We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great pool area & great buffet breakfast...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Pullman Cairns International
Ranked #6 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Greater Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
119 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Great pool area & great buffet breakfast...”
Reviewed 12 February 2012

We stayed 2 nights in a 10th floor Harbour View room - more like glimpses between the other buildings. However we could easily see the 8am flotilla heading out to the reef & could see some of the mountains to our right.

Buffet breakfast was great ...lots of different food choices & they even had a chef on hand to make a personalised omelette or eggs! The fresh passion fruits were delicious!

The Sebel foyer is very open & grand, large selection of seats/sofas, if you are meeting friends. Lots of antique furniture dotted around the foyer area. Our room & bathroom were just above average for 5 star hotel! We stayed in the Pullman Casino on the same trip & that room was much bigger, better bathroom with double vanity & a separate toilet room! Though in Pullman our cheaper room meant cheaper views! So its all relative!

After we checked out we were offered a pass to the large pool area with 2 medium size pools with 2 spas... very nice palm trees planted on the roof, including a grassed area & gazebo ...on the roof!! VERY nice area just to chill & hang out! This area also had good & clean bathrooms & chilled filtered water on tap which is a nice touch! Waiter service to the pool area was easy to organise & cost standard prices for this service.

Our main gripes - not enough shaded lounges by the pool. While they have a totally covered area with chairs for eating & another area by the pool with about 8 lounges & 3 umbrellas (shading 2 lounges each), this all fills up rather quickly! The majority of the lounges are not shaded, which is a problem in the Tropics & we got badly sunburnt as we sweat off our suncreen a bit quicker than we thought we did!! The Cairns Pullman Casino had more shaded lounges!

The only other thing is that the interconnecting doors between our & the next room were not in anyway soundproof, so we could hear a teething toddler cry all night & the new parents trying to calm the poor child ..the Sebel very professionally dealt with this by easily changing our room in the morning & offering help with our bags. It was not Sebel's fault, kids are kids!
However who needs interconnecting rooms in 2012?

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bodmor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,036 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    870
    787
    271
    69
    39
See reviews for
354
881
115
394
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (423)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2012

Stayed over two nights in harbor view king room. While the hotel was pleasant and I enjoyed a spa facial treatment, overall the hotel was average rather than five star. I also found the room service breakfast expensive and not worth the price.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IStayThereforeIAm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2012

Had to attend to some family business in the city so chose the Sebel because of its location. The hotel is very nice, rooms are spacious and well-appointed. Pool area is lovely and staff are always very friendly and helpful.

I do agree with those who remark about the cost of extras, the valet parking service is very good and for $20 per day you can come and go as you like but there really isn't a lot of choice but to use this service if you have a car-it would be good to have been able to include this in the room rate. I did find the additional cost to use the internet-(either in your room or in the business centre) a bit irksome-in this day and age surely this should be a basic amenity in a 5-star hotel. Similarly paying a $20 deposit to get a KEY to the safe in your room is a bit antiquated and not reflective of 5 star hotel-these are minor things but that's what counts in a 5 star establishment. On check-out we had to ask for the safe deposit to be refunded plus we were charged for breakfast each day even though it was included in our room rate-this was sorted fairly easily but still a bit unprofessional and would have been most irritating if we had been in a hurry.

Enjoyed the breakfast buffet, the seafood buffet at dinner and drinks and snacks in the lobby bar, although lobby bar service was slow-particularly for food. Service at the buffet in terms of getting drinks, clearing plates etc was excellent-good to see an adequately staffed buffet.

Overall I'd stay there again, and kudos to them for having good staff.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holydaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2012

Have been here a few times and when possible do try to book either here or the Shangri La.
Rooms spacious and clean. Room service excellent.
Only downside is the mandatory $20 parking fee that is charged daily for your car. (the only alternative is to park your car on the street in council parking meters charging an hourly rate.

Room Tip: Get a room rate deal with 'free parking"
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cherie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2012

Had a great experience here. Came back to the room whilst diner was still going. We went to the restaurant to ask about breakfast in the morning. Staff were very helpful and when I asked if there was chocolate in the room the waiter said yes but hold a minute. When he returned he gave me a plate full of chocolate deserts from the restaurant at no cost. great service the whole stay apart from paying $20 for parking.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ausjet01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.5 km away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.1 km away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
0.2 km away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#7 of 64 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.8 km away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
0.2 km away
Pacific Hotel Cairns
Pacific Hotel Cairns
#5 of 64 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pullman Cairns International? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman Cairns International

Property: Pullman Cairns International
Address: 17 Abbott St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Cairns
#4 Business Hotel in Cairns
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#8 Family Hotel in Cairns
Price range (per night): $195 - $322
Hotel Class:5 star — Pullman Cairns International 5*
Number of rooms: 321
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pullman Cairns International is a grand upscale hotel conveniently located in the CBD of tropical Cairns, boasting 321 spacious rooms over 16 floors, with either harbour or hinterland views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, Odigeo, Agoda, Otel, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Pullman Cairns International reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sebel Cairns Hotel Cairns
The Sebel Hotel Cairns
Sebel Hotel Cairns
Pullman Cairns International Queensland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing