaynsley

Thanks for taking the time to post your comments. I have conveyed your comments to our Chefs, who, like me were delighted to learn. Producing quality food for all our guests is certainly the aim of our Fire and Ice Buffet and is also reflected on our Ala Carte recent menu change. We look forward to seeing you again!

Best regards
Steven Oakley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,099 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    246
    472
    253
    86
    42
See reviews for
302
375
86
138
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (311)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2012

There are three Rydges hotels in Cairns and this is the one farthest from the town center. It's an easy 5-10 minute walk, though, so this should dissuade you from booking.

Pros
- Our room with two double beds was large and had a balcony facing the harbor. Amazing sunrise and sunset views.
- The beds were extremely comfortable and the air conditioner was quiet, which led to some quality sleeps.
- Sizable mini fridge, so we could buy our own beverages.
- Free wifi in the lobby. It's glacial, so not ideal for any real work.
- Good sized pool and other facilities, like a washer and dryer on the 11th floor.

Cons
- You must pay to use the in-room safe. It's the first time I've ever seen that.

Nothing substantial to complain about. This was a nice resort with friendly staff. I'd recommend this to friends visiting Cairns.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AppleBiter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven_OakleyGM, General Manager at Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns, responded to this review, 16 February 2012
Dear Cechin

Thanks for the positive reflection of the hotel. I am very pleased to say that the only ‘con’ you have addressed has been rectified and we no longer charge for the use of the safe. Its pleasing you enjoyed our Rydges Dream Beds which I am sure added to your quality sleep. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Best regards
Steven GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sans Souci
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 February 2012

Only 10 mins from airport and really close to shops and city. The hotel is a little dated and could do with a refurb - but rooms were clean and tidy and staff service was good.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paddles72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven_OakleyGM, General Manager at Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns, responded to this review, 16 February 2012
Dear Paddles72
Thanks for your comments the hotel has aged well and offers quite possibly the largest rooms in Cairns. Coupled with recent investment and our ongoing attention to the finer details such as cleaning, the hotel is in great shape. Thanks for making comment on our teams positive service attributes it’s appreciated.

Best regards
Steven Oakley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stevenage herts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 January 2012

We had a loverly room on the 5th floor,light and airey the food was plentiful and veried, the staff were excellent very helpful and kind, the pool was quite suprising in that was'nt blue but in the heat it was very refreshing, We could'nt find any negatives at all.

Room Tip: All rooms will be good
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrisandangie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven_OakleyGM, General Manager at Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns, responded to this review, 16 February 2012
Dear Chris and Angie

Delighted you had a great stay with us and enjoyed the resort. We take great pride ensuring we have our buffet levels monitored and refilled alongside our large ala carte portions. Thanks for the taking the time to comment and review.

Best regards
Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2012

This hotel has all the basics you need but not a lot of warmth or special ammenities. There were a lot of families staying here when I was there so I knew it would be a nice quiet place to get over my jetlag. The pool is nice and my husband and I took advantage of the swim up bar - just as a novelty. The breakfast was over $20 per person so we didn't bother. Its a nice stroll from downtown - I dont think its that far - about a 10-15 minute walk - and I recommend a detour through the playground - its really cute!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank theDunsmores
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven_OakleyGM, General Manager at Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns, responded to this review, 16 February 2012
TheDunsmores,

It great to here you enjoyed your stay and took advantage of the swim-up-bar, which is indeed a good option in the Tropical North Queensland climate. The close proximity to the ‘Esplanade’ and its play ground is advantageous for families and as you have mentioned makes for a good stroll. Thanks for the review.

Kind regards
Steven GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.7 km away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
0.3 km away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#10 of 64 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,072 reviews
1.3 km away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
0.5 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
1.4 km away
Pullman Cairns International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns

Property: Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns
Address: 209 - 217 Abbott Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia (Formerly Matson Resort Cairns)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Cairns
#13 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
Price range (per night): $120 - $222
Hotel Class:4 star — Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront 12-story hotel towers, 3 blocks from city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns Hotel Cairns
Rydges Esplanade Hotel Cairns
Rydges Esplanade Cairns
Rydges Cairns
Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns Queensland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing