We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
AU$275
Fully refundable before Fri, 8 Mar
Priceline
AU$275
Fully refundable before Fri, 8 Mar
No prepayment needed
Vio.com
AU$272
Fully refundable before Thu, 7 Mar
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,477)
Filter reviews
3,477 results
Traveller rating
1,581
1,127
471
183
115
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,581
1,127
471
183
115
Show reviews that mention
All reviews horizon club club room horizon room pool bar the great barrier reef an upgrade fantastic location reef terminal buffet breakfast shopping centre balcony canapes sydney foyer tours cbd
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 3,477 reviews
Reviewed 14 November 2023 via mobile

Staying at this hotel put us literally in the middle of everything. We were steps away from the lagoon and Esplanade. Our room was very spacious and spotless. There was a little bit of walking to get to the room as the resort is massive. Be sure to do evening walks on the Esplanade and around the marina, it’s amazing. We ate at the Night Market food court every night as it was so good. We would definitely stay here if in Cairns again.

Room tip: If you have mobility issues let them know. Some rooms are very far from front desk.
Date of stay: November 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank RayHill
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 November 2023

This lovely hotel is right on the wharf with easy access to water sports/trips and within walking distance of several restaurants, the esplanade, shopping and nightlife. It’s ambiance is relaxing and pleasant to the eye. There is a very large salinated pool with a walk up bar. My room was comfortable with a patio facing the parking lot and walkway to town. Bottled water, offer and tea free in the room. I would definitely stay here again.

Date of stay: November 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Roam728673
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 November 2023

We spent a brilliant week at the Shangri La. OK it does look a bit tired in places but the location, right on the marina, more than makes up for that. Yes, there are long corridors but we don’t mind walking and it helped work off the calories we consumed while in Cairns. We had a very quiet room with a private balcony, which we really appreciated, and the room also had the biggest shower cubicle we’d ever seen – and a washing line so we had the chance to wash out some of our clothes. Breakfasts were very good with plenty of choice – I loved the fruit loaves, especially the mango and coconut one. The staff were very friendly and helpful, and there is a desk in the lobby where you can book trips out. We will definitely try to stay here again when we return. Thank you for a wonderful stay.

Date of stay: October 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank H0lidayM0nster
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 November 2023

I dined in the restaurant for breakfast and saw a guest attacked by a magpie. The guest had to be taken to hospital by ambulance with an eye injury. There are several magpies annoying guests. Apparently the hotel is aware of these annoying birds. Avoid the place and stay at the Hilton around the corner.

Date of stay: September 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 970brendant
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 November 2023 via mobile

So much to love about this hotel.Let’s start with the location, absolute water front with views of the marina and mountains in the background. Our room had a balcony where we could sit and enjoy this view as the boats came and went. A large pool with ample shade and seating. Breakfast in The Backyard offered all of the normal favourites with the quality being first class. We had access to the Horizon Club and enjoyed food and beverage from 5 to 7 in the evening. Each night the food offering changed but the excellent quality did not. We both absolutely loved the Shangri La and have already recommended it to friends.

Date of stay: November 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank TheDollar
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews