We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and people”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Il Palazzo Boutique Apartments Hotel
Ranked #2 of 15 Cairns B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 January 2017

We travelled with another couple and were in Cairns for a week so we wanted a specific type of accommodation - self-contained; separate lounge room; walking distance to the Esplanade; close to many restaurants and cafes. We found it at Il Palazzo. Firstly speaking to Frances by phone and then meeting Kay and Donovan and Frances - they were all welcoming; knowledgeable about their city and what it offers. The housekeeping staff were all friendly and efficient as well. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel and would happily stay there again (and will do so if and when we get back to Cairns). The pool and barbecue area were at the back of the property and easily accessible from all rooms.

Room Tip: There is a lift and off street secure parking. We had rooms at the back overlooking the pool and fou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 123Wanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilpalazzo, Front Office Manager at Il Palazzo Boutique Apartments Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2017

Thank you Wanda for such a great review, which is very much appreciated. It was a pleasure to meet you all and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay here. We do hope that you will return to Il Palazzo one day and we shall look forward to seeing you again.

With kind regards,

Frances Kelly
Reservations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (344)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

40 - 44 of 344 reviews

Reviewed 21 December 2016

I stayed at Il Parazzo with my husband and two young children. The apartment has a separate bedroom, a sofa bed in the living room, kitchen and internal laundry.

We were given a room on the first floor where has direct access to the swimming pool and BBQ area. We loved the heated swimming pool, and cooking BBQ there.

The apartment is located right next to the night market. The esplanade lagoon, restaurants, Woolworths supermarket and the casino are short distance walk, so no need to drive anywhere.

Ladies at the reception were very friendly and helpful. We enjoyed the stay at Il Palazzo, and it was an ideal place for a family like us.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank akm193Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilpalazzo, Front Office Manager at Il Palazzo Boutique Apartments Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2017

Thank you for your review, which is very much appreciated. We wish you a very Happy New Year and hope that you will return to stay with us again sometime.

With kind regards,
Frances Kelly
Il Palazzo Boutique Apartments Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2016 via mobile

Located in the hearts of the city. 20 mins from the airport. 3 minute walk to the esplanade. Hotel has free wifi. Doesn't have ocean views however hotel is clean and neat. Staff were extremely friendly. Is self contained with washing facilities. If i had a choice to stay there again I would stay again.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled solo
Thank honestly15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2016 via mobile

Suites are clean and offer the traveler a kitchen and laundry. The registration closes early 6 pm so when our plane arrived at 8 and we got to the hotel at 9 pm, the door was locked. we called and were told our room number, key in door and to check in the next morning at 7am. We found the appliances were there but no detergent so we went to an IGA nearby and bought food, soap and paper plates, forks. Later we found dishes, glasses and utensils plus in the refrigerator items for sale. If a person had been there to tell us at check-in all these things, incl soap packets available at desk, it would have been helpful.
We had a lot of laundry and started immediately to do the wash. Washer was fine but dryer did not dry. The next morning we told the manager and, after checking to see if it was our fault (I couldn't get the hair dryer to work because I didn't know you had to turn on each outlet), he gave us a key to an empty suite near ours which had a brand new washer dryer. So we were able to do the wash.
The bed was fine for my son. I slept on the sofa bed which was somewhat uncomfortable.
Location was great with restaurants and the night market nearby. The hotel is lovely. It was a 10 min walk to our snorkeling boat trip .

Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
Thank Marilyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilpalazzo, Front Office Manager at Il Palazzo Boutique Apartments Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2016

Dear Marilyn,

Thank you so much for taking the time to send us your review. All feedback is very much appreciated. Very often guests let us know if they will be arriving after-hours and had we known, we would have been able to send you our after-instructions. As you discovered, the apartments are fully equipped with crockery, cutlery, pots and pans so we are sorry to hear that you went out and bought plates and forks. I am pleased to hear that the Manager was able to assist you with the dryer. I gather that the hairdryer just needed to be switched on at the wall. I am sorry to hear that you found the sofabed a little uncomfortable. This is not a complaint that we normally hear and I have slept on the beds myself and found no problem but we do like our guests to enjoy a good night's sleep if possible! As you say, the location is amazing with so many facilities within a very short walk from the hotel. Overall, it appears that you enjoyed your visit and we thank you for staying at Il Palazzo and trust you will take home many happy memories of Cairns.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2016 via mobile

Clean and comfortable, with kitchenette and washing machine and dryer. Staff were helpful from booking tours, they even had my room ready early after I contacted them as I arrived early.
The place was walking distance from shops and cafes.

Stayed: April 2016, travelled solo
Thank Jossaloss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
2 km away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 63 in Cairns
628 reviews
0.5 km away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.5 km away
Pullman Cairns International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.6 km away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#11 of 63 in Cairns
1,166 reviews
0.6 km away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Palazzo Boutique Apartments Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Palazzo Boutique Apartments Hotel

Address: 62 Abbott St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Cairns
Price Range: $132 - $226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Il Palazzo Boutique Apartments Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Il Palazzo is a stylish boutique hotel situated in the heart of Cairns. Its prime location means that guests are central to the bustling business district, Casino, Conference Centre, Reef Fleet Terminal, markets and shops. The exciting Esplanade with swimming Lagoon and boardwalk, a plethora of cosmopolitan restaurants and major international hotels are within easy walking distance.Il Palazzo is a modern boutique apartment hotel with stunning neoclassical European inspired architecture featuring cream and terracotta decor, impressive stone sculptures and classical fine wrought iron work throughout.There are 38 fully self-contained one bedroom apartments, each with air-conditioning, a fully equipped kitchen and laundry, a large shady balcony, mini bar, Austar TV, CD/DVD, telephone, in-room safe and daily servicing. We have recently undertaken a partial refurbishment with new carpets, bedcovers, flatscreen TVs and DVDs. Il Palazzo has one of the best locations in Cairns and features a beautiful Mediterranean style courtyard with a landscaped heated swimming pool. There is a roof top sundeck, BBQ area and gazebo. Business services are available as well as a tour desk, dry cleaning, FREE wireless internet and secure undercover parking.The staff take pride in offering guests a personal service and attention to detail is paramount.While visiting one of the most sought after destinations in the world -Cairns and the Great Barrier Reef - stay in a luxury apartment at Il Palazzo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelQuickly and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Il Palazzo Boutique Apartments Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Il Palazzo Boutique Apartment
Il Palazzo Boutique Apartments Hotel Cairns, Queensland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing