We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (617)
Filter reviews
617 results
Traveller rating
62
146
161
131
117
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
62
146
161
131
117
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
542 - 547 of 617 reviews
Reviewed 20 January 2012

Cairns Plaza proved to be very conveniently located, with great restaurants very close, a short walk to Cairns Central and the ferry terminal. Service was great, staff were so friendly and efficient. The comfortable bed was amazing.

Date of stay: January 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Norma L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2012

We stayed here on a leg of our Australia trip while we went to the Great Barrier Reef. On first blush the hotel appears a little dated and in need of repair. The room was well appointed and clean. I was not impressed that they did not offer free wifi, but apparently that is the norm in most Australian hotels. Value for money was good. One of the cabinets in our suite was broken when we arrived and was never fixed, however it was not a big deal. The restaurant and pool were recently renovated and looked absolutely stunning. The only seriously negative part was the state of the public washroom in the lobby. There were cob-webs all over it and looked like it hadn't been cleaned in several days.

Date of stay: January 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2012

Parts of this hotel are stylishly modern but the refurb is incomplete with obvious signs of this buildings age. Our room's bathroom, for example, is in need of modernization with cheap plastic towel racks from distant decades. Our floor (6th) came with a strange, musty smell as did our hutch/buffet in the room.

However, the Lilo bar was stylish, comfortable and modern. I heard it's packed on weekends. And the pool with it's three luxurious cabanas is very swanky!

Finally, our beds were very comfy and we slept Like babes.

Did I mention the excellent location?

Overall, a good midrange option at affordable prices.

Date of stay: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MissMapleLeaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2011

A post-midnight 8-hour transit stop in Cairns had us looking for a hotel room to catch a little sleep before heading on to Tokyo. So when the Wotif deal of the day featured the four star Rydges Plaza for $99 with breakfast for two, I snapped it up. We stayed Friday, 2 December.

It's an older style hotel, and their recent "refreshment" program has been carefully thought out. They've made some very clever innovations, adding minor touches at minimal cost, that have made a big difference to the look and amenity of the room.

For example, they've provided a suite of connections below the flat-screen telly that allow you to plug in your various devices for charging without having the actual charger... USB sockets etc. There's also a HDMI connection so, with the right cable, you could easily throw your laptop signal to the telly. Not seen that before in a hotel.

And the room, particularly the bathroom, was VERY clean. My partner who works as a building manager said he'd happily swap his cleaning staff for the team here, and he's a real stickler! The bathroom's also had a minor tweak, though its seventies or eighties origins still show through.

My one real bugbear about the Rydges Plaza came up before we even saw the room. Checking in at 4am, and then later flying out at midday, we were looking forward to a couple of hours sleep, then a quick brekky before heading back to the airport. But the guy on night reception informed us that the last seating for breakfast was 9am! In a four star hotel? Really? And especially one in a resort town with a potential "airline hub" market in the fray. Needless to say we slept through and ate on the plane.

Date of stay: December 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ramcub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RydgesPlaza, General Manager at Rydges Plaza Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2011

Dear Guest,
Rydges Plaza certainly is handy to the Cairns airport for these type of stop over’s and the media hubs are great for reviewing those holidays snaps.
Our fresh breakfast buffet does extend through to 10am on the weekends so my sincere apologies for you missing this important inclusion in your booking. One solution could have been our Rydges boxed breakfast's for early departures (or guests that are on different time zones) If we are aware prior we will do whatever we can to accommodate any out of hours guest requests.
Thank you also for the feedback on our star housekeepers!
Regards
Lisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2011

We were a family of four travelling with 2 older children who had their own room. We purchased our tickets through Wotif for $99 per room per night, we received bedding configuration of two doubles, breakfast, free parking and late checkout of 12pm. Our rooms were located on the 8th floor, they were clean, however the bathrooms were very tired and dated and are need of renovation. Staff were helpful and service was great. The Hotel is located very close to the Marina, Esplanade and local restaurants, also close to name brand shops and the Myer Centre (Cairns Central). Value for money we would definitely stay here again.

Date of stay: November 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank creativecatz2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RydgesPlaza, General Manager at Rydges Plaza Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2011

Dear Sunshine Coast family,
Thank you for sharing some of the top reasons to stay at Rydges Plaza. Great location, beds and lilo restaurant! I hope you were also able to make use of the awesome guest pool and deck looking over the city.
Your positive comments regarding the Plaza team are really appreciated, thank you.

TIP: Our deluxe rooms featuring beautifully renovated bathrooms might be a good option for your next Cairns trip.

Look forward to seeing you all again soon,

Regards
Lisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews