We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reef Palms(Cairns)(Great Value!)
USD 101
USD 96
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 304
USD 165
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 193/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

USD 207
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
USD 121
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hilton Cairns(Cairns)
USD 150
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 167/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

USD 134
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
USD 181
USD 164
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
USD 130
USD 71
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside(Cairns)(Great Value!)
USD 105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 120/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Mantra Esplanade Cairns(Cairns)(Great Value!)
USD 163
USD 134
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 157/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (565)
Filter reviews
565 results
Traveller rating
57
139
146
118
105
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
57
139
146
118
105
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
523 - 528 of 565 reviews
Reviewed 6 November 2009

I have just returned from 7 nights at the Rydges Plaza with a friend and we were very disappointed with our stay.

On arrival check in was very bad. To start with, the employee said nothing to us, just looked at us and mumbled a few words through the whole procedure. He did not make us feel welcome, explain the facilities of the hotel or the area. The worst part was he broke the handle off my friend’s suitcase! And he didn’t even apologize! Just looked at us and walked away. The next morning we mentioned this incident to the reception staff on duty and she just ignored the comment, did not acknowledge our frustration, apologize for the accident or direct us how we could we could follow this up.

The Rydges Plaza has appalling Customer Service. We found the staff to be very rude and unhelpful and it defiantly affected our stay. We did make a few normal requests e.g. extra towels, glasses etc and we considerer ourselves to be polite and our requests to be reasonable however every time we called reception it was such a hassle and we were made to feel like an inconvenience . One staff member even questioned my need for extra towels before hanging up on me and then practically throwing the towels at me when she arrived (much later) at the room. To be fair there were two employees who demonstrated good customer service. They were friendly, accommodating and when there was a problem with the TV the staff member on duty at that time did go to great lengths to try to resolve the problem.

The pool was closed during our stay. This itself wouldn’t have been an issue if we were made aware of the situation but we weren’t. It was not displayed on their website, made known to us at the time of booking, when I rang the week prior to confirm the booking or on check in. I have booked accommodation before that was under refurbishment and it has always been transparent if there is (a discount rate due to) refurbishments. A few days into our holiday when we asked if they had an arrangement with another hotel to use their pool they said (quite rudely) they did and there should have been a notice of this on our room – there wasn't and if we had not actively questioned this we would not have known.

The room itself was fine and we were happy with it. It has a (purely cosmetic) modern feel but the bathroom looked a little older but was perfectly fine. The bed was very comfortable and there was plenty of storage. The balcony is very small and I would class it more as a ‘balcony window’ as it is just wide enough to stand on.

The hotel has a great location and is very central, it suited our needs perfectly. It’s not on the beach but it is a 2 minute walk away and 2 minutes in the other direction is the mall. The hotel is a street away from the supermarket and bus stop. The noise from the backpackers across the road did not bother us, but then we were out most nights too.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kab085
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michaelsmith10, Manager at Rydges Plaza Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2010

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience whilst staying at the hotel.

Firstly my sincere apologies for a less than great stay with us. You will be pleased to know that we are currently going through a training programme focussing on customer service and i am please to say this is having great results.

Thank you once again for your valuable feedback it is much appreciated.

Kind Regards

Mike Smith
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2009

Took 3 rooms to get 1 that was liveable. The 1st had a jackhammer going over top (The restaurant and pool area are being renovated), in the second the sliding glass door wouldn't lock. The back packers hostel across the street means you hear shouting and noise all night long. We parked our car in the street and had someone smash the door (no parking bays left in hotel), we're guessing one of the partying backpackers. All in all, not a good spot to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChardynChat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michaelsmith10, Manager at Rydges Plaza Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2010

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

You will be pleased to know that all of the refurbishment has now been completed and the Pool and Bar area look fantastic, i do hope that you are able to return one day and enjoy the facilities completed.

You will also be pleased to know that we have increased the number of car parks available to guests to avoid any such reoccurances.

Thanks you once again

Kind Regards

Mike Smith
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2009

The hotel is very central and the staff at reception are among the most friendly and helpful I have come across during my travels and I would highly recommend to anyone travelling to Cairns.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jamiem10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michaelsmith10, Manager at Rydges Plaza Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2010

Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your experience whilst staying with us. It was a pleasure having you stay and i hope that you are able to return back to Cairns someday.

Thanks once again

KInd regards

MIke Smith
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2009

The rooms have obviously been renovated recently. The room itself was fantastic, modern, and the beds were very very comfortable. Although the room was obviously updated the bathroom seemed to lack the same feel as the room. I think maybe the bathroom let the room down a little bit.

This accomondation is in the heart of all the action which is perfect for our reason to travel to Cairns. The service polite and efficient. Off the street parking was a definate bonus.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Twyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GENERALESPLANADE, General Manager at Rydges Plaza Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2009

Thank you for your contructive feedback. The hotel has recently refurbished all hotel rooms and bathrooms on floors 9 and 10.

The hotel is certainly well located and prides itself on the quality of service.

Once again Thank you!

Wayne Woods
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2009

Very good as for location as every thing was at a walking distance. Staff were terrible had clue what they were doing-
1- No portars to take your bags.
2-confused lifts- dont know whether they gong down or up
3- Room not ready even at 3 pm??? check out time btw is 11am!!
4-To use the safe in room please pay!
5- To get an adaptor please pay!!
6-When asked housekkeping to clean the cups she says sorry we only do it once a day.
7-Told them to change sheets the next day says she wont because she didnt find them dirty!!
8- No staff could be found on first day of breakfast......and when she appears she screams at me for using the telephone on her desk.....for Gods sake was only calling another room.
9 very scantilly staffed hotel....no one bothers to smile or help. Absolutely no human element!!

For the rate they charge you could find much better hotels. Never ever stay here.....I would rate this hotel as below average not even give a star

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cheeseysmile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GENERALESPLANADE, General Manager at Rydges Plaza Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2009

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your vauluable feedback.

With a new General Manager, Rydges Plaza Cairns is currently undergoing a great emphasis on service and focus on exceeding our guest’s expectations. This is what differentiates us from other hotels.

I am confident you will notice a remarkable difference in service quality during your next visit.

Wayne Woods
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews