We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Good for a suburban restaurant” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Linga Longa International Restaurant

Linga Longa International Restaurant
Ranked #53 of 588 Restaurants in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 12 - USD 28
Cuisines: Australian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Great menu of international dishes with a focus on Fresh Ingredients for Australian, South African and Mediterranean food. A restaurant experience which the whole family will enjoy. For locals and tourists alike.
Cairns Region, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good for a suburban restaurant”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

I had snails for entree. These were possibly the blandest snails i have EVER eaten - disappointing. Needed a little more salt, garlic and parsley.....one chewy piece of cold toast to soak up the virtually non-existant sauce...sad
Orange duck was ok, but not amazing. Citrus tart was beautiful. Feather light pastry and perfect lemony tartness.
Service was not as genuinly friendly as i would like, but attentive.

  • Visited February 2017
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LingaLongaCairns, Owner at Linga Longa International Restaurant, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Karen,
This feedback is surprising and disappointing for us. People love our snails and we serve them a lot every day and nobody complained about them yet. We hope you will visit us again and give us opportunity to show you our friendly service that is our standard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    184
    38
    11
    2
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cairns Region, Australia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Still the Best Restaurant at Edge Hill and maybe even all of Cairns area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My partner and I were in need of some intimate dining for a special occasion. So, why not return to one of our favourite dining spots. Again, Sergey and his staff, particularly Eduardo, were their normal professional, friendly and hospitable selves. Great atmosphere, great food and excellent wine selection.

  • Visited January 2017
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Stefan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LingaLongaCairns, Owner at Linga Longa International Restaurant, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you very much Stefan, for your another review about our restaurant. We are very happy that you and your partner enjoyed visiting us again and we look forward to welcoming you back
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“New Years Eve dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 weeks ago

My Husband and I ate dinner here on New Years Eve. The food was exceptional. The sesame prawns were incredible. Unfortunately the service was very slow and our waiter while lovely was inattentive. We ordered a second round of drinks which never appeared. I appreciate it was New Years Eve however the restaurant was not full - maybe more staff were needed for that night. It was also very very warm inside.

Having said all that - we will be back, the food was sensational.

  • Visited December 2016
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FionaCCM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LingaLongaCairns, Owner at Linga Longa International Restaurant, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Fiona,
Thank you very much for your feedback. We take pride in our service, but clearly we were not up to standard on your recent visit. We offer our apologies and hope that your next visit will be more enjoyable.

Linga Longa Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A busy night but ended up being a good one.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2016 via mobile

We couldn't get into this restaurant until 7:30 - an hour later than we wanted. We were told that it was because they were booked out. However, when we got therefore, we could see several spare tables.
Our very easily prepared entree took over 30 minutes to arrive and the extra bread that was promised didn't come. However, it was tasty and when we asked,more bread came.
Our main meals were totally delicious and met our needs and there was no order envy for any of us.
The waiters were a little officious in the way they would take our plates away.
I qould go back here, but would definitely book early.

Visited December 2016
Helpful?
Thank WendyML
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LingaLongaCairns, Owner at Linga Longa International Restaurant, responded to this review, 15 December 2016
Dear WendyML,
Thank you very much for your feedback. We apologize for some of inconveniences that you experienced during your visit. We were very busy that day but we hope that you have enjoyed visiting Linga Longa anyway. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Linga Longa Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
204 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“A Break Away From Cairns Tourists”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2016

A stop at the Linga Longa International Restaurant in the Edge Hill area of Cairns is a solid break away from the overly touristy sections of Cairns. The food is phenomenal and the service is top notch. Take some time to make it out to this location and you won't regret it!

  • Visited October 2016
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Traveling_Tendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LingaLongaCairns, Owner at Linga Longa International Restaurant, responded to this review, 1 November 2016
Hi Traveling_Tendy,
Thank you very much for your review. We are very happy that you and your friends enjoyed visiting our restaurant. And it is more appreciable that we got the review from a person who visited a lot of dining places.

Linga Longa Restaurant Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Linga Longa International Restaurant also viewed

Cairns, Cairns Region
Cairns, Cairns Region
 

Been to Linga Longa International Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing