We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great part of our tour was to see this reef”
Review of Michaelmas Cay

Michaelmas Cay
Book In Advance
More Info
USD 131.46*
and up
Great Barrier Reef Scenic Flight from Cairns...
Ranked #10 of 67 things to do in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

This is a must see place and highly anticipated part of our tour. The natural beauty above the sea on the sandy beach and the semi sub tour and snorkeling were awesome.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank billp422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (596)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"bird sanctuary"
in 43 reviews
"ocean spirit"
in 38 reviews
"sea birds"
in 21 reviews
"fish"
in 103 reviews
"sandy island"
in 9 reviews
"great place to snorkel"
in 9 reviews
"the great barrier reef"
in 55 reviews
"seastar cruises"
in 17 reviews
"roped off area"
in 6 reviews
"giant clams"
in 20 reviews
"sand bar"
in 5 reviews
"bird watching"
in 6 reviews
"hastings reef"
in 15 reviews
"marine life"
in 15 reviews
"day trip"
in 23 reviews
"semi sub"
in 5 reviews
"the reefs"
in 5 reviews
Filter

30 - 34 of 596 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2018

This is a good area about 45 mins by fast boat (Skedaddle) and it is great you can go ashore to a small fenced off area to see the birds.

The reef is good with some great fish. There is a bit of tide running through and it is a shame you cannot choose the sheltered side of the island as the waves can make it a bit choppy and difficult for snorkelling.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank ColinGuernsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018

The fact that Michaelmas Cay has a Sand bank that is home to a variety of migratory seabirds, makes the exploration of the reefs so much more enjoyable. The birds were barely a few meters away from where we'd parked ourselves before we began to snorkel our way to the fringing reefs. The Ocean Spirit Cruise to the Cay - with a lot of fun and eats on board the vessel - and their underwater viewing boat were memorable.

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank Bharat W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2018

Beautiful Area we went snorkeling unfortunately the reef here is in a very poor state of bleaching and very little colour remains. The trip out is still worth the effort but the reef at this rate wont be around much longer

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 20 February 2018

Visit was via CBR cruise boat that stopped at MC for about 2 hours for cruisers to snorkel and/or dive. Water conditions were poor (very heavy rains the previous week may have contributed to this), and the surface area of the Cay itself was reduced by about 2/3 (per our cruise guides) due to the unusually high tides related to the recent lunar conditions. That lefgt a very small strip for the many tourists that boated in, as most of the remaining area was fenced off for the nesting birds and turtles.

Maybe I just caught it at a bad time, but what I saw made me wish I had been taken somewhere else. And my sense is that even at the best of times, this site is over-used by too many tourists.

Date of experience: February 2018
1  Thank Leon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Michaelmas Cay also viewed

 
Cairns, Cairns Region
 

Been to Michaelmas Cay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing