We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hilton Cairns(Cairns)
USD 170
USD 149
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 179/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

USD 188
USD 169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 210/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

USD 401
USD 159
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 189/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Mantra Esplanade Cairns(Cairns)(Great Value!)
USD 195
USD 160
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
USD 157
USD 147
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
USD 163
USD 159
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
USD 134
USD 75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
USD 157
USD 141
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside(Cairns)(Great Value!)
USD 156
USD 137
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reef Palms(Cairns)(Great Value!)
USD 108
USD 95
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (563)
Filter reviews
563 results
Traveller rating
57
139
146
117
104
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
57
139
146
117
104
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
494 - 499 of 563 reviews
Reviewed 28 September 2011

Stayed for business and was only $100pn off their website specials if you joined the rydges priority club. 24hr reception was great as i didn't get in until after 11pm. Had to pay for parking $10pn. I would stay again if i was only after a standard hotel room with no kitchenette etc. Central location and plenty of restaurants short walk from hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rainydaytoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2011

Good points: The location is excellent - central to everything in Cairns. The use of the local gym was great - as it provided much more than a hotel gym (good range of classes, equipment etc). The dream beds were lovely and the room service crew were efficient.

Improvement points: Our room was in serious need of refurbishment. The 1970's style bathroom let it down. Also the air conditioning could not be turned off at all, so there was a constant noise and cold (all we could do when it got cooler at night was choose a 'warmer' setting of cold!). The staff could do with some training in customer service. We were there for 11 nights and tried to engage in a friendly way, but got almost nothing in return. Another disappointment was no movies in the room. We asked if there was a DVD player, but there wasn't (although there was space to plug one in). There were also no pay for movies and no Fox movie channel provided. Luckily the movie theatre was only a block away. We were asked to pay for the key for the in-room safe. Not just a deposit, but a daily amount. The staff member claimed this was common practice in all hotels. I have stayed in a lot of hotels, but have never had to pay before.

The hotel is about to go a refurbishment. However, it appears they have only got as far as the Lilo wet bar and restaurant area (and this features in all the advertising making it look newer than it actually is). This space is lovely, although some thought could have been given to the placement of the swimming pool which loses the sun in the early afternoon (by about 2.30pm) as it drops behind the hotel. Also as this area is rented out for functions, as a hotel guest - you sometimes felt unwelcome in the bar. Good that they are doing general events there though such as the Sunday Session and Jazz, Gin & Olives night.

Room Tip: You would probably want to ask for the deluxe room to get a better bathroom
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Kini68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2011

The rooms a bit old fashioned bur are very spacious. Our room had 3 single beds, the view was marvellous. The reception staff was very courteous, Its in the center of the city with numerous indian vegetarian restaurants around.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank nikhiljain22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2011

Pros:
Large bed
Management staff was quite nice.
Nice view from window.
Location is the best thing as it is right in the middle of everything or within 10 minute walking distance. (There isn't much in terms of public transit in Cairns so location is important)

Cons:
Non-management staff not pleasant. Questions seemed more like a bother.
No free wif/broadband and it is unreasonably expensive to purchase.
Constant draft from window
Every question/request seemed like it was either too much to handle for the staff or they just couldn't help you out. Like I said management was nice however, it was the rest of the staff you normally had to deal with.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank oxjohnnysangelxo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RydgesPlaza, General Manager at Rydges Plaza Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2011

Dear Guest,
My heartfelt apologies for the disappointing customer service your have experienced at our hotel. It is so important when visiting from abroad or interstate to feel comfortable and welcome in your new surroundings. I thank you for sharing as it is only through feedback such as yours that we may improve.
I hope your trip to beautiful Cairns otherwise was an enjoyable one, with the rainforest and reef activities so close at hand Rydges Plaza is certainly well placed to easily enjoy them all.

I hope we have the opportunity see you back again one day at Plaza,

Regards
Lisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2011

Stayed here for my birthday last year, was very happy with the location, the service and the room standards. Will definately be back, great for an overnight stay when you want a central location

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hippo0410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews