We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Horizon club well worth the extra $$.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
Ranked #9 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Horizon club well worth the extra $$.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

We arrived at the Shangri la Cairns for a two night stay in a horizon club room. From the moment we stepped in the door the service was exceptional from the reception desk and the concierge. We arrived in our room which was lovely with huge balcony and beautiful bathroom. Breakfast and evening canapés in the horizon club room were great with the most helpful staff I have had the pleasure of experiencing in a hotel! The only negative is that they forgot to service our room on the second day but this was rectified very quickly by a call to reception.
Overall bravo Shangri La .

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Speac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,424 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,095
    815
    328
    117
    69
See reviews for
435
1,232
135
289
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (619)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Midland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights and although an older hotel that perhaps is in need of the modern facelift that so many Shangri-La hotels have received in recent years, this one makes up for it with it's exceptionally friendly and helpful staff. Nothing was too much trouble and everything was done with a truly welcoming smile, not one put on to please the guests. The rooms were of a good size and ours had a lovely view of the marina. They could just do with a bit of updating. Lovely pool to unwind around though.
The hotel does have a good location on the marina and is well catered for by a large selection of restaurants. I would recommend upgrading to the Horizon Club. With this you have access to a private lounge where complimentary breakfast is served, soft drinks and beverages are available throughout the day and between 5pm and 7pm a complimentary bar and snacks are served. Well worth the extra cost. The Horizon Club has it's own dedicated staff who are an absolute delight and really go out of their way to make sure your stay is comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tubby2WestMidland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

We stopped over for a night on our way back from a luxury holiday in the Great Barrier Reef. I found it on Wotif.com and got it for a good price and as it was just one night I didn't have any real expectations.

However, from the moment we arrived all of the staff were amazingly helpful and friendly. We were asked if we wanted to upgrade for AU$40 to a corner room with Horizon Club access. We didn't know what we were paying for but thought we'd give it a go. I have pretty tough dietary requirements and double checked that there would be food I could eat.

We were shown to our room - it was a long way from reception but they did give us two choices, one that was closer but when we asked for their opinion they told us that as long as we didn't mind a bit of a walk, the second option was the better room. So after a bit of a confusing walk but with a very helpful member of staff we found our room. The hotel is a little dated but they have added all the latest technology - nice big flat screen TV, on-demand movies, wi-fi included in the price etc. It had it's own balcony overlooking the Marina with plenty of space, light and amenities.

A knock at the door half an hour later and we had fresh fruit in the room – a thoughtful gesture after my conversation about dietary requirements at reception. We had a light meal and breakfast at the Horizon Club (their executive lounge) which was very nice. Again, super helpful and attentive staff and lots of options to choose from.

It’s nice to walk along the Marina and there’s bars, cafes, shops and restaurants right outside – a great location. It was a 15 minute taxi ride from the airport (about AU$35). They have an outdoor swimming pool which was great (but cold as it was March) and the table tennis was good for a laugh!

So if you don’t mind slightly dated décor but great service and value for money – this is a great option. I don’t usually write a review for a one night stop over stay but thought it was worth doing because we were so impressed by the service.

Room Tip: Go for the Horizon Club rooms, Marina view - North Tower
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raejmorrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

I had the oppurtunity to spend 3 nights here, from the time I had booked in to the time I left the staff where very helpful and courtious, meals in the restuarant where of good quality and the room was large and well presented with a great view of the Bay, all the facilities that this hotel offered well maintained and easily accessable

The location right on the bay with only a 2 minute walk into Cairns City centre was fantastic

I travel at 2 plus times a month with my work and staying here was like being on holiday

I will being going back to Cairns with my family and this hotel is where we will be staying

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the Bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnathonPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns Region, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

Have stayed here 3 times. All have been to attend conferences here.
Was very disappointed with our stay last year, with poor service and staff attitudes. However, we put that down to the fact Prince Wiliam & his entourage were staying too!
However, our most recent stay was disappointing too.
The hotel was fully booked & other members of our party had rooms at opposite ends of the hotel. It is a LONG walk to the farthest rooms, sometimes via 2 lifts.
Not child friendly, nor disabled/ elderly friendly either.
Breakfast was chaos. There weren't enough tables and there were long queues. Staff were overwhelmed & flustered.
On the positive side, reception staff were friendly,if overworked.
Wouldn't choose to stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the first or second floor, close to the lifts, otherwise, you could be in for a ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Livinlife66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George W, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns, responded to this review, 5 April 2012
Thank you to the author for taking the time to write this review. Guest satisfaction is one of the most important components of our business and it is quite clear that we have not met the expectation of this guest. For that I do apologise on behalf of our entire team.

I would welcome the opportunity to discuss the guests stay with us further and encourage the author to write to me directly at george.wee@shangri-la.com.

George Wee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.5 km away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
0.3 km away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#7 of 64 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,129 reviews
0.5 km away
Pullman Cairns International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.7 km away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
2.3 km away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns

Property: Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
Address: Pierpoint Rd, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Cairns
#8 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
#8 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#11 Family Hotel in Cairns
Price range (per night): $183 - $395
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns 5*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of Cairns, the Shangri-La Hotel overlooks Marlin Marina, Trinity Bay and the lush green mountains of Cairns.The hotel is just ten minutes' drive from Cairns International Airport, and a short stroll to the Esplanade Lagoon and Cairns' premier dining precinct. The hotel offers airy, modern accommodations with elegant furniture and spectacular views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, lastminute.com.au, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Hotelopia so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns Hotel Cairns
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns Queensland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing