We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem Of A Hotel In The Centre Of Cairns”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Il Palazzo Boutique Apartments Hotel
Ranked #2 of 15 Cairns B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 April 2017

If your looking for a relaxed appartment hotel in the centre of Cairns look no further than Il Palazzo. Situated a few yards from the night market, very nice appartments fully furnished with all you require for a relaxing holiday. In the end we only ate breakfast in the appartment as there are so many places to eat around we didn't see any point in cooking but if you wanted to all you need is in the appartment and there is also a barbecue down by the pool which you can also use. The pool is great, plenty of seating and sun loungers, we used it most days. Booking trips through the hotel us easy, and there are loads of information booklets available in reception.
We had a lovely stay in Cairns and would recommend this hotel to everyone.
Thank you

Room Tip: Appartment overlooking the pool on a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank LAO55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilpalazzo, Front Office Manager at Il Palazzo Boutique Apartments Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2017

Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a great review! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay here with us at Il Palazzo, and hope that we will get the opportunity to welcome you again.
Kind regards
Caroline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (344)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

29 - 33 of 344 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2017

This is a well appointed apartment hotel, and with that it understands the following: you need to clean your kitchen dishes, the sheets are not changed daily, and there really isn't a bedroom view. BUT: you can wash your clothes (essential after a day on the reef), the AC works well, the front desk staff are wonderfully helpful and polite and you have room to stretch out. I didn't use the pool (however I did use the deck to relax) but it is clean and looked wonderful. The location of this hotel could not be better--you're next door to the night markets, you're one street off the main drag (keeping the noise down) yet close to all restaurants.

I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Rhuizinga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilpalazzo, Front Office Manager at Il Palazzo Boutique Apartments Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2017

Many thanks for taking the time to comment on your stay here at Il Palazzo. We are so glad that you enjoyed the break here with us, and look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Kind regards
Caroline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2017 via mobile

We stayed at IL Palazzo Boutique Hotel for a week in early March. The room was large and equipped with a full kitchen minus an oven. The washer and dryer in the unit were wonderful for cleaning the clothes from our prior 12 day cruise.

The room had a balcony that faced the water, an eating area and ample living area. The sofa made into a second bed. The bedroom had louvered doors that could be closed for privacy from the sofa bed in the lounge area. The large bathroom had a nice soaking tub. We did not use the pool but it looked nice.

The location was FABULOUS ! We could walk to everything in the heart of Cairns.

The decor would be best described as modest but very clean.

I would recommend the property to all travelers seeking a great location and a clean, comfortable place to stay. We would stay there again !

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank PepperJack14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2017

We chose this based on the location--in town and a short walk to the boats to the great barrier reef. The hotel is lovely. The room was bright, clean, open and comfortable. The desk staff arranged my snorkeling trip to the reef, which was quite convenient. We spent lots of time at the pool--we needed some rest from all our excursions. The pool is small, but we were the only ones there whenever we went. The pool furniture is in perfect shape. We didn't cook except for tea and coffee because we were afraid of setting off the smoke alarm and all that that would have entailed, but the kitchen was well equipped. If I'm ever lucky enough to be back, I'll likely stay here.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2017 via mobile

When we turned the air conditioning on, could smell the strong smell of mould. Made my friend and I feel unwell and congested. The place is run down and in desperate need of upgrading. Also, something they don't advise is the warning of sensitive smoke alarm that if triggered will have the fire brigade turn up and could cost you $1000. Even the toaster could trigger the smoke alarm, so turn on the exhaust fan! The location is the only good thing and if you don't mind waking up in the morning feeling unwell and don't use anything in the kitchenette and don't mind it being run down, then stay here. I won't stay here, there are better options for the price.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
Thank holly g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilpalazzo, Front Office Manager at Il Palazzo Boutique Apartments Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2017

Dear Claire,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, which we take very seriously. As you know, the unit you stayed in is not under our Management. We are somewhat surprised that you did not mention the air-conditioning problem as soon as you had checked in, rather than wait until you checked out three days later. Had we known, we could have taken immediate steps to rectify the situation and you would not have had to suffer as you say you did.

We are well aware that the kitchens and bathrooms are in need of upgrading and plans are being prepared for this work to be done.

Many hotels have the problem of expensive charges being levied if smoke alarms are triggered. Unfortunately, we are obliged to have that type of alarm in that position in the unit and the QFES will not allow us to change it. We feel that it is helpful to make guests aware of the situation and it does avoid a lot of callouts.

As you say, there are many other accommodation options for the price, but none in such a great location!

Kind regards,
Frances Kelly
Il Palazzo Boutique Apartments Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
2 km away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 63 in Cairns
627 reviews
0.5 km away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.5 km away
Pullman Cairns International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.6 km away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#11 of 63 in Cairns
1,164 reviews
0.6 km away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Palazzo Boutique Apartments Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Palazzo Boutique Apartments Hotel

Address: 62 Abbott St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Cairns
Price Range: $133 - $226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Il Palazzo Boutique Apartments Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Il Palazzo is a stylish boutique hotel situated in the heart of Cairns. Its prime location means that guests are central to the bustling business district, Casino, Conference Centre, Reef Fleet Terminal, markets and shops. The exciting Esplanade with swimming Lagoon and boardwalk, a plethora of cosmopolitan restaurants and major international hotels are within easy walking distance.Il Palazzo is a modern boutique apartment hotel with stunning neoclassical European inspired architecture featuring cream and terracotta decor, impressive stone sculptures and classical fine wrought iron work throughout.There are 38 fully self-contained one bedroom apartments, each with air-conditioning, a fully equipped kitchen and laundry, a large shady balcony, mini bar, Austar TV, CD/DVD, telephone, in-room safe and daily servicing. We have recently undertaken a partial refurbishment with new carpets, bedcovers, flatscreen TVs and DVDs. Il Palazzo has one of the best locations in Cairns and features a beautiful Mediterranean style courtyard with a landscaped heated swimming pool. There is a roof top sundeck, BBQ area and gazebo. Business services are available as well as a tour desk, dry cleaning, FREE wireless internet and secure undercover parking.The staff take pride in offering guests a personal service and attention to detail is paramount.While visiting one of the most sought after destinations in the world -Cairns and the Great Barrier Reef - stay in a luxury apartment at Il Palazzo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, lastminute.com.au and Cancelon so you can book your Il Palazzo Boutique Apartments Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Il Palazzo Boutique Apartment
Il Palazzo Boutique Apartments Hotel Cairns, Queensland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing