We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
AU$219
Expedia.com
AU$209
Fully refundable before Fri, 26 Apr
Get rewarded with One Key
Vio.com
AU$180
Fully refundable before Fri, 26 Apr
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,429)
Filter reviews
1,429 results
Traveller rating
499
644
208
58
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
499
644
208
58
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location ocean view suite across the road top floor good size reception staff within easy walking distance great room esplanade playground microwave muddies laundry reef
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 1,429 reviews
Reviewed 5 September 2023

We had a wonderful stay, the pillows were very soft maybe too soft for me but that’s all good. Perfect position, walking distance to everything. Cafe across the road was great. Totally enjoyed the laser light show.

Definitely visit again, renovations on the pool had just started so will be good to see all that finished.

Room tip: Renovations are underway.
Date of stay: August 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Sue K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 August 2023

Stayed at the Cairns Plaza for six days at their Suite with Water views, which has a separate bedroom, double balcony, TV area, and a kitchenette (fridge, microwave, sink, utensils and tableware). The suite was modern and well equipped, and the view of the coast was beautiful. There's a coin-operated laundry facility on the premises, which was quite useful too. The location is excellent, within walking distance of restaurants and stores, and right across from the Esplanade and a children's park. Attentive staff as well. The hotel lobby doesn't look like much, but don't be fooled, this is a great little hotel!

Date of stay: August 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank dharma22
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cairns Plaza Hotel, Other at Cairns Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2023

Dear dharma22

Thanks for your recent review and your stay with us. We must agree with you we are a smaller property and a great one at that.

The owners of the hotel are currently in the process of enhancing the pool area and entrance so we hope that one day in the future you can stay with us and experience the changes.

Once again thanks for your review

Take care and safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2023 via mobile

1 bedroom Ocean View Apartment. King size bed, full length balcony with magnificent views across the harbour. Minor issue with non-working microwave was quickly remedied by staff. The delightful Muddy’s playground across the road pleased the littlies. I appreciated the near proximity to multiple restaurants, supermarket and retail. Watching the morning sun rise over the hill-unbeatable.

Date of stay: July 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Karen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cairns Plaza Hotel, Other at Cairns Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2023

Dear Karen N

Greetings from The Cairns Plaza Hotel. Thanks for your review and stay with us.

Our Esplanade facing suites do have great views and watching the sunrise and sunset at this time of the year is unbeatable as you have put it. We are in a great spot being so close to the CBD and as well as just across the road from Muddys playground which is a added bonus for the little ones.

Thanks again, we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Take care and stay safe.


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2023 via mobile

We stayed here for two weeks and had a wonderful experience. Room clean, comfortable, well appointed with necessities and in a perfect location. Easy walking distance to everything but away from the noisy crowded pubs. Staff were so friendly and helpful. If you want good value accommodation you cannot go past the Cairns Plaza in our opinion.

Date of stay: July 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank MandSOZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cairns Plaza Hotel, Other at Cairns Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2023

Dear MandSOZ

Warm greetings from The Cairns Plaza Hotel. Thanks for your wonderful review and comments. Your right in saying we are well appointed in our rooms along with being in a perfect location, close to everything and in walking distance.

We do pride ourselves on service ensuring our team members are friendly and offering our guests the experience expected.

Thanks again we look forward to welcoming back to the hotel in the future.

Take care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2023

The hotel is located on the Esplanade across the road to Muddy's children pool and playground. This is a small hotel with very comfortable rooms but limited facilities. The pool is very small and hardly used by the patrons. A carpark and a laundry are available. Breakfast is not served on site but Muddy's café provides breakfast, fruit cocktails and cooked food all day. The desk staff is very helpful.

Date of stay: June 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Genevieve E
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cairns Plaza Hotel, Other at Cairns Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2023

Dear Genevieve E
Greetings from Cairns. Thanks for your recent stay and review with us. We are a small privately owned and run hotel in a great location central to everything you need.

Our pool area is sized to suit the hotel and considering the age of the hotel was built to suit at the time. Hopefully you will be able to visit the hotel in the future and experience the changes that are happening in the pool area over the coming months, this is sure to make the area look bigger and inviting to all.

Our guest laundry located on level 1 is a busy little laundry and used by all.

Once again thanks for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Take care






Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews