We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Il Palazzo Boutique Apartments Hotel
Ranked #2 of 15 Cairns B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 March 2012

My partner and I stayed three nights here last week. We had a lovely stay. The hotel is very centrally located for the Esplanade and night markets as mentioned in other reviews. We had a room facing the pool area on the ground floor and it was very quiet and easy to go back and forth. It was lovely to be able to use a pool outside. The pool area and the sun loungers weren't very busy at all and we pretty much had the place to ourselves. We were at the end of the season so I'm not sure how it would compare in high season.

It was very handy to have a washing machine and dryer in the apartment after a couple of weeks of travelling. On the downside it was a little difficult to use the wardrobe as it being a small room the bedside table was so close to it. Overall, the apartment was clean and well maintained.

The staff on reception were very friendly and helpful.

I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Request a pool side room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PMMLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (344)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

224 - 228 of 344 reviews

Reviewed 4 February 2012

The staff here go out of their way to help you and provide excellent service for a really reasonable price. Staff booked taxis for us, gave us advice on the weather and helped us navigate Cairns. Absolutely perfect location in a really nice area of Cairns City. Everything was extremely clean and tidy, with comfortable bedding and couches provided.
It was particularly nice to go there during the low season (February) as things were a bit quiet, allowing us to use the pool on our own.

Room Tip: Rooms not facing the street are just as good as rooms facing the back of the hotel. Can sometimes be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank miss_kate18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2012

I visited Cairns for a work trip and was booked into the Il Palazzo. I dont think the website gives it much justice. I was early but was able to check in. In trying to use the air con,I received personal service and ALL staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful. The 1 bed apartment is enormous with loads of character. PLUS the apartment is SPOTLESS. Completely and totally clean!

The location is perfect. Around the corner are plenty of restaurants for dinner and breakfast. If you dine before 6.30pm some of the restaurents offer a discount. On the same street as the Il Palaazo, there are night markets with lots of souvenirs. There is even amassage parlour giving massages for $15.00. Unfortunately, I didnt have time to test this out.

Overall, really happy with Il Palazzo and would recommend for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Harball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2012

We were pleasantly surprised by this place - great value for the location, right downtown in middle of the action! Service was excellent as well.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicole C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2011

Donovan, Kay, and Frances truly go out of thier way to ensure your visit is perfect. The location of the hotel is perfect with about a 1-5 minute walk from anything you want to do in Cairns. The apartment style rooms really added to our enjoyment with enough room to allow the night owl and the early riser to not disturb each other Being able to eat breakfast in the room with a small kithen is a big plus for us as well. The service is excellent and the only reason I am not rating it a 5 is because the front desk is not manned 24 hours. Not a limitation if you know what to expect, and the staff is so good about taking care of you that it really does not matter. The hotel is tied in with pretty much all tour services and places to eat, so everytime they made a reservation for us we were treated very well and given the best tables. My only complaint about the room is the bed was a bit saggy, otherwise it was very nice. All of the backside rooms overlook the pool, and several of those on the top floor also have a water view. Without question I would stay here again. The kitchen, living room, and service add up to making this the best hotel and value in Cairns for me.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mc130hip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
2 km away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 63 in Cairns
628 reviews
0.5 km away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.5 km away
Pullman Cairns International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.6 km away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#11 of 63 in Cairns
1,166 reviews
0.6 km away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Palazzo Boutique Apartments Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Palazzo Boutique Apartments Hotel

Address: 62 Abbott St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Cairns
Price Range: $132 - $226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Il Palazzo Boutique Apartments Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Il Palazzo is a stylish boutique hotel situated in the heart of Cairns. Its prime location means that guests are central to the bustling business district, Casino, Conference Centre, Reef Fleet Terminal, markets and shops. The exciting Esplanade with swimming Lagoon and boardwalk, a plethora of cosmopolitan restaurants and major international hotels are within easy walking distance.Il Palazzo is a modern boutique apartment hotel with stunning neoclassical European inspired architecture featuring cream and terracotta decor, impressive stone sculptures and classical fine wrought iron work throughout.There are 38 fully self-contained one bedroom apartments, each with air-conditioning, a fully equipped kitchen and laundry, a large shady balcony, mini bar, Austar TV, CD/DVD, telephone, in-room safe and daily servicing. We have recently undertaken a partial refurbishment with new carpets, bedcovers, flatscreen TVs and DVDs. Il Palazzo has one of the best locations in Cairns and features a beautiful Mediterranean style courtyard with a landscaped heated swimming pool. There is a roof top sundeck, BBQ area and gazebo. Business services are available as well as a tour desk, dry cleaning, FREE wireless internet and secure undercover parking.The staff take pride in offering guests a personal service and attention to detail is paramount.While visiting one of the most sought after destinations in the world -Cairns and the Great Barrier Reef - stay in a luxury apartment at Il Palazzo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Agoda, Wotif.com, Ctrip TA, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelQuickly and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Il Palazzo Boutique Apartments Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Il Palazzo Boutique Apartment
Il Palazzo Boutique Apartments Hotel Cairns, Queensland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing