We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (385)
Filter reviews
385 results
Traveller rating
227
134
19
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
227
134
19
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews washer and dryer night market great location separate bedroom central location bbq area small kitchen apartment was clean centre of town living area serviced daily reef tour the air conditioning self contained the great barrier reef stayed here for nights reef terminal
Filter
Updating list...
68 - 73 of 385 reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2017

This is a well appointed apartment hotel, and with that it understands the following: you need to clean your kitchen dishes, the sheets are not changed daily, and there really isn't a bedroom view. BUT: you can wash your clothes (essential after a day on the reef), the AC works well, the front desk staff are wonderfully helpful and polite and you have room to stretch out. I didn't use the pool (however I did use the deck to relax) but it is clean and looked wonderful. The location of this hotel could not be better--you're next door to the night markets, you're one street off the main drag (keeping the noise down) yet close to all restaurants.

I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Rhuizinga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilpalazzo, Front Office Manager at Il Palazzo Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2017

Many thanks for taking the time to comment on your stay here at Il Palazzo. We are so glad that you enjoyed the break here with us, and look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Kind regards
Caroline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2017 via mobile

We stayed at IL Palazzo Boutique Hotel for a week in early March. The room was large and equipped with a full kitchen minus an oven. The washer and dryer in the unit were wonderful for cleaning the clothes from our prior 12 day cruise.

The room had a balcony that faced the water, an eating area and ample living area. The sofa made into a second bed. The bedroom had louvered doors that could be closed for privacy from the sofa bed in the lounge area. The large bathroom had a nice soaking tub. We did not use the pool but it looked nice.

The location was FABULOUS ! We could walk to everything in the heart of Cairns.

The decor would be best described as modest but very clean.

I would recommend the property to all travelers seeking a great location and a clean, comfortable place to stay. We would stay there again !

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank PepperJack14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2017

We chose this based on the location--in town and a short walk to the boats to the great barrier reef. The hotel is lovely. The room was bright, clean, open and comfortable. The desk staff arranged my snorkeling trip to the reef, which was quite convenient. We spent lots of time at the pool--we needed some rest from all our excursions. The pool is small, but we were the only ones there whenever we went. The pool furniture is in perfect shape. We didn't cook except for tea and coffee because we were afraid of setting off the smoke alarm and all that that would have entailed, but the kitchen was well equipped. If I'm ever lucky enough to be back, I'll likely stay here.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2017 via mobile

When we turned the air conditioning on, could smell the strong smell of mould. Made my friend and I feel unwell and congested. The place is run down and in desperate need of upgrading. Also, something they don't advise is the warning of sensitive smoke alarm that if triggered will have the fire brigade turn up and could cost you $1000. Even the toaster could trigger the smoke alarm, so turn on the exhaust fan! The location is the only good thing and if you don't mind waking up in the morning feeling unwell and don't use anything in the kitchenette and don't mind it being run down, then stay here. I won't stay here, there are better options for the price.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank holly g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilpalazzo, Front Office Manager at Il Palazzo Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2017

Dear Claire,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, which we take very seriously. As you know, the unit you stayed in is not under our Management. We are somewhat surprised that you did not mention the air-conditioning problem as soon as you had checked in, rather than wait until you checked out three days later. Had we known, we could have taken immediate steps to rectify the situation and you would not have had to suffer as you say you did.

We are well aware that the kitchens and bathrooms are in need of upgrading and plans are being prepared for this work to be done.

Many hotels have the problem of expensive charges being levied if smoke alarms are triggered. Unfortunately, we are obliged to have that type of alarm in that position in the unit and the QFES will not allow us to change it. We feel that it is helpful to make guests aware of the situation and it does avoid a lot of callouts.

As you say, there are many other accommodation options for the price, but none in such a great location!

Kind regards,
Frances Kelly
Il Palazzo Boutique Apartments Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2017 via mobile

My family (my Dad is in a wheelchair) stayed here thankfully for just one night because we would have not been able to stay any longer. Not happy because we rang the Il Palazzo before we booked our night and we were told that the room was wheelchair friendly and asked the questions 1. Does the bathroom have handrails to assist Dad from getting up off the toilet. 2. Was there shower chair and a hand rail. This is NOT the case. There was a shower chair but the RSL lady that came to shower Dad couldn't get in to give Dad a proper shower because of the limited room she cut Dads arm on the glass. We had to move furniture around to get the wheelchair around. we have stayed at Fitzroy Island and Mantra trilogy and they have disabled rooms. When I approached the manager about the troubles we were having and explained the rooms mentioned previously she found it hard to believe that their bathrooms were better suited for disabled people. She did apologise for been given the wrong information but that's doesn't help when your Dad has so much trouble going to the toilet. They advertise being boutique apartments but our apartment needs a paint and updated furniture. The outdoor furniture was so dusty it had to be cleaned before we could sit on them. Since it rained that night we could not sit on the patio due to no cover and the water pouring down from the balcony above us. We have stayed many different places when in Cairns but I would not come back here.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
Thank Shazz19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilpalazzo, Front Office Manager at Il Palazzo Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2017

Dear Shazz,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we are truly sorry that you were so disappointed with your stay at Il Palazzo. We apologise for any mis-information that you were given. This is the first time that we have had a complaint about our disabled facilities and we are very sorry to hear that you will not be staying with us again.

With kind regards,

Frances Kelly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews