We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good clean hotel with helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside
Ranked #9 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 March 2012

Stayed here for two nights in September. The room was very clean and quite comfortable, exactly what I would expect from this level of hotel. I paid a bit extra for a room facing the water, and the view was remarkable. In particular, the hotel staff were quite helpful in recommending activities. They suggested and reserved a tour of the local rainforest and set me up with a high quality company for snorkeling the reef. The hotel is not within walking distance to the town center, but it was not very far using the hotel shuttle or a taxi. I also had breakfast in the morning, and I consider it about average for a typical hotel buffet.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,399)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,018 - 1,022 of 1,399 reviews

Reviewed 13 March 2012

A nice hotel on the sea front although we couldn’t see it from our room. (There is no beach though and you can’t go into the sea here due to Crocodiles in the water!). The hotel room was well equipped and very comfortable.
There is a free shuttle bus from the hotel into the town centre running every hour. This was a must as otherwise it was a good 20-30 minute walk into the town.
The hotel also had a coin operated laundry available.
Breakfast was very good, catering for most nationalities and the food in the restaurant was good too.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mwbarnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2012

We stayed at the Mercure Harbourside in November as part of a three month trip to Australia. We've stayed at Accor (and specifically Mercure) hotels before and we thought we knew what to expect.....how wrong we were!

The first disappointment was with the location - we were significantly further out of town than the hotel's website led us to believe. The complimentary shuttle bus was driven by hotel staff who clearly hated this aspect of their job - treating guests rudely & playing loud rock music en route.

Although the room itself was a decent size, the furnishings had seen better days and the room felt tired and grubby overall.

The bathroom as the worst we have ever experienced in a hotel of this standard and this price-point - the shower sprayed water sideways in a fine mist, the shower curtain was woefully inadequate and it was impossible to take a shower without completely drenching the entire bathroom. When we complained to the front desk staff we were informed that the bathrooms needed refurbishment but they weren't sure when that was going to happen!

Generally speaking the staff were unhelpful and disinterested - serious customer service training is required to rectify this. The only exception were the delightful breakfast servers who always greeted us with a smile and they were especially helpful and charming.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SP2202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureHsideGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2012

Dear SP2022,

Thank you for your recent comments on Trip Advisor, it is important that we hear from our guests so we can review our products and service.

I would like to take this opportunity to apologies for not meeting your expectations on your recent stay; with regards to your reception related comments, I have discussed with my Front Office Manager to review. The hotel receives many great comments on happy and accommodating staff, I am concerned that this not the impression you received on this occasion.

I would also like to take this opportunity to apologies for not meeting your expectations with the bathroom and room.

Kind regards,

Shane Edwards
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2012

We stayed three nights at this hotel and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We had a one bedroom suite - bedroom with king size bed and a fold out sofa in the lounge area for the friend that was travelling with us. The kitchenette area and dining table and chairs were an added bonus. The kitchen had a sink, counter space, small fridge and microwave. The room and lounge area were large and well appointed and very clean. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful and the beach towels we could borrow at the front desk were a very nice touch. We had a balcony off our room with a view of the city and the hotel courtyard. Overall, a very nice hotel and reasonably priced with great rooms and service. Location was good - at the far end of Esplanade so a quiet location but still only a walk of a kilometer or two to all the restaurants and shops and you could do the entire walk on the amazing boardwalk that runs along the waterfront. AND the hotel offered a free shuttle into the city center and back every hour on the hour from 10am until 10pm each day.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KMc2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

A very nice well presented modern hotel with very friendly and helpful staff.
Room was of a good size with balcony over looking the bay.
Bathroom was ok, however a rubbish shower and shower curtain that ended up soaking the whole bathroom!
We didn't eat at the hotel as pricey and we wanted to experience Cairns (which is rubbish!)
The hotel has a free bus service on the hour in to town and back. Use it, as it's a little way from the main town area.
All in all, a perfect hotel for 'finding your feet' when first arriving in Cairns.

Room Tip: Spend you first night here in Cairns
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jamessalmon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureHsideGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2012

Dear Jamessalmon,

Thankyou for taking the time out to write a review on Trip advisor as it is always important to receive constructive feedback. I am happy to here that you enjoyed your time at the hotel and Cairns in general.

With regards to menu options main courses range from $28- $36, however we do operate an all day menu with prices ranging from $14- $32. We do understand that guests are also in Cairns and we encourage visitors to see what the town has to offer.

Once again thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to Cairns.

Kind regards

Shane Edwards
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
2.0 km away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
1.2 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.4 km away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#6 of 64 in Cairns
2,287 reviews
2.1 km away
Pullman Cairns International
1.4 km away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Cairns

Been to Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside

Address: 209-217 The Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#14 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
Price Range: $113 - $244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside 4*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside! Formerly known as Mercure Cairns Harbourside, located on The Esplanade and overlooking beautiful Trinity Bay, Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside is a popular retreat for both holidaymakers and business guests. Surrounded by lush tropical gardens and boasting breathtaking ocean and hinterland views, the Holiday Inn Cairns offers 173 stylishly appointed rooms, each with its own private balcony. Guests can also enjoy a range of hotel amenities and services, including Teshi's Restaurant, Blue Mango Café Wine Bar, swimming pool and spa, 24-hour room service, 24-hour business centre, free CBD shuttle, and more. Just a short stroll into town along The Esplanade and less than 10 minutes drive from Cairns Airport, the Holiday Inn Cairns is the perfect place for you to relax and unwind in tropical North Queensland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Cairns Harbourside Hotel Cairns
Accor Cairns Harbourside
Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside Queensland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing