We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
AU$246
No prepayment needed
Expedia.com
ZenHotels.com
AU$238
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,122)
Filter reviews
1,122 results
Traveller rating
513
412
125
48
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
513
412
125
48
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location washing machine night market across the road living area lagoon pool apartment was clean bbq facilities cafes and restaurants within walking distance easy access great place to stay reception staff valter esplanade balcony bedroom
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 1,122 reviews
Reviewed 19 January 2024

We had a comfortable 6-night stay. Our apartment had a sea view and was conveniently located to the Esplanade and Cairns waterfront. Reception staff were friendly, professional and customer focused. The accommodation good, and represented value for money.

Date of stay: December 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Kevin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, General Manager at BreakFree Royal Harbour Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2024

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Breakfree Royal Harbour.

It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2023

I had an extremely disappointing experience at Hotel BreakFree at Royal Harbor in Cairns. Despite the imminent danger posed by Cyclone Jasper during our stay, the hotel refused any refund or offered alternatives. Their lack of concern for guest safety, considering the proximity to a beach prone to 7-8 meter tall waves and flooding, is unacceptable. They didn't even suggest providing credits for a future stay at another BreakFree hotel, leaving us with no choice but to cancel our trip to Cairns without any compensation. A complete disregard for customer well-being. I would not recommend staying at BreakFree Royal Harbour in Cairns due to their lack of flexibility and concern for guests’ safety.

Date of stay: December 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank louise o
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sophie Owen, General Manager at BreakFree Royal Harbour Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2024

Dear Louise,

Guest safety is first and foremost for us. Bookings effected by the recent cyclone were offered refunds and date changes for those that had booked on a no cancellation rate. I would be happy to look into your booking further to see if there is something that can be done.
Please send me through your reservation details to royalharbour.gm@breakfree.com.au.

Also I would just like to mention that Cairns CBD was mostly unaffected by the recent weather event and we did not have any issues here at the property.

I look forward to hearing from you.

Kind regards,
Sophie Owen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2023

Fantastic location. Everything was walking distance and tours generally picked up from here or within close proximity. Room was good, used king size bed and pull out sofa. Pull out was pretty good comfort wise. and the king was great. Staff were very friendly

Unfortunately our air con in the lounge area was not working that well. Was serviced day we arrived but I don't think the technician put gauges on it to test for a gas leak guessing they just cleaned the filters). The a/c only just cooled the room (sort of) compared to the other group we were with whose a/c was working really well in the lounge area (but not in the bedroom). Ceiling fan above king bed barely worked, was the same speed on all settings and that was barely moving. Also there was no spare toilet roll so had to go buy our own and we were also short a towel. One satchet of dishwashing detergent doesn't go far. We could have asked for more of the missing items but we either didn't see anyone or the office was closed by the time we got back from our day out.

Would stay here again

Date of stay: December 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank R4470PIdebbiec
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sophie Owen, General Manager at BreakFree Royal Harbour Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2024

Thank you for the review of your stay at Breakfree Royal Harbour, we really appreciate you taking the time to share your experience.
We always strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us.
Thank you again and we hope we can welcome you back again in the future.

Sincerely,
Sophie Owen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2023

I came here as I work in Cairns every 1-2 weeks.
The gym, the staff, and the room were all amazing.

I usually find hotel gyms underwhelming, and the balcony spaces exaggerated in photos.
I was so pleasantly surprised with the big and clean balcony (has undercover roof as well for rain) and the gym has a leg press machine and cable weight machine.
I would go as far to say the best hotel gym i have found in Cairns (and been staying in cairns hotels every fortnight for 2 years).
Wish I discovered Breakfree sooner!

Please thank all the staff who worked on Nov 29th / 30th.

Date of stay: November 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Joelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sophie Owen, General Manager at BreakFree Royal Harbour Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2024

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your recent experience with us, we very much appreciate the 5 stars!
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Sophie Owen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2023

Great central location with good harbour views. A bit overpriced for the quality of the rooms. Has limited on site parking. Easy access to walk around the CBD and Esplanade. Room had a balcony with a clothesline.

Room tip: Comfortable bed but broken light next to LHS
Date of stay: October 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Vicki B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sophie Owen, General Manager at BreakFree Royal Harbour Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2024

Thank you for the review of your stay at Breakfree Royal Harbour, we really appreciate you taking the time to share your experience.
We always strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us.
Thank you again and we hope we can welcome you back again in the future.

Sincerely,
Sophie Owen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews