We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wouldn't contemplate staying anywhere else”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
Ranked #11 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Brisvegas!
Level Contributor
150 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Wouldn't contemplate staying anywhere else”
Reviewed 26 May 2012

I regularly travel to Cairns and have stayed here now for over 5 years. The hotel is within a short cab ride of the airport, 500m to the restaurants and night markets of the esplanade, a ten minute walk to Cairns largest shopping center (Cairns Central) and the marina area where the boats to the reef launch.
The hotel it self has great views of the ocean, a gym, pool, bar and restaurant. Personally my only criticism is the quality of the food on premises, for this reason I do not eat here (check out my other reviews for a great breakfast and dinner option). Check in staff a very efficient, super friendly and always able to help, particularly if you are looking for activities in the area. I notice too all the major tourist operators do pick up from this hotel. The rooms have been refurbed in the last two years and the linen etc is off a good standard. My only criticism is that they have installed motion censor driven air conditioning which means in summer you always walk into a stifling hot room, if you are only going back to change it will never cool down in time, and if you arrive back in time to sleep the first two hours are uncomfortable. This time of year (May) though it is fine. I think it's price is always exceptional value for money.

Room Tip: i recommend you book an ocean view room with a balcony, it is worth the small surcharge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thecrankytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KateGeorge, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this review, 3 June 2012
Hi thecrankytraveller,

Thank you for posting your feedback on Trip Advisor.

I'm glad to read you enjoy your stays with us.

We have just launched a new menu in our Sirocco restaurant and have a very good selection for breakfast so I urge you to try these again.

In regards to the motion consor air conditioners, these were installed as a part of an IHG global initiative to create more efficient and sustainable hotels and reduce our impact on the environment. I am proud to say that we have greatly reduced our energy needs since installing this system. If you wish to know more about this initiative we are more than happy to speak with you about it.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Holiday Inn Cairns again soon.

Kind Regards,
Kate George
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,053 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    706
    901
    323
    70
    53
See reviews for
416
941
161
240
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (451)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
CHICAGO
Level Contributor
76 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2012

We had a Ocean Front View Room on 5th floor...Enjoyed sitting on Balcony.
The 5th-6th and 7th floors have the higher views.
Room was Very Good... Bathroom was small but usable.
the min Refrigerator was great for putting your own stock in.,
The rainforest and Fish in Atrium was attractive.
Staff was Very helpful and pleasant.
No free Wi-Fi but has 4 PC's for near lobby 2.00 per 15 min, Within
Walking Distance to downtown for dozens and dozens of bars and Restaurants.
Breakfast is 22 pp was an average breakfast. Plenty of Tour businesses
near by or in Lobby... Lobby Tour person is extremely busy. it was 25-30
for Taxi fare to form Airport. Would Not hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: Higher the floor the better the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CHICAGO049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KateGeorge, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this review, 3 June 2012
Hello CHICAGO049,

Thank you for posting your feedback on Trip Advisor.

I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us and the stunning views from your room.

The Barramundi in our atrium are about 20 years old and weigh up to 20kgs.

Thank you for choosing to stay at Holiday Inn Cairns; should you travel this way again we would love to welcome you back.

Kind Regards,
Kate George
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
374 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 521 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2012

I reviewed this hotel some time ago and feel that an updated review is necessary.

I previously gave the Holiday Inn a thumbs up for probably being the best hotel in Cairns for business-people. I endorse that.

My experiemce this time was even better than the previous one. The General Manager goes out of his way to make guests feel welcome by training his staff to be not only attentive but also friendly and helpful. He has also introduced some innovations.

I attended a 'welcoming' cocktail drink and canapes get-together for hotel guests and was most impressed with all staff that were present.

I will re-state what I said in my previous review - the rooms are conducive to doing a bit more work after hours with a well-designed desk. The rooms are comfortable and well-furnished and have that 'feel-good' atmosphere.

There is ample parking underneath and the hotel is well-located to the harbour and beach-front.

Room Tip: Request a room facing the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank WellTravelledAussie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KateGeorge, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this review, 17 May 2012
Hello WellTravelledAussie2,

Thank you for posting your feedback.

I am so happy to see that we are consistently meeting your needs.

Our Priority Club welcome drinks are a good way for us as a team to spend some more time with our valued guests. I always enjoy getting to know our guests better.

We look forward to seeing you back again soon.

Kind Regards,
Kate George
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toukley, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2012

Only had one night & arrived late. Was very disappointing to find absolutely no mini bar facilities in the room. Not even a bottle of water. U needed to call for it to be stocked, not what u feel like doing at 11pm at night. Next we went for breakfast arriving at 9.40 am 20mins before closing to find it completely packed up & bistro empty. Again disappointing after a late night.
The room was great & reception staff polite & understanding but really could do little to rectify either issue.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank littlemyrtle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KateGeorge, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this review, 17 May 2012
Hello littlemyrtle,

Thank you for your feedback.

As Cairns has a strong leisure market, it was found that guests would prefer a mini bar fridge they could stock with their own goodies. Mini bar items are available 24hours through room service and can also be purchased from our bottle shop.

I have passed your comments regarding breakfast on to our Food and Beverage team.

Should you travel through Cairns again I hope you will choose to stay at Holiday Inn Cairns.

Kind Regards,
Kate George
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2012

We had a King Ocean View room on the 6th Floor overlooking Cairns Bay and the Coral Sea beyond.
The room was large with a nice balcony but bathroom was a little small.
Hotel was set in a rainforest atmosphere with nice bar and restaurants.
In walking distance to the shops and marinas of Cairns
The staff and managers were very friendly and helpful.

Great hotel, we will stay there again

Room Tip: Ask for Oceanfront
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Learnings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KateGeorge, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this review, 17 May 2012
Hi Learnings,

Thank you for posting your feedback.

I'm glad you enjoyed you stay. I think the atmosphere of Cairns makes for great relaxing holidays.

Please visit us again at Holiday Inn Cairns again soon.

Kind Regards,
Kate George
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.8 km away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.9 km away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#7 of 64 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,163 reviews
1.0 km away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Pullman Cairns International
0.2 km away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
0.2 km away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#10 of 64 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
Address: 121-123 The Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Cairns
#9 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#9 Family Hotel in Cairns
#11 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
Price range (per night): $134 - $281
Hotel Class:4.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns 4.5*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting uninterrupted views of the Coral Sea, and a stunning natural setting amidst landscaped tropical gardens, the oceanfront DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns is just a short walk from the city center, and Cairn's business, retail and entertainment districts. The hotel overlooks the picturesque Cairns Esplanade, and is just moments from Cairns Lagoon and Cairns Casino. Enjoy easy access to Cairns Convention Center and lots of attractions, including the World Heritage listed Daintree Tropical Rainforest and the Atherton Tablelands. The Great Barrier Reef departures terminal is 100m away, and Cairns International Airport is only 10 minutes' drive from our Cairns hotel. Our onsite tour desk will help you explore the wonders of this unique region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Hilton EMEA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Hotelopia, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, lastminute.com.au and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Cairns Hotel Cairns
Cairns Holiday Inn
DoubleTree By Hilton Hotel Cairns Queensland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing