We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
AU$271
No prepayment needed
AU$271
Priceline
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,122)
Filter reviews
1,122 results
Traveller rating
513
412
125
48
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
513
412
125
48
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location washing machine night market across the road living area lagoon pool apartment was clean bbq facilities cafes and restaurants within walking distance easy access great place to stay reception staff valter esplanade balcony bedroom
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 1,122 reviews
Reviewed 21 November 2023

Location, location, location not to mention the place was very nice. All you need to make meals in room or visit the many restruants close by. Staff were very friendly and. polite. Check in and out painless! Would recommend.

Date of stay: November 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank junew2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sophie Owen, General Manager at BreakFree Royal Harbour Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2023

Thank you for the review, we really appreciate the 4 stars and are thrilled to know you enjoyed your time with us!
We hope to welcome you back again one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2023

The location of the resort is great, with a lower entrance directly on to the Esplanade with the lagoon pool just metres away.
Our pleasant unit was well maintained, with sea views (all units seen to have this). We received a very hospitable welcome when we arrived well before check-in time, with our bags being securely stored until the room was available (which was still earlier than advertised). It’s self catering, so there weren’t many consumables, but there's a large Woolies just a couple of minutes away as well as a convenience store right next door on the Esplanade. There’s no dishwasher and only one hot plate, but these would be adequate for most people, I think. But the washer/dryer is full-size. There are detailed instructions about the fire alarm, as often found in Queensland.
The shower is “interesting”, with a window into the living area but we pulled the curtain across and weren’t fussed by this. There is a nice BBQ and garden area but the pool is on the small side (but the lagoon is so close this isn’t really an issue).
Once we received the login code, the wi fi worked seamlessly at all times for us.

Date of stay: October 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Gat16
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sophie Owen, General Manager at BreakFree Royal Harbour Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2023

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your recent experience with us, we very much appreciate the 5 stars and are thrilled to know you enjoyed your time with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.


Sincerely,

Sophie Owen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2023

I have no idea how this hotel received a Travellers Choice Award. We didn't expect a 5-star hotel, in fact we prefer no frills and no daily room servicing, etc., however, the hotel did not live up to it's advertising. We spent as little time as we could there during our six-night stay.

The Bad:
The WiFi was TERRIBLE! The hotel website advertises "Whether you're in your room, relaxing over a coffee or a glass of wine you'll be connected while staying at the Hotel." In reality, the wifi only worked within a few feet from our room's door, so only to our bed. Once in the kitchen, living area, or deck, we had zero signal. When we asked if there were any other rooms available, even with no view, with better wifi so we weren't restricted to working or making wifi calls only from on the bed, we were told: there was nothing that could be done because wifi is a problem throughout the building and all rooms had poor wifi signals; something about the owners and how expensive upgrading the system would be; there's a computer available in the lobby; and "Well, the wifi is free. We aren't asking you to pay for it." as if all that made it okay. Note: this is in stark contrast to what the general manager wrote in response to a simialr complaint in a recent Sept 2023 review of a 3-bedroom unit. She wrote, "For the WiFi issue, it is currently only affecting the apartment you stayed in and we sincerely apologise for the inconvenience it caused you. We are working on rectifying this issue asap."

Other issues were:
- Most of the window exteriors were terribly dirty (see photos). Even the sliding glass door, which could easily be reached, was only partially cleaned.
- The floors weren't very clean; the soles of our feet were black after a few minutes of walking around in the unit.
- The deck furniture was starting to fall apart so the chairs were quite uncomfortable because the fraying mesh sagged so much you ended up sitting on a skinny bar that ran under the mesh.
- On the hotel website the rooms are advertised as spa rooms, but the spa tub had been disabled. (Not important to us, but maybe to others.)
- The two mattresses that made up the king-sized bed were designed to be held together by a very large plastic zipper. The mattress was not covered by any sort of mattress pad/cover so there was an uncomfortable hard zipper under the sheet, down the middle of the bed.
- The open air restaurant next door, just below our room, was quite noisy until late into the evening and the windows barely blocked any noise.
- It would have been nice if the kichenette included something to make real coffee (they provided instant coffee - ugh).

We reserved and paid for an ocean-view room and from our check-in materials, it looked like we were originally assigned one with a great view (606), but before we checked-in our room was changed to one that only had what I would classify as a partial ocean view (604). It was really a terrestrial view room with a partial ocean view from the deck which is located on the side of the room (i.e., you only had terrestrial views from the bedroom, bathroom, kitchen, and most of the the living room). Overall, the unit appeared "tired." Since we couldn't get a room with better wifi, we asked if there was possibly a room available with a better view and were told no. Given the great pictures of updated ocean view rooms online, we were disappointed to say the least and felt we'd wasted the additional money to get a view room.

The Good:
The location was great and there's an in-unit W/D (the only reasons we gave it 3-stars). It's an easy walk to the pier for boat excursions and land-based excursions pick up on the street just in front of the hotel. There are lots of good restaurants and a grocery store nearby. Staff was friendly when we didn't bring up wifi or views. The kitchen and oddly-designed bathroom were clean and maintenance promptly fixed a ceiling light fixture that wasn't working when we arrived.

With so many accommodation options in Cairns, I wouldn't stay here again, but if I did, I would not book through the hotel. We were told that the rooms are independently owned so quality of room can vary, and that rooms can be booked directly from an owner (I presume via Airbnb). If so, I recommend booking a specific unit directly if you want to know what you're getting.

Date of stay: October 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Cathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sophie Owen, General Manager at BreakFree Royal Harbour Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2023

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Breakfree Royal Harbour. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Breakfree we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent
future occurrence.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Sophie Owen – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2023

The hotel is in the perfect location! Everything is at your finger tips. Its right amongst the centre of town, esplanade and dining strip! Lots of dining options when I didn't want to cook. Pleasant staff running a clean hotel with a pool and small gym.

Date of stay: October 2023
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Phil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sophie Owen, General Manager at BreakFree Royal Harbour Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2023

Thank you for the review of your stay at Breakfree Royal Harbour, we really appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. We are glad to know we hit the mark for you!

Sincerely,

Sophie Owen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2023

There is no WIFI in the unit. What they have was not reliable and very slow pretty much non existent. The unit itself was located in a good place. very spacious 3 br nice furnished. Appliances were all working, washer dryer works well. Have extremely slow and unreliable wifi spois the whole stay

Room tip: Ask about wifi speed
Date of stay: September 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Patricia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sophie Owen, General Manager at BreakFree Royal Harbour Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2023

Dear Patricia,
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay, we are glad to know you enjoyed the apartment itself.
For the WiFi issue, it is currently only affecting the apartment you stayed in and we sincerely apologise for the inconvenience it caused you. We are working on rectifying this issue asap.
We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Sophie Owen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews