We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
Expedia.com
USD 100
View deal
Free cancellation until 30/04/21
Agoda.com
USD 78
View deal
Free cancellation until 01/05/21
Booking.comUSD 100
eDreamsUSD 100
PricelineUSD 98
View all 16 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (151)
Filter reviews
151 results
Traveller rating
71
42
21
6
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
71
42
21
6
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews dumpling restaurant stayed here recently renovated room fresh rooms refreshing pool comfortable bed the ground floor excellent room toilet paper secure parking min walk clean towels bars and restaurants would stay again great stay free wifi reception
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 151 reviews
Reviewed 3 September 2020 via mobile

Stayed here for one night, would have loved to stay longer. Nice rooms, great view of the water. Great budget priced hotel...easy walk to Cairns Central, and the rest of town. Staff are incredibly helpful, the best we've run into in our long trip. We would be happy recommend this hotel.

Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank KennyBOYSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare Holiday, General Manager at Sunshine Tower Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2020

Dear Kenny
Thank you so much for your review. I am so glad you had a great time at Sunshine Tower Hotel.
We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Cairns.

Clare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2020 via mobile

Stayed here and extended
This was a lovely clean and quiet hotel. Close to town and within walking distance to shops and esplanade
Staff friendly, although the room was not serviced it was perfect for our stay

Date of stay: May 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 272staceyt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare Holiday, General Manager at Sunshine Tower Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2020

Thank you Stacey for taking the time to review Sunshine Tower Hotel. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Cairns.
Clare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2020 via mobile

As a solo tourist I was quite anxious about staying on my own. But as soon as I approached reception, Jo made me feel very welcome as she was so friendly! The room was very spacious and clean and the bed was extremely comfortable. I requested a quiet room and that was what I got, no noise what so ever. The pool area is small but tidy, with sun loungers and a refreshing pool to cool off. Overall my stay was great, just what I needed!

Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank nctxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare H, General Manager at Sunshine Tower Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2020

Dear Guest
Thank you so much for your lovely review. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. It is not easy travelling alone sometimes so its nice to see a friendly smile at reception.
We look forward to welcoming you back on your next stay in Cairns. Safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2020

Booked two nights for a quick trip to Cairns, couldn’t even spend one at this hotel. We were planning to be out and about all day so we didn’t need a resort style hotel. We were checking-in in the evening after a visit to Port Douglas and we received an email saying the front desk closed at 7pm and we could pick up our keys in a lock box. After arriving to room 205 we noticed ants crawling all over the bar area and nightstands. This wasn’t a huge concern as the weather is warm and ants pop up a lot in our city as well when it is hot and humid. This did cause us to take a closer look around and in doing so we were disgusted. There were silverfish around the fridge and in the bathroom, a dead roach, and a FILTHY mattress cover. To compound this we booked a room with a king bed and found two twins pushed together with no band or anything to cover up the crack between the mattresses. I promptly booked another hotel since the front desk was closed and there was no option to switch rooms. I emailed the property requesting a refund and received no response in the three weeks that have passed. Absolutely disgusting, couldn’t even spend 30 minutes in the room and by other reviews complaining about bed bugs, we definitely made the right choice booking another hotel and leaving ASAP.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Brettsir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare H, General Manager at Sunshine Tower Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2020

Brett,
I do believe we have the rare guest that no matter what the response is you will not be satisfied.
We are super proud of our Hotel, our customer service and our cleanliness. We take pride in all that we do and it reflects in our service and our reviews.
I have addressed the issues with my House Keeping team - but I will call you out on the Bed Bugs. We have NEVER EVER had them at Sunshine Tower Hotel & I truly believe once you mentioned we had them, your review lost all credibility.
Your refund is sitting in AGODA awaiting for you to cancel your booking. No money was ever taken from our end.
Regards
Clare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2020 via mobile

Nice place, pool is good. Rooms are nice. Noise from moan street can be loud at times but doesn’t detract from staying there. Secure parking is handy although it fills up fast.
Dumpling restaurant at front of hotel is handy.
Location isn’t to far to the centre of town and also to attractions north and the beach.
Will stay again for sure.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank RLRRL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare H, General Manager at Sunshine Tower Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2020

Dear RLRRL,

Thank you for taking the time to review Sunshine Tower Hotel. We love that you enjoyed your stay with us.
The Dumpling Studio is delicious & very handy situated next to the Reception.

We thank you again for your great, productive feedback.
We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Cairns.

Clare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews