We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Mercure
AU$188
Booking.com
AU$188
Expedia.com
AU$188
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (91)
Filter reviews
91 results
Traveller rating
15
36
23
9
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
15
36
23
9
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ibis hotel accor membership overnight stay walking distance to everything comfortable rooms short stay great place to stay night market central location would definitely stay here again reception staff aquarium renos esplanade cbd microwave housekeeping
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 91 reviews
Reviewed 4 October 2023

This hotel is only 10 a 10-minute walk to the city centre and the fantastic pubs and cafes on the Esplanade. If you want to do it in 2 minutes get one of the the electric scooters outside the reception area.
The safe are welcoming and very friendly, making my 3-week stay a pleasure. The only downside was their restaurant is not open every night, but not a problem when you are that close to everything the city has to offer.

Room tip: It was annoying when they came to the room every day to check the mini bar (I didn't use it).
Date of stay: September 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Grant L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Vanora Calcagno, General Manager at Mercure Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2023

Dear Grant,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Cairns..

It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Our restaurant operates six days a week and close only on Sundays. For sure the next time you can experience alot more in our own restaurant.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,
Mercure Cairns Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2023 via mobile

Arriving was a little bit of a hassle as Google sends you to another place. Place looks lovely from outside side.
Service was okay, was a little setback that in-house staff are there to check mini bar before we leave the room for the day. The rooms were okay bathroom a little cramped especially trying to close the door. The beds are a little hazardous, locks on the wheels might be a good thing. The decor could do with an update but was comfortable. I feel the the $25 charge for parking what looks to be the staff parking is bit steep. Overall was an okay stay. 7 out of 10.

Date of stay: September 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank whitty672018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Katrina Stolz, Owner at Mercure Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2023

Dear whitty672018,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Cairns. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We note your concerns regarding the parking and wish to advise that due to the 6 limited spaces we have available this is why a fee is charged to secure a spot. This is not staff parking.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,

The Mercure Cairns team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2023

Wonderful place to stay, so close to many of the attractions & eateries, rooms and facilities well kept, lovely pool area, the staff here are what make it amazing though, high level customer service, cannot fault it.
Rooms are nice and fresh, spacious & clean.

Date of stay: September 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Rebecca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Katrina Stolz, Owner at Mercure Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2023

Thank you for the great review on our property. I will pass on your comments to our team as they appreciate the feedback. We look forward to seeing you again when you next travel to Cairns

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2023

As an Accor member I wasn't offered any privileges that comes with being a member until I complained the next morning. I see in the information that the front door is locked at 10pm but I was told the reception closed at 11pm. So that was a little confusing until we got our keys out of the locked box and read the instructions at 10.40pm as we could see the receptionist still inside at 10.40pm. Room was good and happy with everything

Date of stay: August 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Elizabeth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Katrina Stolz, Owner at Mercure Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2023

Dear ElizabethG332,

Thank you for your review of Mercure Cairns. We do apologize for the lack of customer service not provided to you during your stay and lack of acknowledgement that you were an Accor member. It would seem that further training of our team is required. We will certainly be putting measures in place to combat this.

We hope though that you enjoyed your stay in Cairns and will look to returning again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2023

Very underwhelming and overpriced. A rating of 3 stars is generous. Room was dark and claustrophobic. Signs of mould in the bathroom around the ceiling in the shower. No matter how good the Corporate rate, won't be staying here again. Only positive - the reception staff, who were keen to please.

Room tip: For the budget minded who are happy with 2.5 stars
Date of stay: August 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Alex P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews