We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hilton is a good choice for your Cairns stay”
Review of Hilton Cairns

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Cairns
Ranked #6 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, MA
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Hilton is a good choice for your Cairns stay”
Reviewed 26 February 2012

We stayed 3 nights in Cairns at the Hilton. The hotel is nicely located and is easily accessible to the ferries taking tours out to the Great Barrier reef. We really enjoyed our daily breakfast buffet each morning and their tour desk was helpful in planning our trips.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DLCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonCairns1, General Manager at Hilton Cairns, responded to this review, 29 February 2012
Dear Traveller,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of Hilton Cairns via TripAdvisor. It’s great to read that you’ve enjoyed your stay especially noting our great location right on the Waterfront, just a short stroll to the Marina and the departure point for the Great Barrier Reef cruise boats. I’m glad you’ve enjoyed the breakfast service and found the team to be helpful – local knowledge is so important when you’re visiting a destination for the first time. I hope we can welcome you back to the Hilton when next you travel our way.

Yours sincerely,

John Lucas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,208 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    980
    764
    304
    104
    56
See reviews for
420
1,013
148
312
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (437)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2012

Major building work outside hotel starts at 7 am and on day I was there they started selling in room above me at 8am. Add ti this that Internet did not work in my room, that I was told we would hv fee breakfast at check in as hh gold (I did not ask for this) but when went ti breakfast was told this was not case. All in all a shabby looking noisy hotel - its odd because when you book a Hilton you expect done sort of basic level of comfort.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rrlondon500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonCairns1, General Manager at Hilton Cairns, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Dear Traveller,

Thank you for your commentary – I’m concerned to read you did not enjoy your stay. The noise that you refer to is earthworks on the Waterfront Foreshore being conducted by local authorities, the result of which will be a new premium Waterfront space for guests and the general public to enjoy. I’m sorry for the confusion with your breakfast – Gold Hilton Honors guests receive an upgrade to the next available room category and the choice of either 1000 Hilton Honors Bonus points or Complimentary Continental Breakfast.

Yours sincerely,

John Lucas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2012

Three times a week a band of well qualified instructors give aqua aerobic classes .to guests and Health Club members .
It is one of the most beautiful outdoor pools in the world .As it is of Olympic size and as winds through beautifully landscaped gardens ,swimming there is a delightful experience ..Visit it soon!.

Room Tip: All rooms have either mountain or harbour views Both are delightful
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pamelaedgehill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonCairns1, General Manager at Hilton Cairns, responded to this review, 20 February 2012
Dear Traveller,

Thank you for the Tripadvisor comments for Hilton Cairns. I'm pleased you have enjoyed the great pool and recreation facitlities in the hotel.

Yours sincerely,

John Lucas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairhope, Alabama
Level 5 Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2012

We arrived early on the 24th and had an excursion planned before check in. The hotel staff was very accomodating and neatly lined all of our bags together while we left the hotel.

Perfect location for anywhere walking downtown or the restaurants/bars along the water.

Spacious rooms with nice balcony and great views.

Service was excellent. Everyone was so friendly and fun to talk with. Once I had to apologize that I took so many of their maps b/c they were always giving me maps and pointing out fun places to see.

If we are lucky enough to visit Cairns, we'll definitel stay here. Thanks!!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PalmettoO8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonCairns1, General Manager at Hilton Cairns, responded to this review, 16 February 2012
Dear Mobilebama,

Thank you for the review of Hilton Cairns via TripAdvisor – it sounds like you’ve had a great stay in the Tropical North. I’m pleased to read that you found our waterfront location so convenient and enjoyed the views from the private balcony. There’s a lot to explore in this great part of the world and we’re pleased to provide a range of maps, tour and attraction information – also our team have great local knowledge and can recommend the many things to do. We all look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Yours sincerely,

John Lucas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2012

notified that I would and did arrive at 11pm. No bellman, concierge and 3 sets of 4 steps between driveway and front door. Lugged our 5 bags to the counter where duty manager Melanie was checking in a guest. Waiting, waiting - Melanie wants to chat to guest - and what will uou be doing in Cairns - guest answering in monosyllabel words clearly wanting just to get his key and go sleep. She announces that she has upgraded him to a spa room - which he says he won't use as leaving early. Melanie departs and new reception person comes - checks us in and gives us key - no offer of assistance with bags ( we are two older women). Arrive at room. Key doesn't work. Red light. Down I go - man re formats key - up again, key works, room as hot as Hades. Very normal room - when booked and pre-paid therapeutic spa room. Ring reception just to advise them - man says will bring keys for spa room - we say no - just wanted to advise you, but man insists. We wait and wait - then take all bags downstairs - no-one arouind. After a while man comes out and informs duty manager Melanie to speak to us and out she comes only to inmform us no douible spa rooms left. 12pm now. Not happy. Why did you tell me there were such rooms - well here isn't and really there is no difference with the room you are in and the spa room - well why suggest we move ???? Why charge more for a spa room ? Back to lift with 5 bags - melanie says she will help us up. I say no thanks - don't need any more help - to which she shreiks - well what would you have me do - push someone out of their room. Ah..no..says I and goodnight. Stayed at Hilton as thouight could guarantee someone would be there on check in etc as international 5 star hotel. I was wrong. Not a hotel to come back to. Bizarrely bad service.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank tuftif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonCairns1, General Manager at Hilton Cairns, responded to this review, 16 February 2012
Dear Traveller,

Thank you for the comments following your stay with the hotel. I’m sorry to read that there were delays on arrival and some confusion with your room allocation. Your feedback has been passed to those concerned for investigation and review.

Yours sincerely,

John Lucas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.3 km away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.9 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.2 km away
Pullman Cairns International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
0.1 km away
Pacific Hotel Cairns
Pacific Hotel Cairns
#7 of 64 in Cairns
509 reviews
2.4 km away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Cairns

Property: Hilton Cairns
Address: 34 Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Cairns
#3 Business Hotel in Cairns
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
#12 Family Hotel in Cairns
Price range (per night): $169 - $425
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Cairns 5*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, the Hilton Cairns hotel is the perfect base for exploring the diverse wonders of this truly unique region, famous as the meeting place of two natural wonders, the Great Barrier Reef and World Heritage Rainforest. Our modern and inviting Cairns hotel rooms and suites are luxurious oases of comfort and convenience, offering pristine new bathrooms and spacious balconies with views of Trinity Inlet or Cairns Esplanade and the unique cityscape and blue-green mountain ranges beyond. Stay connected with the latest technology in the fully-equipped business centre. Enjoy relaxed, al fresco dining at the award-winning Mondo on the waterfront, or discover authentic italian flavours at Simply Italian. Experience modern, tropical, paradise today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, lastminute.com.au, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Odigeo, Hilton EMEA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Hotelopia, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Cairns Hotel Cairns
Hilton International Cairns
Cairns Hilton International
Hilton Cairns Queensland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing