We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hilton Cairns
Nearby Hotels
Cairns Plaza Hotel(Cairns)(Great Value!)
USD 109*
USD 79*
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 68*
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
USD 99*
USD 90*
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Balinese Motel(Cairns)(Great Value!)
USD 93*
USD 71*
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 168*
USD 150*
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Ibis Styles Cairns(Cairns)(Great Value!)
USD 112*
USD 87*
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cascade Gardens(Cairns)(Great Value!)
USD 206*
USD 200*
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside(Cairns)(Great Value!)
USD 83*
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
USD 146*
USD 86*
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oasis Inn(Cairns)
USD 73*
USD 70*
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,421)
Filter reviews
2,421 results
Traveller rating
1,076
833
331
117
64
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,076
833
331
117
64
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe executive loungespa roomtrinity inletthe great barrier reefwater viewbuffet breakfasttour deskan upgradeport douglasfantastic locationreef terminalmondogemmabalconyesplanadecasinoconcierge
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,790 - 1,795 of 2,421 reviews
Reviewed 11 May 2012

Took 30 minutes get the reservations people to agree to honour a Hilton pledge to match advertised prices, discussed this with staff at the hotel and they seemed disinterested and we were then downgraded from the 7th floor to the 6th floor as the room wasn't ready at 2.30pm in the afternoon - prefer to go up, not down. Had room service dinner, 3 courses for two people and the service was very good, all the food was bland with no real flavour. I have never had such tasteless food before. The steak was tasteless, there was a watery green liquid that was meant to be a pepper sauce, no flavour, the desserts looked and tasted like the little cup desserts you buy from a supermarket, again real flavour.

There is some construction work going on at the waterfront and the noise of a generator that runs constantly is audible from the balcony.

Credit card holding fee of $200 was charged for two nights accommodation and wasn't removed by the bank for close to a week. Moved to the Holiday Inn for the third night - great food, upgraded without asking and a $1 credit card holding fee.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daletnurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonCairns1, General Manager at Hilton Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2012

Dear Traveller,

Thank you for the TripAdvisor review – I’m sorry to read that some aspects of your stay have below expectation and there was a problem with your room rate on arrival. The comments regarding Room Service have been passed to the Executive Chef for review and action. It’s great that you’ve enjoyed the premium waterfront location and our newly refurbished accommodation rooms.

Yours sincerely,

John Lucas
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2012

Stayed here for 5 days for a conference and couldn't be happier! Although the conference booking was for a twin room they were able to give me a king room with prior notice.

Check-in was smooth even at midnight and the staff remained helpful. They had a evening turn down service where they even restocked the complimentary water.

The room was excellent, only fault was TV was a bit temperamental which I didn't bother reporting. Bed was comfy but some may find the down pillows too soft.

The location was great and the view from my room was fantastic. There is no cafe in or around the hotel - but there are a couple 5 mins walk away. It's also right next to the casino n 5 mins walk to the night Market, esplanade n restaurants.

I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nitalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonCairns1, General Manager at Hilton Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2012

Dear Traveller,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of Hilton Cairns. I’m very pleased to read that you’ve enjoyed your time here in the Tropical North. It’s a great destination, not just for holiday makers, but for conference delegates such as yourself. It’s only a short walk to the Cairns Convention Centre, an excellent facility servicing both National & International events. If you feel like escaping the Sydney winter – a holiday in the North might be ideal. !

Yours sincerely,

John Lucas
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2012

Stayed at Hilton Cairns for four days and loved every minute of it. Great location, very comfy bed and clean amenities. Close to restaurants and the boardwalk/dock for tours to the Great Barrier reef.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Calay101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonCairns1, General Manager at Hilton Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2012

Dear Traveller,

Thank you for the comments via TripAdvisor on your stay here in Cairns. It’s great to read you’ve enjoyed your visit so much. I see you’re a long way from home but hope you’ll have the opportunity to visit the Tropical North again some time.

Yours sincerely,

John Lucas
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Cairns Hilton for three nights in March 2012 as part of a Monograms Tours, on an independent travelers' itinerary.

All staff that we had contact with were pleasant, courteous, and helpful. Our room which was a standard king bed room was adequate in terms of space, not spacious but not at all cramped. The room was spotlessly clean and maintained at that standard our whole stay. We didn't have the ocean view but could see water and the town from our room. The breakfast which was included in our package was terrific! The location is the best in Cairns. It is on the Esplanade, surrounded by restaurants, a casino next door and most everywhere in town you would want to go is within walking distance. Yet our room was VERY quiet, something I really appreciate in a hotel room. My only negative about the hotel is that it would be so much more attractive if the plants in the planters along the walkway balconies on each floor were live and flowering. All the plants look dead and that didn't add much to the ambiance. We found it interesting as this is the tropics where every plant seemed grow without much human effort. This is just a side observation and didn't take away from our very good stay at this hotel. We highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karlyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonCairns1, General Manager at Hilton Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2012

Dear Karlyn,

Thank you for the comprehensive review of Hilton Cairns on TripAdvisor. I’m very pleased to read that you’ve really enjoyed your stay here with us and found the location, room comforts and service of a high quality – it’s what we strive for of course. I note your comments on the internal walkway gardens – you’ve come just as we’re working on a full re-vamp of the gardens and they’re looking brighter by the day. I hope we can welcome you back again when next you travel our way.

Yours sincerely,

John Lucas
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2012

The Hilton Hotel in Cairns offers great service and fantstic rooms that offer generous king size beds, pillow menu and much more. Would stay there again. Got a great price and was one of the better have stayed at especially for the cost.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GenG_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonCairns1, General Manager at Hilton Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2012

Dear Gen G,

Thank you for your TripAdvisor comments for Hilton Cairns. You’ve been very complimentary and we really appreciate the feedback. The rooms were fully renovated last year and our guests have consistently agreed they’re very comfortable and in great shape – I’m glad you agree. I hope you can make another trip North sometime soon and enjoy some more Hilton hospitality.

Yours sincerely,

John Lucas
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews