We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
AU$221
Hotels.com
AU$199
Fully refundable before Fri, 3 May
Get rewarded with One Key
Vio.com
AU$186
Fully refundable before Thu, 2 May
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
MandSOZ
Orange, Australia
Good value in a good location
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 14 July 2023via mobile
We stayed here for two weeks and had a wonderful experience. Room clean, comfortable, well appointed with necessities and in a perfect location. Easy walking distance to everything but away from the noisy crowded pubs. Staff were so friendly and helpful. If you want good value accommodation you cannot go past the Cairns Plaza in our opinion.
Date of stay: July 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
AU$303
  • Novotel
    AU$303
  • Hotels.com
    AU$303
  • Vio.com
    AU$303
0.4 km from Cairns Plaza Hotel
Pool
Restaurant
Booking.com
AU$284
No prepayment needed
  • Official Site
    AU$284
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$274
  • Hotels.com
    AU$284
0.1 km from Cairns Plaza Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
AU$178
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    AU$178
  • Agoda.com
    AU$148
  • Hotels.com
    AU$156
0.3 km from Cairns Plaza Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
External View
Booking.com
AU$275
Fully refundable
  • Vio.com
    AU$267
  • Hotels.com
    AU$275
  • Expedia.com
    AU$276
1.0 km from Cairns Plaza Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
AU$275
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    AU$252
  • travelup.com
    AU$250
  • Expedia.com
    AU$274
0.6 km from Cairns Plaza Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
AU$136
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    AU$159
  • Vio.com
    AU$110
  • Expedia.com
    AU$177
1.4 km from Cairns Plaza Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$250
Fully refundable
  • Hilton
    AU$250
  • Algotels
    AU$214
  • Hotels.com
    AU$250
1.1 km from Cairns Plaza Hotel
Pool
Restaurant
Exterior
Booking.com
AU$270
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    AU$250
  • Algotels
    AU$239
  • Doubletree
    AU$250
0.2 km from Cairns Plaza Hotel
Pool
Restaurant
Booking.com
AU$254
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    AU$254
  • Vio.com
    AU$236
  • Hotels.com
    AU$236
0.9 km from Cairns Plaza Hotel
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
AU$189
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotel Website
    AU$186
  • Vio.com
    AU$176
  • Hotels.com
    AU$176
2.7 km from Cairns Plaza Hotel
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Cairns
Reviews (1,429)
Filter reviews
1,429 results
Traveller rating
499
644
208
58
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
499
644
208
58
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location ocean view suite across the road top floor good size reception staff within easy walking distance great room esplanade playground microwave muddies laundry reef
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 1,429 reviews
Reviewed 9 July 2023

The hotel is located on the Esplanade across the road to Muddy's children pool and playground. This is a small hotel with very comfortable rooms but limited facilities. The pool is very small and hardly used by the patrons. A carpark and a laundry are available. Breakfast is not served on site but Muddy's café provides breakfast, fruit cocktails and cooked food all day. The desk staff is very helpful.

Date of stay: June 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Genevieve E
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cairns Plaza Hotel, Other at Cairns Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2023

Dear Genevieve E
Greetings from Cairns. Thanks for your recent stay and review with us. We are a small privately owned and run hotel in a great location central to everything you need.

Our pool area is sized to suit the hotel and considering the age of the hotel was built to suit at the time. Hopefully you will be able to visit the hotel in the future and experience the changes that are happening in the pool area over the coming months, this is sure to make the area look bigger and inviting to all.

Our guest laundry located on level 1 is a busy little laundry and used by all.

Once again thanks for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Take care






Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2023 via mobile

We've stayed at Cairns Plaza Hotel a number of times with family because it's so close to Muddys now that we have grandchildren. If you're after a clean, comfortable mid-market hotel room, we found the two adjoining rooms they gave us were clean, comfortable and convenient for 5 of us.

Unfortunately my pet hate has always been plastic kettles rather than good sturdy stainless steel. Please phase them out.

Date of stay: July 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank stark t
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cairns Plaza Hotel, Other at Cairns Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2023

Dear GlobeTrotters4001

Greetings from The Cairns Plaza Hotel. Its great to hear that as a family you enjoyed your stay with us and took advantage of the interconnecting rooms, when travelling with family these rooms are very handy.

We are lucky to be on The Cairns Esplanade across from Muddys Playground and yes always a great addition for the kids.

We have taken your comment on board with regards to the kettles and will look into this for future stays. If ever you are returning to the hotel please do let us know in advance and we will try and ensure we can accommodate this for you.

Once again thanks for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Take care and stay safe.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2023

We stayed at this hotel for two nights recently and found our accommodation really pleasant. Location is fantastic - walking distance to many various restaurants/ cafes, Cairns Aquarium. It's opposite the playground and The Esplanade. So the hotel is good for families with young children.

The room was spacious and clean. Very comfortable. The room has bright lights, which is excellent if you want to read (unlike so many hotel rooms that seems to lack light). The bathroom is clean too. Best of all we get our rooms serviced daily. So nice to come back to a tidy room after a morning of sight-seeing.

We would highly recommend this hotel and come back again.

Date of stay: June 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Joy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cairns Plaza Hotel, Other at Cairns Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2023

Hello Joy T

Greetings from The Cairns Plaza Hotel. Thanks for your recent stay with us and your comment. We must agree with you our location is fantastic and central to everything that one needs whilst on holidays.

It is always pleasing to hear that our guests have enjoyed our rooms along with the cleanliness, and yes our lighting is definitely what you need particularly at the end of the day when you are relaxing and enjoying a good read.

Thanks again Joy we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Safe travels and take care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2023

Always stay here when we come to Cairns. Close to town, great cafe at Muddies and across the road from the ocean. The hotel is clean and fresh, staff are friendly, on-site parking. Unfortunately restaurant is closed but we grabbed a couple of the breakfast boxes, saved us from shopping. Great value. The pool is getting a makeover, not sure when but looking forward to the result.

Room tip: Check what’s on in Cairns only just avoided the Iron Man competition.
Date of stay: June 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 640judyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cairns Plaza Hotel, Other at Cairns Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2023

Dear Judy L

Greetings from The Cairns Plaza Hotel. Thanks for your recent stay with us along with your comment. It is always good to see our guests returning.

Yes our pool area is currently going through a enhancement and we are looking forward to the end result, exciting times ahead.

The boxed breakfast options we have at the front desk are great with everything you need if you are on the go or just on your balcony overlooking the Cairns Esplanade.

Thanks again, we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future and to experience our new look pool area.

Take care and safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2023

It seems whenever I go through Cairns the hotels prices are up and down. On a recent trip I looked at several properties, most were three times the price of the Plaza. I've never stayed here before, but now I'm glad I did. Super large apartment right on the beach. Everything was immaculately clean. The property is in walking distance to all the nice restaurants and attractions. The bed was super comfortable and the property was really quiet for where it was located. I highly recommend the Plaza. I will stay here again next time I'm in town.

Room tip: Keep your parking place and walk if you get a good one.
Date of stay: April 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Brien J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cairns Plaza Hotel, Other at Cairns Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2023

Dear Brien J

Greetings from The Cairns Plaza Hotel. Thanks for your recent stay with us and your comments. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay after finding us.

We do take pride with our housekeeping team ensuring our guest rooms are clean and well presented.

Being centrally located and in walking distance to all restaurant and being on the Cairns Esplanade is just perfect.

Thanks again and we look forward to welcoming back to the hotel in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews