We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
AU$282
Fully refundable before Fri, 8 Mar
No prepayment needed
Expedia.com
AU$281
Fully refundable before Sat, 9 Mar
Get rewarded with One Key
Vio.com
AU$259
Fully refundable before Sat, 9 Mar
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (103)
Filter reviews
104 results
Traveller rating
53
20
10
12
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
53
20
10
12
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews undergoing renovations breakfast included breakfast was amazing thoroughly enjoyed our stay rooftop bar restaurant staff sliding door comfy bed rooms are large across the road would stay again a great stay perfect location short stay port douglas star hotel balcony
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 104 reviews
Reviewed 6 August 2023

Quite possibly one of the worst hotels I’ve ever stayed in. Desperately in need of a reno and the advertised “balcony” was in fact about 30cm deep. Not even room for a chair.
The aircon didn’t work either which is not great for a hotel in Cairns. Reception told us the minimum is 23 degrees but we couldn’t get it colder than 24 degrees.
To top it all off it didn’t even have pay tv channels in room which most other hotels in the area have.
Don’t waste your money staying here

Date of stay: July 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Beedeecee
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Benson Hotel, General Manager at The Benson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2023

HI Beedeecee,
Greetings from newly renovated Benson Hotel with room air conditioning that can go below 21 degrees here in the tropics of North Queensland.
Let me know your coming to experience the newly renovated Benson Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2023 via mobile

Great staff, great room, great location … you’d think it was perfect, but one tiny detail made a huge impact - ALL the pillows are fat! At reception I was told it’s a common complaint. We had to make pillows out of clothes. The mind boggles. Sorry, can’t stay here again.

Room tip: Bring your own pillow.
Date of stay: July 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank E9670IDwaynec
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Benson Hotel, General Manager at The Benson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2023

HI Wayne,
Greeting from the Benson Hotel, i wanted updated you and advise that all our rooms now have soft and medium to firm pillows now. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2023 via mobile

Stayed 3 nights towards end of June 2023.
The Benson has just undergone major renovations & looks great!!
Big rooms, big beds, big bathroom. It looks great & feels very comfy.
Had breakfast, 2 poached eggs on toast, juice & macchiato. $25 which was reasonable. Toast however was cold, as was the butter.
Checked out the pool area but didn’t swim

Really the only negative was that the swipe cards on the lift are slow to connect.

Date of stay: June 2023
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Brizar_72
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Benson Hotel, General Manager at The Benson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2023

Thanks Brizar,
I wanted to update you and let you know we do a Breakfast Buffet now. You should try it out.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2023 via mobile

Nice hotel, good location, good service and fine restaurant/bar attached. Suggestion: Guest laundry needs more than one washer n one dryer.. Also, card system in lift needs work. Question: why is the air con so cold in the hallways? Otherwise keep up the good work :)

Date of stay: May 2023
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank guysaway1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Benson Hotel, General Manager at The Benson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2023

thanks guysway,
We look forward to welcoming you to the Benson Hotel in the near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2023

Not recommend at all. This Hotel has been going through an upgrade but unfortunately for us, our floor wasn't included. The Bathroom was very mouldy. We were there on a weekend celebrating a birthday but the kitchen was only open Saturday night, we couldn't get any food or drinks through the day by the pool as it wasn't open. Staff were lovely but obviously not enough of them to cope with the work load. It was also very expensive for one night with what was on offer.

Room tip: Possibly look for other places to stay
Date of stay: April 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank bethanyNQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Benson Hotel, General Manager at The Benson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2023

HI Bethany,
Happy to advise the Benson Hotel is now fully renovated and Restaurant and lounge bar are worth checking out. for opening hours check our website. See you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews