We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My second stay here, love this hotel, the executive floor is fantastic...”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hilton Cairns

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Cairns
Ranked #6 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“My second stay here, love this hotel, the executive floor is fantastic...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2012

This is my second stay at the Hilton Cairns, both trips have been for work and both times I have upgraded to the executive floor. The rooms are of the highest quality, the beds extremely comfortble and the linen & pillows are amazing, and no matter which side of the hotel your room is on the view is breathtaking!

The executive floor means you have breakfast and evening drinks & canapes in the executive lounge, the food is fantastic and the staff are so friendly and make sure you are made feel very welcome.

The Hilton is a great location, close to the city, casino, marina and esplanade, highly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank josnlou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonCairns1, General Manager at Hilton Cairns, responded to this review, 16 May 2012
Dear Traveller,

Thank you for your comments via TripAdvisor for Hilton Cairns – and for your return patronage. I’m pleased to read that you’ve enjoyed the exclusive service of the Executive Floor where you can enjoy the additional benefits you’ve mentioned. Waking up to a view of the City and Mountains or overlooking the Cairns waterfront – there’s always something new to look at. I hope we’ll have the opportunity to welcome you back again on your next trip to the Tropical North.

Yours sincerely,

John Lucas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    941
    743
    295
    103
    55
See reviews for
402
987
143
297
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (427)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2012

Took 30 minutes get the reservations people to agree to honour a Hilton pledge to match advertised prices, discussed this with staff at the hotel and they seemed disinterested and we were then downgraded from the 7th floor to the 6th floor as the room wasn't ready at 2.30pm in the afternoon - prefer to go up, not down. Had room service dinner, 3 courses for two people and the service was very good, all the food was bland with no real flavour. I have never had such tasteless food before. The steak was tasteless, there was a watery green liquid that was meant to be a pepper sauce, no flavour, the desserts looked and tasted like the little cup desserts you buy from a supermarket, again real flavour.

There is some construction work going on at the waterfront and the noise of a generator that runs constantly is audible from the balcony.

Credit card holding fee of $200 was charged for two nights accommodation and wasn't removed by the bank for close to a week. Moved to the Holiday Inn for the third night - great food, upgraded without asking and a $1 credit card holding fee.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daletnurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonCairns1, General Manager at Hilton Cairns, responded to this review, 16 May 2012
Dear Traveller,

Thank you for the TripAdvisor review – I’m sorry to read that some aspects of your stay have below expectation and there was a problem with your room rate on arrival. The comments regarding Room Service have been passed to the Executive Chef for review and action. It’s great that you’ve enjoyed the premium waterfront location and our newly refurbished accommodation rooms.

Yours sincerely,

John Lucas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2012

Stayed here for 5 days for a conference and couldn't be happier! Although the conference booking was for a twin room they were able to give me a king room with prior notice.

Check-in was smooth even at midnight and the staff remained helpful. They had a evening turn down service where they even restocked the complimentary water.

The room was excellent, only fault was TV was a bit temperamental which I didn't bother reporting. Bed was comfy but some may find the down pillows too soft.

The location was great and the view from my room was fantastic. There is no cafe in or around the hotel - but there are a couple 5 mins walk away. It's also right next to the casino n 5 mins walk to the night Market, esplanade n restaurants.

I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nitalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonCairns1, General Manager at Hilton Cairns, responded to this review, 16 May 2012
Dear Traveller,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of Hilton Cairns. I’m very pleased to read that you’ve enjoyed your time here in the Tropical North. It’s a great destination, not just for holiday makers, but for conference delegates such as yourself. It’s only a short walk to the Cairns Convention Centre, an excellent facility servicing both National & International events. If you feel like escaping the Sydney winter – a holiday in the North might be ideal. !

Yours sincerely,

John Lucas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2012

Stayed at Hilton Cairns for four days and loved every minute of it. Great location, very comfy bed and clean amenities. Close to restaurants and the boardwalk/dock for tours to the Great Barrier reef.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Calay101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonCairns1, General Manager at Hilton Cairns, responded to this review, 16 May 2012
Dear Traveller,

Thank you for the comments via TripAdvisor on your stay here in Cairns. It’s great to read you’ve enjoyed your visit so much. I see you’re a long way from home but hope you’ll have the opportunity to visit the Tropical North again some time.

Yours sincerely,

John Lucas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dana Point, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Cairns Hilton for three nights in March 2012 as part of a Monograms Tours, on an independent travelers' itinerary.

All staff that we had contact with were pleasant, courteous, and helpful. Our room which was a standard king bed room was adequate in terms of space, not spacious but not at all cramped. The room was spotlessly clean and maintained at that standard our whole stay. We didn't have the ocean view but could see water and the town from our room. The breakfast which was included in our package was terrific! The location is the best in Cairns. It is on the Esplanade, surrounded by restaurants, a casino next door and most everywhere in town you would want to go is within walking distance. Yet our room was VERY quiet, something I really appreciate in a hotel room. My only negative about the hotel is that it would be so much more attractive if the plants in the planters along the walkway balconies on each floor were live and flowering. All the plants look dead and that didn't add much to the ambiance. We found it interesting as this is the tropics where every plant seemed grow without much human effort. This is just a side observation and didn't take away from our very good stay at this hotel. We highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karlyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonCairns1, General Manager at Hilton Cairns, responded to this review, 16 May 2012
Dear Karlyn,

Thank you for the comprehensive review of Hilton Cairns on TripAdvisor. I’m very pleased to read that you’ve really enjoyed your stay here with us and found the location, room comforts and service of a high quality – it’s what we strive for of course. I note your comments on the internal walkway gardens – you’ve come just as we’re working on a full re-vamp of the gardens and they’re looking brighter by the day. I hope we can welcome you back again when next you travel our way.

Yours sincerely,

John Lucas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.3 km away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.1 km away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
0.2 km away
Pullman Cairns International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.1 km away
Pacific Hotel Cairns
Pacific Hotel Cairns
#7 of 64 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
2.4 km away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Cairns

Property: Hilton Cairns
Address: 34 Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Cairns
#3 Business Hotel in Cairns
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
#12 Family Hotel in Cairns
Price range (per night): $176 - $439
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Cairns 5*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, the Hilton Cairns hotel is the perfect base for exploring the diverse wonders of this truly unique region, famous as the meeting place of two natural wonders, the Great Barrier Reef and World Heritage Rainforest. Our modern and inviting Cairns hotel rooms and suites are luxurious oases of comfort and convenience, offering pristine new bathrooms and spacious balconies with views of Trinity Inlet or Cairns Esplanade and the unique cityscape and blue-green mountain ranges beyond. Stay connected with the latest technology in the fully-equipped business centre. Enjoy relaxed, alfresco dining at the award-winning Mondo Café Bar and Grill on the waterfront, or discover authentic italian flavours at "Donninis "Simply Italian". Experience modern, tropical, paradise today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Wotif.com, Hilton EMEA, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Otel, Agoda, lastminute.com.au, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Cairns Hotel Cairns
Hilton International Cairns
Cairns Hilton International
Hilton Cairns Queensland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing