We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Cape York Tour” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Discovery Tours Australia

Discovery Tours Australia
Book In Advance
USD 149.56*
and up
Cairns 4WD Waterfall and Rainforest Tour Including Kuranda Scenic Railway or...
Ranked #33 of 151 Tours in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Specialising in Small Group tours, Discovery Tours Australia offer daily departures to Cape Tribulation & The Daintree Rainforest, Kuranda and beyond. Our extended tours operate from May until October and included tours to Cape York Peninsula (Cairns to Cape York) and The Savannah Way (Cairns to Darwin)
Charlotte
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Cape York Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

We took the 8 day tour from the top of Australia back to Cairns via 4 wheel SUV through the dirt of the outback. Fly to Horn island near Cape York and met by big Derek who was our driver and tour guide for the trip for us and 2 others. Derek made the trip as he was an excellent driver, knew wildlife and aborigine life, plus a great story teller. As their literature warns you do not expect luxury accommodations on this trip because there are none out there. First 2 nights were in a tent with a shower, sink , toilet and duck tape fans but right next to the beach with fantastic starlight. All the meals on the trip were very good including a fantastic barramundi cooked at the Cape Weymouth Portland House. Highly recommended if you are looking for an adventure tour.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank dunkirkal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    150
    14
    8
    1
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gosford
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Daintree, cape Tribulation & Mossman Gorge”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

We had a wonderful day with our informative, friendly and fun guide Jules.
The tour went like clockwork, was never dull and was exceptional value.
We look forward to doing a 3 day tour as soon as we can.
Keep up the great work!!

Derek and Maree, Gosford NSW

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank DerekandMaree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Tour guide Dorris”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

Our family of 5 just recently took the tour with Dorris- a very lovely lade who knew so much about Daintree and the key thing is she is looking after us all through the journey. Because we have 4 year old kid and my parents are both over 60, she keep helping adjust our tours to suit every one and made everyone a very happy customer. We didnt miss any attraction points at all and yet we come back around 18.50 which I assume she must have done extra hours to fulfill our needs. We really appreciated that, thank you, from Mandy

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Mandy1216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A great introduction to the Daintree Rainforest”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013

We chose this tour based on the reviews and the smaller size of the tour - with a maximum of 9 people we were guaranteed a personal experience. We were even luckier with only 4 of us plus the tour guide, Trevor, on the tour. We had a lovely day with very few crowds encountered, seemless organisation and a tour guide that made us all very excited about what we were seeing and experiencing. The knowledge around the Daintree Rainforest and the plants, history and its importance were exactly what I was hoping for. I would highly recommend this tour.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bethyboo81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful day!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2013

Julian made the tour very relaxed and just full of loads of information! had simply a blast thanks to his knowledge and the lovely environment /scenery .Had a lovely day highly recommended!!!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank becky l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Discovery Tours Australia also viewed

 

Been to Discovery Tours Australia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing