We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Mercure
AU$200
Booking.com
AU$200
ZenHotels.com
AU$182
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
773CatW
Sydney, Australia

Solid average accomodation

Review of Mercure Cairns
3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 27 Feb 2024
The rooms are clean and the staff friendly enough but this was a disappointing stay for a Mecure. There are only 6 car spots and everyone else has to fend for themselves (including moving cars to avoid time penalties). The restaurant is basic, unable to cope with food allergies so we ate at the Novotel the majority of the time. Both the Novotel and Mecure accepted discount dining for Accor Plus but the Mecure really had no idea of the benefits for a Gold Accor member.
Date of stay: February 2024
Room Tip: Don't bring a car
Trip type: Travelled on business
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Riley, a Crystalbrook Collection Resort
Tripadvisor
AU$256
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
0.3 km from Mercure Cairns
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
AU$202
No prepayment needed
  • Official Site
    AU$202
  • Priceline
    AU$190
  • Expedia.com
    AU$202
0.2 km from Mercure Cairns
Free Wifi
Pool
Tripadvisor
AU$227
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
1.6 km from Mercure Cairns
Free Wifi
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
AU$152
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    AU$120
  • Hotels.com
    AU$126
0.9 km from Mercure Cairns
Free Wifi
Free parking
Gilligan's Backpackers Hotel and Resort Pool View
Booking.com
AU$220
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Vio.com
    AU$87
  • Expedia.com
    AU$192
0.6 km from Mercure Cairns
Pool
Bar/Lounge
Booking.com
  • Novotel
    AU$246
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$214
  • Priceline
0.2 km from Mercure Cairns
Pool
Restaurant
Cairns Destination
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$228
  • Hotels.com
0.7 km from Mercure Cairns
Pool
Restaurant
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$140
  • Priceline
0.2 km from Mercure Cairns
Free Wifi
Free parking
External View
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$256
  • Hotels.com
0.8 km from Mercure Cairns
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$203
  • travelup.com
0.4 km from Mercure Cairns
Free Wifi
Pool
View more hotels in Cairns
Reviews (91)
Filter reviews
91 results
Traveller rating
15
36
23
9
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
15
36
23
9
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ibis hotel accor membership overnight stay walking distance to everything comfortable rooms short stay great place to stay night market central location would definitely stay here again reception staff aquarium renos esplanade cbd microwave housekeeping
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 91 reviews
Reviewed 26 November 2023

We really appreciated and loved this type of architecture, the whole Queenslander type of look that so represents Far North Queensland. It's so refreshing especially being surrounded by so many large hotels. Our room still had all the modern, large comfy features that makes a great stay. It's positioned in a great spot for cafes and the esplanade too. The breakfast buffet and dinner had lots to choose from and was very tasty in such a lovely, relaxing setting overlooking the pool. All staff we encountered were only too happy to help in any way and tried very hard to make sure we had an exceptional stay. Thank you

Date of stay: November 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank planetwonderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 November 2023

Date of stay: November 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of Tripadvisor LLC nor of its partners. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Vanora Calcagno, General Manager at Mercure Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2023

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 4 October 2023

This hotel is only 10 a 10-minute walk to the city centre and the fantastic pubs and cafes on the Esplanade. If you want to do it in 2 minutes get one of the the electric scooters outside the reception area.
The safe are welcoming and very friendly, making my 3-week stay a pleasure. The only downside was their restaurant is not open every night, but not a problem when you are that close to everything the city has to offer.

Room tip: It was annoying when they came to the room every day to check the mini bar (I didn't use it).
Date of stay: September 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Grant L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Vanora Calcagno, General Manager at Mercure Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2023

Dear Grant,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Cairns..

It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Our restaurant operates six days a week and close only on Sundays. For sure the next time you can experience alot more in our own restaurant.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,
Mercure Cairns Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2023 via mobile

Arriving was a little bit of a hassle as Google sends you to another place. Place looks lovely from outside side.
Service was okay, was a little setback that in-house staff are there to check mini bar before we leave the room for the day. The rooms were okay bathroom a little cramped especially trying to close the door. The beds are a little hazardous, locks on the wheels might be a good thing. The decor could do with an update but was comfortable. I feel the the $25 charge for parking what looks to be the staff parking is bit steep. Overall was an okay stay. 7 out of 10.

Date of stay: September 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank whitty672018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Katrina Stolz, Owner at Mercure Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2023

Dear whitty672018,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Cairns. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We note your concerns regarding the parking and wish to advise that due to the 6 limited spaces we have available this is why a fee is charged to secure a spot. This is not staff parking.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,

The Mercure Cairns team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2023

Wonderful place to stay, so close to many of the attractions & eateries, rooms and facilities well kept, lovely pool area, the staff here are what make it amazing though, high level customer service, cannot fault it.
Rooms are nice and fresh, spacious & clean.

Date of stay: September 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Rebecca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Katrina Stolz, Owner at Mercure Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2023

Thank you for the great review on our property. I will pass on your comments to our team as they appreciate the feedback. We look forward to seeing you again when you next travel to Cairns

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews