We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It makes me wish I was German :-)”
Review of Bavarian Beerhouse

Bavarian Beerhouse
Ranked #160 of 596 Restaurants in Cairns
Price range: USD 0 - USD 37
Cuisines: German
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“It makes me wish I was German :-)”
Reviewed 23 February 2012

The staff are friendly, the food goes great with beer, and I love it. Great lunch.
I'll be Bach :-)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nun_Nicer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    107
    66
    39
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
cairns
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“disapointed”
Reviewed 8 February 2012

Looked forward to dinning at the Bavarian beehous, german food being one of my husbands favourite .
The beer and waitresses were very good the food disapointing unappealing , a table had been booked inside however on arrval we were put outside with a very noisy and clearlytipsy crowd next us making any attempt at conversation impossible.
I have travelled to Germany and Austria on more than one occasion and found the food tasy and appealing not so in Cairns.
I would not return.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank caseyp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
1 review
“Yummy yum yum”
Reviewed 31 January 2012

Very lovely food and service and the chef is rather attractive. :)

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
134 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Really Disappointing Experience....”
Reviewed 21 January 2012

We have been excited for some time to try the Bavarian Beerhouse since in opened in 2011. We have spent some time in Germany, from Frankfurt to Berlin and down to Munich into Austria and had many food experiences from home cooking to festivals and beer-houses to street vendors. Pork Knuckle and Currywurst have to be 2 of my favorite foods, and I love the vinegary traditional potato salad as well. So we definitely made time to visit on Thursday for lunch (Currywurst and Potato Salad was their lunch special).

It wasn't particularly busy, maybe 4 other tables and the one server was quick to provide water and menus. We chose the special and began our 30 minutes wait for our 2 meals. We waited in anticipation, the other diners meals seemed generously proportioned and looked inviting.

Finally our two meals arrived. The first thing I noticed was that the potato salad dressing had split and left an oily residue around the plate. On trying the salad it did seem overly oily and didn't have a pleasant texture in the mouth. Unfortunately the currywurst didn't please us any better. It seemed as though the bratwurst had been cooked a lot earlier, cut, and left sitting to be reheated on order. My guess is that the brats came from Byrnes meats (a local distributor). They were too spongy, yet dry and the masterfoods tomato sauce and curry powder mixture seemed too sweet. As everything seemed precooked, we were left to ponder...Why the half an hour wait??

As dining is an overall experience and not just about the food, I will mention that table runner was crusty with dried food (we did see the server changing these, I guess she missed one). Some of the decoration postcards and pictures are peeling off the wall as well- It suggests to me a lack of overall attention to detail. I would suggest hiding the entrance to the kitchen a little better as well....seeing the chef scratch himself then touch food is unappetizing for diners.

The positive for us is that we tried the food as 'specials' so we only wasted $19 and not any more! We are locals and we won't be back. What a shame.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Justaddbacon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“My first time at a German restaurant; would eat there again”
Reviewed 11 January 2012

I was visiting a German friend who lived in Cairns and he insisted we go for some real "German soul-food". Admittedly, I had no idea what was on the menu; fortunately, Tobi, my friend, ordered me a fried pork dish and shnitzel. I wasn't 100% sure what to expect, but the food was rich, delicious, and went well with the Bavarian beer we ordered. I found the food good, the atmosphere nice, and the wait staff very attendant.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Seth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bavarian Beerhouse also viewed

 
Cairns, Cairns Region
Cairns, Cairns Region
 

Been to Bavarian Beerhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing